We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griss Lodge and Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Griss Lodge and Villas
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect home in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing home away from home. Fabulous location, beautifully decorated in a serene environment. Owners are extremely friendly ans very helpful. Highly recommend this place as it has exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Beautiful property with a nice private pool and relaxing area. A little noisy sleeping in the jungle but that is part of the fun! Great for going in the group or as a couple. Villas were good value and service was great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The place is great, just a 2 minute walk to the beach, also the staff is very friendly and helpful. Apartments have fully equip kitchen, near super market, the pool is very nice too. Totally worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent almost 3 months in this small corner of paradise! It is the place to stay in Santa Teresa!
Close to the beach and La Lorra surfspot (2min walk) and in a quiet spot surrounded by the jungle.

Selma and Gabri will make you feel at home and part of the family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayed at griss for first time in September 2008 in the first house upstairs. A beautiful wood cabin with everything you need in it. A bedroom upstairs and then the kitchen, dinning area and livingroom area and a lanai with a hammock to hang out. Then in 2010 I stayed in house Nr.2 upstairs and Nr.3. Each house is tastefully decorated and unique, and very functional and clean. Every year the owners make these houses look like new, there is always a little improvement. A couple of years back the added the pool and the barbaque/outdoor hang out- area away from the road and in the privacy of the beautiful tropical garden. It is a perfect place for families and adults alike, beautiful and quiet. It is also located right across the path that leads to one of the best surf spots in town, so you can be in the water several times a day and then just go home for a snack and a refreshing swimm at the pool. It is possible to schedule massages, surf lessons or surfboard rentals in the reception area. The owners are fantastic! They were there to assist me with every question or need I had, but at the same time they gave me all the privacy in the world to enjoy the house as my little private home by the beach. Griss is always a treat! enjoy!!!

Room Tip: I like the houses near the pool the best. Also they have 2 beautiful suites by the pool w/ private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I arrived with my family in early August. We stayed in the upper unit which includes two double beds, equipped kitchen, dining and living area. The building and rooms are tastefully done constructed from natural wood. The above unit has two floors in a loft style--the 2nd floor having two rooms each with a bed and air conditioner. Everything is very clean and well kept and feels very new. The beds and couches were super comfortable and the room had almost no bugs even with the windows kept open. Whats great is the location to the beach-directly across from the lodge is a public access. This is the nicest beach area as it is all sand where further down it becomes very rocky with little space to sit. There are good restaurants located nearby and the main center is only a 20 minute walk. The room itself was the nicest we stayed in Costa Rica at the cheapest price! Very good for budget travelers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Beautiful place to stay. The grounds and houses are great and the operators are brilliant and would do anything for their guests. They're also perfectly located for beach access. We found getting to Santa Teresa was an effort but that was all forgotten after arriving at Gris. Fantastic place for a tropical holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Griss Lodge and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griss Lodge and Villas

Also Known As:
Griss Lodge And Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griss Lodge and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Griss Lodge and Villas to your Saves list