We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant but room was a bit dusty.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Patricio

Save Saved
You added El Rey Patricio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Rey Patricio
5km. Norte del cruce con Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great restaurant but room was a bit dusty.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came to stay in santa teresa for 2 nights and planned to stay here for the full time. Vanessa and ramon are delightful and the restaurant is great. The bungalow we stayed in was right by a dirt road so the whole room was covered in a layer of dust and sheets didnt seem clean. We ended up only staying 1 night as we decided we needed a pool as the beach is not suitable for swimming. Pretty basic rooms. I would only really recommend this place for the restaurant.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon V, Gerente at El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, yesterday
Google Translation
Querida Amy,
Gracias por tu opinión.
La verdad es que el Hotel es un lugar maravilloso con habitaciones limpias y sencillas como tu misma aclaras. El tema del polvo en Santa Teresa es un cuestión que no esta a nuestro alcance dado que la carretera en esta zona no tiene asfalto muy a nuestro pesar, esperamos que la Municipalidad algún día asfalte la zona.
Normalmente en esta época el polvo no existe porque es época de lluvia, así que por un lado pudieron disfrutar de un tiempo estupendo sin lluvia pero el polvo por la sequía es algo inevitable para los vecinos de Santa Teresa como ya debe usted haber leído en las guías.
Esta zona es un paraíso del surf, así que como bien dices no es una playa en la que se pueda nadar y en ningún caso tenemos anunciado que nuestro lugar tenga piscina, estamos a 10m. del Océano con unas piscinas naturales maravillosas.
Gracias por tu amable comentario hacia nosotros y nuestro Restaurante, espero que disfrutara del lugar ya que es un paraíso increible Santa Teresa.
Gracias.
Un saludo,
Vanessa y RAmon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our 9-day stay at El Rey Patricio. We had a bungalow all set with A/C and hammock on the porch, standing by itself. It was very clean and great value (beginning of rainy season) with Ocean views from the porch. The Hotel and restaurant are run by Vanessa and Ramón, a super-friendly couple from Barcelona. They helped with any questions and tips we might need. We can also recommend the tapas available in the popular restaurant within the hotel. The hotel is fairly small and outside of "town", so it's good to relax. You can get to town by taxi or your own car.

Room Tip: Sleeping quality depends on the tides and the weather as you are right next to the Ocean and it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon V, Gerente at El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, yesterday
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias por vuestras palabras.
Estamos felices de haber cumplido nuestras expectativas y hacerles felices en sus vacacones.
Aqui tienen su casa.
Hasta pronto.
Vanessa y Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in the room with ocean-view and had a great experience!
The room is basic but clean, very charming and exciting. Very reasonable value for money. Being separated by wooden shutters from the outside gives it a real close-to-nature feel, hearing the ocean’s waves.
What is even more exciting is that you are at Santa Teresa and its surrounding towns’ best restaurant! We had a 3 week holiday and visited a lot of restaurants across Costa Rica and El Rey Patricio is the best restaurant we had. We had dinner there several times so we could taste a lot of different dishes and tapas. Everything we ordered was excellent; very tasty and honest dishes with respect to its ingredients. Ramon is really capable of bringing the ingredients’ tastes out at the best. The paella is one of the best we ever had, even in Spain! After a whole day of surfing and tasting salty ocean waters their legendary sangria as an appetizer and great food is a blessing!
Vanessa and Ramon are a truly friendly couple as well. They gave us good advise and information, made phone calls when needed and we had nice chats with them. They treated us like friends and we felt like home. A true gem!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

