We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 5 star jungle bungalow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaima Chill House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Canaima Chill House to your Saves list
Canaima Chill House
400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“a 5 star jungle bungalow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

You hear a lot of stigmas about Central America, about Costa Rica, about having, as a tourist, to remain vigilant and keep an eye on your stuff. All these stigmas tend to take away from your expectations as it did mine. When I got to the Canaima Chill House, I was completely put at ease. The house is a bungalow in the jungle with communal hot tub and Juan Carlos and staff run the place like the Hyatt in Paris (where he used to work according to the 'about the house' book at the foot of the bed). You want an ATV? they'll arrange it for you. Restaurant recommendations? You got it. How about a surf lesson? Juan Carlos can hook you up, maybe even teach you one himself. Eventhough you're not separated by much more than a wall of bamboo and a roll down blanket, the place remains fairly quiet and does the trick for that jungle getaway.

Some folks may not dig the uphill climb it takes to get to the house, but its totally walkable to and from the beach/town/restaurants, etc. Just be sure to do it before or a bit after noon as not to catch the sneaky harsh sun.

PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    19
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
125
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Canaima Chill House is a hidden Costa Rican treasure. Fantastic owners and excellent service. We stayed for 5 days, and it was the most relaxing vacation of our life. We plan to go back this year, Canaima Chill House will be our choice once again! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We booked to stay at Canaima for 11 days in Nov/Dec having seen great reviews online. We were not disappointed! We were greeted by the owners as soon as we arrived by our names, and shown to our room which was utterly gorgeous. The hotel really is a true haven. Although it's a bit of a walk from the beach (well - 5-10 minutes) its worth staying further back from the road for for some peace - also once you're there you're deep in jungle and surrounded by the most incredible wildlife - monkeys flying about 24/7! We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

The first site of Santa Teresa was a bit messy... dirt mainroad with lots of bumps and mud (it rainde recently... and it rains daily!!).
The next day this feeling was over. We got to understand Santa Teresa. Calm, laid back, simple and differente people, lots of surfers and a whole lot of things to do!
Canaima was another great surprise, after another bumpy road on the way up.
Juan Carlos and his dig were impressive hosts! Even though he spent most of his day working on the pool, he'd quickly attend all your needs.
Very nicely decorated rooms, with a very quiet fan and an effective mosquito net, the bed was very comfortable.
Had everything you need to cook, which we did a couple of times and everyday at breakfast.
The touch of class: iPod speaker and a very very nice porch to read a book.
The only thing that we disliked was the humidity.. but, then again, you're in the middle of the jungle. And the wake up service were the howler monkeys! :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I recently drove from California to Costa Rica with a friend of mine who had been to Santa Teresa many times, I had heard sooooo much about the town and Canaima for about 2 years before I finally made it down there, and let me tell you it surpassed my greatest expectations! Canaima was more beautiful than I had imagined. Juan Carlos really took his time to create an environment that is welcoming and relaxing, not to mention you wont find a nicer host in Santa Teresa! It really was the trip of a lifetime, and Canaima was the perfect spot to make that happen!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in August after already 2 weeks of travelling. It was truely wonderful to have a place to relax and regain some energy for our trip!! We stayed for 4 days and had an incredible time. The rooms were absolutely incredible and comfortable. They included a kitchen too which was great considering we were gettting really tired of eating out expensively all the time. Juan Carlos and everyone with the hotel really provided so much great advice and helped make our stay in beautiful playa santa teresa a memorable one. I would definiltey recommend this hotel to anyone going to costa rica.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris-rio-nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Juan Carlos is extremely cool and helpful, a surfer like us who took time to fill us on in the good spots. He even offered to take us surfing with him and a friend. He upgraded us to a big room with a giant sun porch. This was the best place we stayed in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "rustic boutique hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our "pillow swimming pool".Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 Suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services- Cocktail and smoothie bar- Room service breakfast (optional) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaima Chill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.