We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaima Chill House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Canaima Chill House to your Saves list
Canaima Chill House
400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Tremendous staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Exotic up hill jungle location, still close to the beach, shops and cafés. Rooms are large and have an almost outdoor shower.
The staff is the most pleasant ever experienced in a hotel.
Also the owner Juan Carlos is a great surf instructor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    19
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
126
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hate to give a bad review but..At first look this place is beautiful and looked like a little bit of paradise. A lovely plunge pool with hanging chill out beds set up amongst the trees. However after a cold shower at 2am to cool down and a restless nights sleep I really didn't want to endure this any more. This place really needs air conditioning!! The weak ceiling fans are not enough. Also the place has no privacy. The shower has a see through curtain and the bathroom only has some hanging wooden beads and curtains that don't close fully so don't expect privacy in the bathroom. I would recommend this place for couples only that dont mind sleeping naked and see each other shower/pee! I stayed here with a friend and to be honest would rather have some privacy in the bathroom/be able to sleep in pjs! the trek up the hill is also a pain and you are kinda stuck if it rains. difficult enough as it is climing up. yet I know this is well documented on the website that transportation is recommended. I would definitely agree you have to have transport!! Not really for the steep hill - I can handle that (a nice air con room when u finally get there would do a treat!!) but because this place is pretty far away from the main hub of santa teresa and a fair old trek from the intersection at Franks. also the owner was away on holiday when we were there and the largely unhelpful girl in charge didn't offer breakfast/surf lessons as advertised and seemed to know little of the surrounding area.despite 2 of the top restaurants recommended by trip advisor being in the close vicinity (Alma and Burger Rancho) she could only recommend pizza place A or pizza place B?! Sorely disappointed in this place and from the reviews expected more! have now moved to another place in santa teresa that is just a wee gem! looking forward to a sleep with aircon tonight!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canaimachillhouse, Gerente at Canaima Chill House, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all apologies for not offering you what you expected during your stay at Canaima Chill House.
It's true that in Costa Rica it can get too hot and if you are not used to be with out A/C it can be an unconformable situation. For next season we will have some rooms with A/C.

About the privacy, we are an open space concept hotel. During 5 months of the year we have heavy rains and we need to have our rooms ventilated from the humidity.

The hotel is exactly 400 meters from the main road as documented on our website. This location permits enjoy the noises of the jungle and not the traffic and crowdedness down the hill. If we ever have any guests that want to be in the "main hub" we highly recommend them to stay in any of the other beautiful hotels down the road. Canaima Chill House is a little hotel made with love to make our guests enjoy their stay and their holidays. We would never want to make any "fake marketing" to attract guests and once they arrive, find a different product than what they saw on the website.

June is a very low season month and many restaurants close during this month, that is why the receptionist wasn't able to suggest you any other nice restaurants. Why wouldn't we want to recommend a nice place instead of a pizza place A or pizza place B? Our job is to make you happy.

We are going to go through ALL the information of our website and retouch the information that confuses people that want a different product than what we offer, so these confusions don't happen again.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Playa Santa Teresa, and once again sorry for all the inconveniences you had during your stay with us.

PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I'm surprised by the 5 star ratings of the Chill House. It is a chill jungle oasis with an uphill hike from town, but I was expecting a little more. The grounds were dirty and unkept, ie:leaves in the pool, dirty cushions on chill deck, soap scum on shower window, sink basin, stained linens, broken hot tub..It wasn't perfect. The space is tight, your neighbors are on top of you. You have to be chill and whisper, or everyone will hear you. Not much privacy and felt like a hostel in that regard. For the price of $80-$100 per night, I was expecting a little more love and cleanliness. I understand it's rainy season, leaves fall, mud happens and we're in the jungle, but it was never cleaned up during the 24 hours. Our view was to construction and a green tarp in the back of the building. The staff was friendly and understanding when we asked to change/cancel our lodging after the first night, which we very much appreciate. We did see monkeys from our deck, which was awesome. I can see why people love the Chill House, but it's overpriced in my opinion. We expected more
based on previous reviews.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canaimachillhouse, Gerente at Canaima Chill House, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guests,

We are very sorry for all the inconveniences that you mention on your review.

