We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Patricio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Patricio to your Saves list
El Rey Patricio
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5km. Norte del cruce con Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“absolutely awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We wished we could have stayed longer, because El Rey Patricio was the best vacation spot we have ever been able to experience! Lee and Jane are absolutely amazing and helped us have the best experiences in just the 4 1/2 days we were there! They were incredibly accommodating! From making us breakfast in the morning, to helping us get set up with surf boards, mnt. bikes, quads (to go to the waterfalls in Montezuma!) and they offer really good food for lunch and dinner as well.
The sunsets are bar none the prettiest on earth and you have the opportunity to have the best view from a little bench right in front of El Rey. There is nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of the ocean! This place is rustic, rugged and completely serene! We could go on and on about how great this place is, but just know it is absolutely awesome.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I ended up staying almost a week, starting with the intention of only a day or two. No more could have been asked from this lovely family. Outside of the obvious luxuries (a/c!) we woke to a home cooked meal every morning and when we caught fish, a home cooked dinner with the family. If you are looking for good laughs, a comfortable stay, and smiles all day this is the place. Great job Jane and Lee, you guys have the makings for something great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my second stay at El Rey Patricio and it has gotten even better since I was there 2 years ago.  Lee and Jane are the new owners and they have made so many improvements since the last time I stayed there.  The daily breakfast that came with my room was awesome, and they even gave me choices each day.  The hotel has the best view for sunset.  We went out to the tide pools and enjoyed a beverage from the bar at the end of each day.  So relaxing!  They helped with a fishing tour where I caught a bunch of mahi-mahi.  I'm glad that I went back to El Rey Patricio!  

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at El Rey Patricio and had an amazing time. Jane and Lee were great hosts. The free breakfast that we got each morning was delicious and they even offered a few choices to choose from each morning. One morning Jane made us banana pancakes with fresh bananas from the property. The view that we had from the beachfront bungalow is amazing. El Rey Patricio is where you want to stay to get a real feel for Costa Rica. It is located on the north end of Santa Teresa which is great for a nice quiet stay. I will be back again next year!

Room Tip: try to get the bungalow if it is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed with Jane and Lee, at El Rey! They were terrific!! The view from their restaurant is incredible! They sit up off the road and away from the dust, private beaches and a short walk to the surf beaches!! They were also most helpful when it came to recommending different activities to do and where to rent quads.. If you want that perfect get away check this place out!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Lee and Jane, who now own and operate this A++ resort have turned it into a perfect combination of where Kieth Richards would have taken The Stones for "Exile on Mainstreet" if Costa Rica was their destination instead of France... and just the absolute best destination resort on the Nicoya Peninsula. They are all at once providing a family atmosphere (or a comfortable wholesome hedonistic one) where a bohemian, surfer, rocker or just a hip family looking for a secluded, sprawling, GORGEOUS resort destination in paradise can find their dream vacation spot. Part of your heart will never leave this place once you stay here with them. -world traveler 15 plus years p.s. - lee(a famous Florida ex-pat radio man) even operates a pirate radio broadcast from the resort!!! How amazing!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed at El Rey for 6 weeks and loved it.
Gustavo, Javier, Raquel and Kimberli made us feel so welcome. The location of this place is probably the best in the whole Santa Teresa area as the beach is literally 2 seconds from your bungalow/room door and we had the beach to ourselves every single day.
At each low tide there is a massive tide pool right in front of El Rey where we swam and snorkelled with so many different fish, it was beautiful.
Breakfast is included in the room charge and we always had a choice of Gallo Pinto or fruit and toast and eggs and unlimited, delicious coffee. Lunch and dinner is also available and the choice and quality was very good. If you eat here for lunch or dinner then you must try the onion pizza, it is the best pizza we have ever eaten.
Gustavo also runs the Perfect Sunset School where you can learn Spanish or surfing or both. Being surfers ourselves we appreciated seeing Gustavo in action as an instructor and his knowledge and patience were second to none and the emphasis was always on having fun.....just as it should be.
We highly recommend staying at El Rey and will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Patricio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Patricio

Address: 5km. Norte del cruce con Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rey Patricio 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Patricio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Patricio Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Patricio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.