We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It trully is your Beach home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griss Lodge and Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Griss Lodge and Villas
Save Saved
You added Griss Lodge and Villas to your Saves list
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It trully is your Beach home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayed at griss for first time in September 2008 in the first house upstairs. A beautiful wood cabin with everything you need in it. A bedroom upstairs and then the kitchen, dinning area and livingroom area and a lanai with a hammock to hang out. Then in 2010 I stayed in house Nr.2 upstairs and Nr.3. Each house is tastefully decorated and unique, and very functional and clean. Every year the owners make these houses look like new, there is always a little improvement. A couple of years back the added the pool and the barbaque/outdoor hang out- area away from the road and in the privacy of the beautiful tropical garden. It is a perfect place for families and adults alike, beautiful and quiet. It is also located right across the path that leads to one of the best surf spots in town, so you can be in the water several times a day and then just go home for a snack and a refreshing swimm at the pool. It is possible to schedule massages, surf lessons or surfboard rentals in the reception area. The owners are fantastic! They were there to assist me with every question or need I had, but at the same time they gave me all the privacy in the world to enjoy the house as my little private home by the beach. Griss is always a treat! enjoy!!!

Room Tip: I like the houses near the pool the best. Also they have 2 beautiful suites by the pool w/ private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I arrived with my family in early August. We stayed in the upper unit which includes two double beds, equipped kitchen, dining and living area. The building and rooms are tastefully done constructed from natural wood. The above unit has two floors in a loft style--the 2nd floor having two rooms each with a bed and air conditioner. Everything is very clean and well kept and feels very new. The beds and couches were super comfortable and the room had almost no bugs even with the windows kept open. Whats great is the location to the beach-directly across from the lodge is a public access. This is the nicest beach area as it is all sand where further down it becomes very rocky with little space to sit. There are good restaurants located nearby and the main center is only a 20 minute walk. The room itself was the nicest we stayed in Costa Rica at the cheapest price! Very good for budget travelers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Beautiful place to stay. The grounds and houses are great and the operators are brilliant and would do anything for their guests. They're also perfectly located for beach access. We found getting to Santa Teresa was an effort but that was all forgotten after arriving at Gris. Fantastic place for a tropical holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

A Modern, minimalist take on traditional Costa Rican design, the Griss houses are exceptionally beautiful, with every detail thought out. From the polished concrete floors to the expansive folding out doors and windows (allowing you to being the outside in every day), to the gorgeous hand-made lampshades and woven straw rugs. As design enthusiasts and modernists, we were in Heaven here with our 1 year old son.
You can not beat the rate, in fact -we had originally planned on staying at a similarly priced lodge in Mal Pais for 4 nights, and upon arriving there -we immediately wanted to pack up and return to our home at The Griss... so we did (at 5:30 am)! Begging them to take us back (even though our little house had already been rented). They put us up in the Tree House (also beautifully designed and spacious), upstairs for a night and then we returned to our ground floor cabina for the remainder (easier with a baby to be on one floor).
The Pool was amazing, the houses and the grounds were spotless and constantly being cared-for, the security was well-enforced, we never felt unsafe or that our privacy would be compromised.
The beach is less than a 5 minute stroll down a path and they rent great (and cheap) surfboards right at the reception cabin (so convenient).
We can not say enough good things about the owners (Selma, Gabriel, Simone and Ricky). They can help you with anything you need and are just lovely human beings. They have the local inside scoop on all the best restaurants, the surf breaks, they even helped my husband book a masseuse to come to our house for a surprise massage on Mother's Day (Hooli, who was amazing).
If you are looking for a modern private oasis where you can totally relax in a very zen atmosphere... this is the spot, hands down -I guarantee you will not find anything like it, especially at this rate. It is as nice (or I would say, even nicer) than the other high-end cabinas we looked at online for double the price. It is perfect for families, as well as for couples, surfers, even those traveling alone. For those with discerning taste, but still want to stick to a reasonable bu.dget -it's the obvious choice in Santa Teresa / Mal Pais area. You will feel like you are staying at a boutique luxury villa getting an amazing deal at the same time! We absolutely LOVED it there, and we really miss it!!!!!! Maybe one day, we will make it back there

Room Tip: Ground floor (House 1) if you are traveling with a baby. Older kids (3+) would love the tree houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place is rustic with a modern flare.

We stayed in a two bedroom Villa and it was the highlight of our trip.

The hotel has secure parking, a beautiful pool area and excellent access to the best part of the beach and the best food options in Santa Teresa.

You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Full kitchen facilities, daily housekeeping, air conditioning, in - room safe, monkeys for neighbours, hammock on a shady patio, and on-demand hot water in a large shower - pure bliss.

The staff and owners are fantastic and available to help with whatever you need.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

4 of us (2 couples) stayed at a griss villa for a week. These villas are exceptionally designed for versatility with a cotemporary blend of natural materials. The kitchen and living area have a glass door wall that folds in and big windows that open out so you can live in the jungle landscape with the tropical plants and listen to the howling monkeys and exotic birds. Or you can close it up and turn on the A/C and enjoy the wild world from behind glass. We are builders, designers and architects and felt very inspired by the spaces created at Griss. Also the villas are extremely clean without any bugs or cockroaches.
and they have everything you need; Helpful and friendly owners, very affordable rates, affordable and good quality surf board rentals, pool, outdoor grills,ac, beach access to good surf, security guard, security boxes, and even a blender for your fruity rum drinks!
Best accomodation in our travels through Panama and Costa Rica. Thanks Griss! ~Holly Deluca

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Awesome rooms, friendly staff, and great surf right across the street. Good rates too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griss Lodge and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griss Lodge and Villas

Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Griss Lodge And Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griss Lodge and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.