As they they were fully booked, Vanessa and Ramon couldn't rent us a room. Nevertheless we went to have dinner at the restaurant to see what we missed. They both are doing a very fine job, working hard to please their guests. And the spanish food was really worth going to that restaurant. So this place seems to be a 'must' staying in Santa Teresa. And book early to get a chance of accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The title says it all :-) We had amazing time staying with Vanessa and Ramon. They are very friendly, helpful and fun people to be around. They put their hearts and souls into this place. We had small but very cozy romantic room with ocean view and hammock. Vanessa and Ramond were very kind to us. They took us to the beach with them, showed us how to surf, invited us to joint them and their spanish friends to go to the concert in the bar at Santa Teresa. It felt like visiting old friends. And their spanish cousine is delicious! If you are unlucky and the rooms are fully booked you have to come here for the food at least! We were on our honeymoon in Costa Rica for 2 weeks, traveled around a bit and then chose this place due to the best reviews - and it was the best choice :-) Unfortunately we originally booked only for 2 nights because we wanted to explore other places in Costa Rica but we extended straight away for an extra night. After 3 nights they were fully booked :-( but Vanessa and Ramon called for us to several places and helped us to find another accommodation in Santa Teresa so we could stay close and come back to their restaurant for the delitious mussels and chololate volcano cake.
Ramon you are a star, we really miss your food! :-) And Vanessa you make people to feel very welcome :-) You both make a great team. Thank you for making our stay at your place so wonderful. We will definitely stay in touch with both of you.
Lots of love Ilona & Martin, Czech Republic

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

the owner Vanessa and Ramon makes us our stay unforgettable. we had a wonderful bungalow with hammock and nice ocean an sunset view.
the beach is only 50 mtr away. we did wonderful beach walks and snorkeling on ebb tide there we saw a lot of colorful fishes.
Ramon is one of the best cooks I ever met. at the hotelrestaurant especialy the fish dishes are exelent. you have to have your dinner there.
Vanessa and Ramon thank you very much for the very nice time at your hotel an restaurant.
we will come back next time when we are in costa rica.

Room Tip: very good is the highest bungalow with ocean und sunset view ( these bungalow is possible up to 4 pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had such an amazing time at El Rey Patricio. The hotel is a little outside of town, which is the way a like it! It gives you a feeling of seclusion and a more genuine, personable, and unique experience. The beach is about 50 feet from the hotel which was nice for a nighttime stargazing session on the beach. We had one of the romantic rooms which was perfect. It was a little small, but had an open air concept with an entire wall that could open up with folding doors to a little deck with a shower, hammock, and ocean views. Everyday we ate a complimentary breakfast that was provided for us and Vanessa and Ramon were eager to answer my many questions on what to do in the area and even reserved a tour for us to Isla Tortuga. The hotel was clean, the service was perfect and personable, and every one of our needs was accommodated. The hotel is very small, and the staff consists of four people so by the end of our trip we felt like we were part of the family.

Besides that, in descending order here are my Top 3 favorite aspects of Hotel Rey Patricio

3) Playa Hermosa - The Hotel is located right next to Playa Hermosa, which is in my opinion the best beach in Mal Pais. It's big, the waves are the perfect size, the sand is soft, and because its not in the center of Santa Teresa it's not that crowded. The beach is so big that even if it was crowded it wouldn't feel like it. And best of all it is aptly named . . .It is Hermosa! Do yourself a favor and spend most of your beach time at Hermosa instead of the other beaches. Maybe break your day up with lunch at Roca Mar or a sunset viewing at Banana Beach which are both more centrally located. Also the famous playa hermosa tide pools are right in front of the hotel. Vanessa and Ramon are happy to lend you a snorkeling mask to explore this vast array of tide pools.

2) Tapas Restaurant - The food at El Rey Patricio is amazing. Ramon is one of the owners and the chef. He has no kitchen staff and does it all alone and the product is gourmet yet affordable! We ate here 2 out of our 3 nights and I honestly wish we could have had another night there just to sample some more of the menu. The croquettes were better than any I had while in Spain, the chorizo amazing, and the Sangria perfect among many others. Without a doubt the BEST food we ate in Costa Rica.

1) Vanessa y Ramon - Any experience is so much better when you feel a personal connection with the people involved with it. It didn't seem like Vanessa and Ramon put any effort into accommodating all of our needs, getting to know us, and making our trip an amazing experience because that is just them being themselves. Everything about them and the experience they curate is 100% genuine and natural. They are also downright inspiring. Do yourself a favor and ask them how they made it from Spain to Santa Teresa and it will inspire you want to drop everything, runaway with your love, and live your life happy, healthy and surrounded by beauty.

Do yourself a favor and stay at El Rey Patricio

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Rey Patricio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Patricio

Address: 5km. Norte del cruce con Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your El Rey Patricio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Patricio Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Patricio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.