I was really surprised when you mentioned about the dirty room and talked to the housekeeper about this. We got to the conclusion that the room wasn't 100% clean because you arrived at the hotel at 8:30am and we let you do your check in at that time instead of at 2pm. If the room was not used the night before your check in, we normally go over the room before the check in, but as you arrived at 8:30 am the housekeeper didn't do it. We apologies for this.
You mention that the room was not cleaned in 24 hours. We clean the rooms every day once our guests go to the beach or check out, so if you would have stayed in the hotel, your room would have been cleaned once you left the hotel to spend your day.

It's strange but there is no constructions around the hotel. All the rooms have jungle views. The green tarp that is behind you room is to give some more privacy from the little path that leads to our neighbors property. We will do our best to make that look better.


It's a shame you didn't mention all this when I asked you if everything was ok, when you wanted to check out in advance telling me that you just had to change your plans. We would of done all our best to resolve these inconveniences and make your stay unique in a positive way.

As we worry about our guests I read the rest of the reviews that you wrote about Santa Teresa and we are happy that at least you enjoyed the rest of your stay in town.

Once again we apologies for everything that you mention on your review.

PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently just met up with some friends at Canaima Chill House for the first time. They were there 2 years ago for their honeymoon and had could not wait to go back. Immediately upon getting out of the car I was in love with Canaima. You can not help but immediately feel relaxed. The staff member who greeted us was absolutely charming, quick and helpful. We were in our room in a matter of minutes. The grounds are well maintained and have a very zen like feel to them. Our room was gorgeous and despite the lack of A/C was very comfortable. We took our 8 year old son which we were a little nervous about seeing as 8 year olds are usually far from "chill" but even he seemed to really appreciate the laid back nature of the resort and spent more than a few days napping on the swinging beds. I would recommend taking a surf lesson with the owner Juan Carlos FOR SURE! He is a patient teacher who you can tell genuinely loves what he does.
A few words of advice: YES the resort is at the top of a very steep hill but we found ourselves hiking up and down multiple times a day with no problem. It can get a little slippery if it rains but never did it feel dangerous. It is work for sure but once you make it the top you can jump into the beautiful pool to cool off.
Although the resort itself is very quiet, you have to keep in mind you are in the middle of the rain forest. There are all kinds of natural noises around you. i.e birds, dogs, insects, lizards and MONKEYS! They all add to the experience though and after a little getting use to our quite calming.
I can not say enough wonderful things about the resort, the staff, the beach, the town etc... I absolutely fell in love with Canaima and Santa Teresa. I am already planning my return in November.
Make sure to pack some bug spray,a couple swimsuits, some sun block and flip flops.

Thank you Juan Carlos for such a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Canaima Chill House was just what my fiance and I needed for our vacation. We spent 6 days/5 nights at Canaima and loved every minute of it. It's tucked away in the trees of Santa Teresa and really is a hidden gem. As long as you're able to walk up and down the long hill that leads to Canaima, the local town and beach are a short 5 minute walk away. We highly recommend renting an ATV during your stay. We rented and ATV 2 days and were able to beach hop and even ride out to Montezuma to see the waterfalls a lot easier and cheaper. We also recommend visiting the local spot Tomate..BEST pizza and margaritas we've ever had! The rooms at Canaima are awesome, they really give you the feel that you are in the jungle. it was great that there was a kitchen, because we were able to walk to the local market and buy food to make for breakfast and lunch every day, which made our trip a lot cheaper! Canaima really is a great place to stay for the price. I highly recommend it if you're looking to relax and enjoy the culture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Canaima chill house is an oasis of casual luxury within the small surfing area of Santa Teresa. You will enjoy of stillness, silence, and simplicity, a welcome retreat of peace after spending the day exploring the jungle and riding the waves.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great value for money. Very steep hill towards the hotel. Little bit outside of town but enough restaurants and bars down the road. We stayed in montezuma also but we definitely preferred mal pais. A car is very convenient round here, although parking space is really tight. Rooms are very spacious, nice kitchen and porch. The garden is narrow but beautiful. Pool was small and a little bit dirty because of all the leaves falling down. Rooms are luxurious, modern and clean. they do need a paint brush and some touching up here and there in order to keep it in perfect shape. The porch is really great. We didn't have breakfast here but there is a great breakfast and lunch bar - Zwart - down the road. Amazing banana and blackberry pancakes. The owner is very friendly and took my boyfriend for a surfing lesson. Great hotel, would definitely recommend it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
1.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#1 of 30 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "rustic boutique hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our "pillow swimming pool".Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 Suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services- Cocktail and smoothie bar- Room service breakfast (optional) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaima Chill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.