We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first sight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaima Chill House

Save Saved
You added Canaima Chill House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canaima Chill House
400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Love at first sight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently just met up with some friends at Canaima Chill House for the first time. They were there 2 years ago for their honeymoon and had could not wait to go back. Immediately upon getting out of the car I was in love with Canaima. You can not help but immediately feel relaxed. The staff member who greeted us was absolutely charming, quick and helpful. We were in our room in a matter of minutes. The grounds are well maintained and have a very zen like feel to them. Our room was gorgeous and despite the lack of A/C was very comfortable. We took our 8 year old son which we were a little nervous about seeing as 8 year olds are usually far from "chill" but even he seemed to really appreciate the laid back nature of the resort and spent more than a few days napping on the swinging beds. I would recommend taking a surf lesson with the owner Juan Carlos FOR SURE! He is a patient teacher who you can tell genuinely loves what he does.
A few words of advice: YES the resort is at the top of a very steep hill but we found ourselves hiking up and down multiple times a day with no problem. It can get a little slippery if it rains but never did it feel dangerous. It is work for sure but once you make it the top you can jump into the beautiful pool to cool off.
Although the resort itself is very quiet, you have to keep in mind you are in the middle of the rain forest. There are all kinds of natural noises around you. i.e birds, dogs, insects, lizards and MONKEYS! They all add to the experience though and after a little getting use to our quite calming.
I can not say enough wonderful things about the resort, the staff, the beach, the town etc... I absolutely fell in love with Canaima and Santa Teresa. I am already planning my return in November.
Make sure to pack some bug spray,a couple swimsuits, some sun block and flip flops.

Thank you Juan Carlos for such a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    17
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
114
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Canaima Chill House was just what my fiance and I needed for our vacation. We spent 6 days/5 nights at Canaima and loved every minute of it. It's tucked away in the trees of Santa Teresa and really is a hidden gem. As long as you're able to walk up and down the long hill that leads to Canaima, the local town and beach are a short 5 minute walk away. We highly recommend renting an ATV during your stay. We rented and ATV 2 days and were able to beach hop and even ride out to Montezuma to see the waterfalls a lot easier and cheaper. We also recommend visiting the local spot Tomate..BEST pizza and margaritas we've ever had! The rooms at Canaima are awesome, they really give you the feel that you are in the jungle. it was great that there was a kitchen, because we were able to walk to the local market and buy food to make for breakfast and lunch every day, which made our trip a lot cheaper! Canaima really is a great place to stay for the price. I highly recommend it if you're looking to relax and enjoy the culture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Canaima chill house is an oasis of casual luxury within the small surfing area of Santa Teresa. You will enjoy of stillness, silence, and simplicity, a welcome retreat of peace after spending the day exploring the jungle and riding the waves.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great value for money. Very steep hill towards the hotel. Little bit outside of town but enough restaurants and bars down the road. We stayed in montezuma also but we definitely preferred mal pais. A car is very convenient round here, although parking space is really tight. Rooms are very spacious, nice kitchen and porch. The garden is narrow but beautiful. Pool was small and a little bit dirty because of all the leaves falling down. Rooms are luxurious, modern and clean. they do need a paint brush and some touching up here and there in order to keep it in perfect shape. The porch is really great. We didn't have breakfast here but there is a great breakfast and lunch bar - Zwart - down the road. Amazing banana and blackberry pancakes. The owner is very friendly and took my boyfriend for a surfing lesson. Great hotel, would definitely recommend it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

"The Chill House" perfectly describes the experience of staying here, and from the moment you check-in, you immediately feel as though you are in a relaxed state of mind.

The hospitality is top notch, and we absolutely felt totally taken care of throughout our stay. Juan Carlos and his staff truly know how to ensure that guests are enjoying themselves and finding the perfect balance between adventure and relaxation. He is a wonderful beginners surf instructor as well!

When you combine the activities (surfing, swimming, laying on the beach, ATV rental, ziplining, snorkeling, etc.) with the accommodation, as well as the food and feel of Santa Teresa, this is the ideal way to visit Costa Rica. Quite an accomplishment given the popular destination that Costa Rica is for tourists! Juan Carlos and team have the perfect formula.

We will absolutely back. Next time it will be for Surf Camp!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

everyone at this great spot was great. the rooms are lovely, well designed, and comfortable. each room is like a 5-star rugged but elegant private lux apartment/hotel room. the location in the woods a bit away from the main loud road is quiet and charming. monkeys in the trees. little doggies in the yard. great little pool. the owner, his girlfriend, and his staff were all super-lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our expectations were truly high before we visited Santa Teresa and Canaima House. Juan Carlos and his outstanding staff easily exceeded our very high expectations. They assisted us with everything, they had great recommendations for our stay, they even arranged a hotel for our over night in San Jose so that we could make our flight the next morning. That hotel was also very comfortable. The Hotel is simple but has absolutely everything you need. The swinging beds were really cool to just relax on. The resident dogs, two german shepherds were really cool to have around. Howler monkeys visited in front of our room one afternoon, although you could hear them every day. The walk down to the beach to watch the stunning sunset every night was short and worth the five minute walk. The walk up the hill is pretty steep, we did end up renting a quad and I would highly recommend this as well. The quad rental place was close, recommended by Juan Carlos and inexpensive. It was an easy way to get to the top of the hill and around the area. If we could give the Chill House six stars we would, again, very, very pleased with everything there. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: The photos on the web site are very accurate. Use Juan Carlos to set up any of your adventures you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "rustic boutique hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our “pillow swimming pool”.Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services- Cocktail and smoothie bar- Room service breakfast (optional) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaima Chill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.