We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a romantic weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Patricio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Patricio to your Saves list
El Rey Patricio
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5km. Norte del cruce con Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great stay for a romantic weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were in Santa Teresa and had an amazing stay at this lovely hotel. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful, the place super romantic and the room, despite small size, very clean. We loved it! Only tip - probably for couples who have been going out for a while - there is no privacy! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous tapas a la Spanish chef, beautiful sunsets from the restaurant and from the hotel room, clean hotel, helpful and friendly service, near to Playa Hermosa with good surfing waves. I fell in love with this place. It's relaxing and not too close to the centre of Santa Teresa (5 km). Closest store is only 2 km away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The perfect place to relax.
The tropical location 50m above the beach provides a certain calmness to come down & relax. El Rey is located a little bit outside Santa Teresa & away from the busy downtown life. The nature and the garden is well fostered. A lot of nice birds and some squirrels are daily visitors. Vanessa & Ramon, a friendly spanish couple that drives El Rey, have the ability to create a warm & welcoming atmosphere, which makes you feel like home. These guys love what they do and you realize it every day. My girlfriend and stayed in the hotel 1 week and we had the best time of our holiday. Rooms are clean and well equipped with warm shower, a good bed, hammock & ocean view. Ramon is very good cook, the food is delicious, special and always fresh. Even Mel Gibson passes by from time to time to have a nice dinner with his friends at Vanessa & Ramon`s Restaurante. From a surfing prospective, El Rey is is the perfect destination, as you have a lot of breaks, like Playa Hermosa near by. Vanessa & Ramon are always helpful and give a lot of tips, where to go and when.
When you around, stay in Hotel el Rey, you will love it.
We will come back!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at this place for 5 nights. Great view from the restaurant, great service in the morning both with the food, and with booking activities. And the dinner, especially the mahi mahi is great. Too bad that the aircon did not work, and that we found some big cocroches there. Since this place is located as remote as it is, we chose to dinner there a couple of times. Even though the owners were great and serviceminded during the daytime, we felt that they prioritized external dinner guests at night time. One night we had to wait 15 minutes even before a menu was presented to us. Then we were told that it would take a while because a party of 10 people suddenly showed up, waiting to be served. Made us feel like secondary costumers, that is not very professesional. They should hire some more help at nights like that. If they could do what we have complained about here better, the place would be great.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElReyPatricio_Tapas, Gerente at El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Google Translation
Querida Hege,
Lamentamos enormemente los contratiempos que hayan podido encontrar en nuestro lugar.
Como tu misma comentas, es un lugar apartado del centro tal como indicamos en nuestra página web o en el motor de reserva que ustedes utilizaron para acceder a nuestro Hotel ya que nos encanta estar alejados del ruido y polvo del centro de Santa Teresa siendo un paraiso tranquilo frente al mar muy cerca de Playa Hermosa.
En cuanto al aire acondicionado, nos apena que nunca nos comentasen nada en su estancia ya que si los clientes no nos informan no podemos saber este inconveniente. De hecho posteriormente fue comunicado y arreglado de inmediato.
Por lo que refiere al restaurante, lamento que se sintieran secundarios, como bien les informamos durante el día deben hacer reserva ya que tratandose de los primeros dias de enero, sin reserva no es posible cenar. Recuerdo que la noche que les propusimos esperar teniamos reservas y ustedes acudieron sin reserva previa, pero se les pidio una espera para poder ser atendidas ya que son clientes del Hotel, de no haber sido asi, no se hubiese propuesto esta opción.
No nos decantamos en absoluto por clientes externos ya que ustedes tienen descuentos en los platos y no se les cobra el servicio y son atendidos igual que el resto ya que esa en nuestra politica y creemos que sea la correcta.
Lamento que encontraran algun insecto en su cuarto debido a que estamos en medio de la jungla y asi se les avisa en la carta de bienvenida que ofrecemos a nuestros clientes ya que sabemos que para el turista europeo es extraño convivir con algunas especies que desconocen, disculpen el inconveniente.
Agradecemos sus comentarios ya que creemos que podemos mejorar en nuestro servicio y lamentamos que no hayan estado todo lo bien que nosotros hubiesemos querido ya que es nuestra intención con cada unos de nuestros clientes.
Espero que disfrutaran de su viaje en Costa Rica.
Un cordial saludo.
Vanessa Solano y Ramon Estol
Gerentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife, our 11 month old and I stayed here and rented the family bungalow for 8 days in December. Was truly a special place. Location was great...directly across from nice little beach and tidepools that we enjoyed exploring. Surfed playa Hermosa (a 10 minute walk) everyday and rented a board from the hotel. Beautiful sunsets at dinner, excellent food (chef/propreitor Ramon even cooked up the Mahi mahi I caught deep sea fishing for two of our dinners) breakfasts were included and had unlimited coffee! Close enough to the hustle and bustle of town (a few kilometers to Santa Teresa) but nice privacy and atmosphere so as to make it perfect for our family. Finally, the owners Ramon y Vanessa are some of the nicest people (and hosts) we've met. They really welcomed us and made the stay perfect. We will return in future years!

Room Tip: The family bungalow was simple but great. Fell asleep listening to the waves every night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at El Rey and enjoed it a lot. The place is a bit of town and just the right choice if you are looking for a lovely hide-away. The owners Vanessa and Ramon we extremly nice and helpful. We had three beatiful days! We highly recommend El Rey if you consider going to Mal Pais Area!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We discovered this cute ocean view resturant today on a walk from our hotel called Pranamar. The owners Vanessa and Ramon run this great restaurant and they are both from Brazil. Ramon made us some delcious and authentic Tapas and Vanessa was our hostess and waitress. She is the nicest and most genuine person we have met while here in Costa Rica on vacation! The food was fresh, service great and the prices very reasonable. We enjoyed all the sound of the ocean and beautiful sunset from our table. It's casual and we enjoyed our time here very much!

Room Tip: We did not stay here, it is more a surf place hotel for people who want to stay across from a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElReyPatricio_Tapas, Gerente at El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Google Translation
Dear Trash,
Que palabras tan agradables, que maravilla que un cliente valore el esfuerzo y el amor que le ponemos a nuestro proyecto cada dia.
Gracias por venir, fue un placer conocerles y tenerles aqui, a veces las casualidades son los encuentros más hermosos. Me alegro mucho de que les gustara nuestra cocina ya que Ramon es un Chef increíble y el trato recibido por mi personalmente, no tengo palabras para agradecerte las suyas.
Somos de Barcelona y de ahí nuestras queridas Tapas :)
Si vuelven a surfear a este paraíso no olviden volver a visitarnos.
Thanks again for your review, we haven't words.
Thanks :)
Pura Vida
Vanessa y Ramon (Hotel El Rey Patricio & Restaurante Tapas)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Patricio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Patricio

Address: 5km. Norte del cruce con Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rey Patricio 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Patricio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Patricio Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Patricio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.