We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home with heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de la Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de la Luna
Save Saved
You added Casa de la Luna to your Saves list
del super la hacienda 300 metros oeste, y 200 norte, Santa Teresa 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A home with heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Vicky opens up her home and her heart to her guests, doing everything possible to make their stay as memorable as possible. Her gorgeous boutique B&B is set a short walk or drive up the side of the "mountain" that flanks Santa Teresa. As far as I am concerned, it is only worth visiting Santa Teresa if you stay up the hill (in dry season), because the dust on or near the main road is unbearable. It is also very noisy on the main strip, unless you are in a fancy hotel tucked down hear the beach.

But up the hill, at Casa de la Luna, there is no noise, no dust... only a beautiful breeze, stunning view and the sounds (and sights) of wildlife. There is a delicious pool with an unobstructed view of the ocean and the sunset. (The sunsets are one of the main highlights of Santa Teresa)

The rooms all have beautiful views, are clean, simple and have very comfy beds. Guests have use of the kitchen and all open areas of the home - which is more beautiful than any photo can illustrate.

I found that I had to drag myself away from the hotel... it is nice enough that I think you'd be happy spending your entire stay up there, just staring at the expansive ocean and crashing waves. But of course I did head off to check out everything that Santa Teresa has to offer... an incredible beach, picturesque yoga studios everywhere and tasty little restaurants. Casa de la Luna is a little ways along the strip (thank goodness!!!), but if you have a car, you're laughing, and even if you are on foot, it only takes about 3 minutes to walk down the hill, or 5 walking up (a somewhat invigorating 5 minutes, but hey, it works off a glass of wine!). There is beach access within a 6 minute walk from the hotel (3 minutes from the bottom of the road). Next to the beach access is my favourite restaurant/lounge in Santa Teresa - Rocamar Beach Lounge. There is a supermarket within walking distance, and a bus that goes up and down the strip leaves from there throughout the day.

I spent a week in one of the upstairs rooms and it was absolutely luxurious. Such a special time. Moonlit dips in the pool completed every day.

I would highly recommend that you choose this spot if you are visiting Santa Teresa. You wont be disappointed, and it is honestly the best way to experience what this place is all about.

Room Tip: There are two upstairs rooms with private balconies and crazy views! But all the rooms are nice. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here with my friend for two nights while surfing and exploring this area. The hotel is absolutely amazing. On top of a mountain overlooking the ocean and beautiful countryside. Walking distance to the beach. The rooms are clean with incredible views. Wi-fi works. The owner, Vicky is one of the nicest people you will meet. Great cook btw, too. It's a perfect spot and I would recommend it to anyone. Make sure you have a four wheeler if you want to make it up the hill. Short road but a quite steep. You will love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CasadelaLuna, Propietario at Casa de la Luna, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Google Translation
Gracias Robert por tu linda recomendación y estamos a la orden para cuando quieras regresar, saludos a Christian.
Cariños,
Vicky Vargas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week in August. We had visited Santa Teresa before but stayed in a hotel and wanted a different experience and Casa de la Luna was exactly what we were looking for! Vicky was so helpful and cooked a great breakfast every morning while teaching us Spanish. She is there for anything you may need! All of the rooms have great views and really cool bathrooms either overlooking the ocean or open to the jungle on the back of the property. The pool was clean and nice to relax in after a day at the beach, visitors have access to the kitchen if needed and the whole house is open air with plenty of places to sit and relax.
We did rent an ATV for the week not only because of the hill (which is walkable if you want) but because we like to go to different places between Mal Pais and Playa Hermosa and the whole 'strip' is 7km long. We will choose Casa de la Luna when we return to Santa Teresa. Gracias Vicky!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you like anonymous, soulless hotels, this is not the place for you. If you like crappy rundown hostels that call themselves "ecohotels", you're at the wrong place. But if you want a legit Costa Rican experience in a very welcoming BnB with one of the best views in Santa Teresa, this is it.

My buddy Nick and I quit our jobs and decided to spend a few weeks surfing in Costa Rica. We were going to bounce around a bit, but in the end I spent two weeks at Casa de la Luna and Nick went even longer. We stayed at a couple other places in the area for one or two nights, but we realized quickly that Vicky's place was much better than anything on the strip or any of the fancy places up the hills or on the beach. Look around - you'll find the cheap places on the strip are super loud with traffic at night, and the fancy places have the same view at 2-3 times the price. If you want to meet other travelers, there is a large chill out deck with an amazing view. If you are shy, you can just bounce and it's all good.

Vicky is a very welcoming, accommodating, and thoughtful host. She genuinely cares about your comfort as it's also hear home as well. She respects your privacy and leaves you alone when you just need to chill, so it's unlike some other BnBs I've stayed at. I can't wait to come back here.

Pro tips: get a $10/day bike, a $50/day quad, or a rental car, since you need to get up a biggish hill. She will give you a clicker for the gate so you'll get secured parking at night. There is AC in some of the rooms, but the breeze on the hills was so great that I never turned it on. For wildlife spotting, the howler monkeys come by every other day, and there are tons of crazy butterflies in front of the pool. If you get a rainstorm, sit under the deck and enjoy staying dry.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place was absolutely amazing. My boyfriend Ryan and I travelled to Santa Teresa, in January. Casa de la Luna has beautiful views of the ocean, an infinity pool that looks out over the ocean, and surrounded by rainforest nature. Virigina, the owner is amazing. We woke up to breakfast every morning and fresh juice. While we were there, her mother and son were visiting, making the visit feel very homey. The rooms are well maintained, with balcony overlooks. The whole place is in open space with fresh ocean air flowing in. I would highly recommend this place, whether you are on a family trip, romantic get away, or travelling with friends. You will feel very welcome and be at peace.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Great view! Great pool! Very friendly atmosphere! Just just don't want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lunacasa, Guest Relations Manager at Casa de la Luna, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you so much for the compliment! We were so happy to have you and hope to see you here in the jungle again sometime soon.

Warmest-

V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de la Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Luna

Address: del super la hacienda 300 metros oeste, y 200 norte, Santa Teresa 2050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice ocean view and astonished sun set from all our rooms,views to the mountains and Nacional natural reserve CABO BLANCO. Enjoy our infinite sight view swimming pool, with tempered water at night. Two break points in front beach, so you can see waves and surfers from our balconies. You will feel amazing in our precious Costa Rican wood Casa de la Luna design,seeing the moon passing trought the "DOMO". You deserve this experience. We create this place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De La Luna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de la Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.