We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griss Lodge and Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Griss Lodge and Villas
Save
You added Griss Lodge and Villas to your Saves list
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location and Hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Griss Lodge is just far enough away from the busy town area to make it quaint and quiet. Close to the beautiful beach and some great restaurants. Selma and Gabriel were gracious hosts, and our room was much more than we imagined.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I´m an avid traveler and spend lot of days out of home for business. I spent 5 days in Santa Teresa two weeks ago for vacations. A friend recommended us to stay at Griss Lodge and Villas and was the best advise we could have. Right across the beach!!!!.
There are 6 wonderful wood houses. We stayed at one on the top floor. It was very spacious, the beds very comfortable and extremely clean although you are living in the middle of nature. There is wifi and a security box at the room. The staff/owners are wonderful, they treat us always like a member of their family, we had good time learning surf like friends and at the same time you have the intimacy you deserve sometimes when you want to rest.
I never surfed in my life and two of the owners from Griss tought us the basics to stand on the board and get some waves, it ROCKS!!!!
Griss has a place in my heart for sure I will return many times in the rest of my life , hopefully sooner than later. You won´t go wrong with GRISS.

Room Tip: Higher floors are warmer but at the same time have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I went at the Griss with a friend in a surf trip. The managers of the hotel are great, friendly, helping and concern for their customers. The villas were clean, spacious and very well located for surfing.
I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in the main big house. The owners next door we're so welcoming, anything we needed they would help us out. The house was so clean with everything you need, I could live there! It's so close to the beach. Everyone that works there was so friendly. We stayed for a week out of our 2 week trip all over Costa Rica. As we travelled around after staying at Griss we kept wishing we were back there. We will 100% be back at Griss as soon as we can. I have nothing but positive things to say about this place.

Room Tip: The owners take such good care of the property I'm sure every room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had great interactions with the owners / managers. Very friendly, kind, and responsive. Location is right across the beach about a 3 min walk. Houses are lovely, accommodating, and decorated well. I went with two of my girlfriends and we had an absolute blast. I highly recommend staying at Griss. My stay was only four nights but I could have easily lived there for months.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

What an amazing home away from home. Fabulous location, beautifully decorated in a serene environment. Owners are extremely friendly ans very helpful. Highly recommend this place as it has exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Beautiful property with a nice private pool and relaxing area. A little noisy sleeping in the jungle but that is part of the fun! Great for going in the group or as a couple. Villas were good value and service was great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griss Lodge and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griss Lodge and Villas

Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Griss Lodge And Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griss Lodge and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.