We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing from the beginning....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaima Chill House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Canaima Chill House to your Saves list
Canaima Chill House
400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing from the beginning....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

EVERYONE, I traveled to this hotel back when it was in it's infancy, back in 2009. Even then, this place was amazing. My uncle and I were traveling together and showed up in Santa Teresa with no where to stay. Bad planning. We did; however, find a hotel that recommended us to go to Canaima. JuanCarlos was so AWESOME. He stayed up until about midnight waiting for us to arrive. He catered to us and took very good care of us. This guy never stopped working the entire time we were there. If he wasn't building something, he was sweeping the street LOL. That was a nice day to come back to the hotel after a day at the beach to see JuanCarlos "sweeping" the street. The security in this place is great. I felt very safe with a patrol dog and secure front door that is locked in the evening. Also there were security cameras for extra protection. I never saw any violence in Costa Rica, but as with any foreign country, your things can be stolen at any time if you are not careful. Yes, the monkeys can be loud, but, hey, they are monkeys. This is what monkeys do. Also there are chickens and a whole world out there to hear. I loved it. A simple pair of earplugs and I slept like a baby. My uncle actually loved sleeping out on the swing on the porch. I woke up one morning and said, did you hear the monkeys and he says "what monkeys". LOL

This is the most amazing place and has been since the beginning. I have been back several times since then. JuanCarlos has done so much work and made this just a haven for peace and relaxation. Since my first visit they added so much, including a deck, jacuzzi, swimming pool and more. The people there are so nice and the community is very laid back and easy going. Take some surf lessons, ride a zipline, rent a four-wheeler, go for an adventure. This is the most amazing place. I love it. I miss it. I highly recommend this place for couples and for families. Even if you travel alone, this a wonderful place to relax, meet people or just take in nature. I cannot say enough about this place or this town. Just pack your things and go. You will not want to go home.

PS To the people that review that it's hot here and that they had to walk and the monkeys were loud, etc... You really should book an all-inclusive resort. This place is not for you. I should mention, however, that JuanCarlos could probably work in unlimited Gin Tonics into the deal. They are the best!! LOL

Room Tip: Book early, this place is very popular and gets filled up quick. Call JuanCarlos in advance if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    17
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
115
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The walk up to Canaima was steep, but when you got in the door you were fill with calm!
The room/ apartment was beautiful :) The guys at the reception was very helpful.
The calm that was around the house was impressing. Juan Carlos gave great surf lessons quite cheep compared to the others in "town".
I will definitely stay here again! It was worth every penny :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Canaima is like staying at a magical, rainforest treehouse and your good friends guest room at the same time. It's gorgeous yet intimate and peaceful, and Juan Carlos is an amazing host. His passion is contagious and inspiring. Santa Teresa is a must-see in Costa Rica - a great place to relax and have some fun in the sun. Alma was our favourite restaurant. They make the best mojito! I would love to go back one day.

Paulina and Scott

P.S. We got engaged while in Santa Teresa! Couldn't have picked a lovlier place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I can't rate this place enough. Not only are the rooms beautiful; but the staff were absolute heroes all week. Their advice and warm welcome was excellent. The rooms are beautiful. When I stupidly lost the key to our car rental they bent over backwards to help me solve the issue; helping me deal with the rather tricky rental company (Alamo- I do not recomend).

It has high end style in an authentic and rustic setting.

Having walked thru many other places as well I can honestly say this is the absolute best place to stay.

Thank you so much!!

Charlie M and Kate T

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I spent a whole week of summer at Canaima with my brother J, it was a long flight and then a bus and ferry to get to Santa Teresa, we were exhausted but when we arrived to the Hotel we had no question about choosing the right spot and the right place to stay! I was looking for a chill place to enjoy nature and disconnect from London´s hectic lifestyle while my brother wanted a place next to the a 'breath taking' beach to surf as much as possible. @Canaima we found that and much more, few hotels around the world has that unique style. Rooms are huge, amazing views from the cost and sea, owners are friendly and always willing to help, clean, safe, lots of small architectural details made out of stone and bamboo, hanging beds in the large terraces and a hot tub surrounded by Santa Teresa wildest nature! Definitely a place I would recommend to friends, family and colleagues.
Matias

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms on the first floor, as far as I remember there are 4 rooms per floor, the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I will come back sure!! Close to the Beach, and very beautifull hotel!!! It has been a nice experience.
I was there with my wife for a week and it was our first time in Costa Rica and visit other places, But the beach of santa Teresa Its one of the most beautifull of the country

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I celebrate my birthday with friends And family. I will never forget this increible hotel and vacations.
Location close to nature and the beach.
Confortable and clean room and bathroom.
Incredible the nights and the Jacuzzi :-)
Hope I can be back Soon.

Awesome! Thank again Canaima!
Samuel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "rustic boutique hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our "pillow swimming pool".Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 Suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services- Cocktail and smoothie bar- Room service breakfast (optional) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaima Chill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.