We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfect! I recomend ir 100%” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaima Chill House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Canaima Chill House to your Saves list
Canaima Chill House
400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
1 review
“Absolute perfect! I recomend ir 100%”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I will come back sure!! Close to the Beach, and very beautifull hotel!!! It has been a nice experience.
I was there with my wife for a week and it was our first time in Costa Rica and visit other places, But the beach of santa Teresa Its one of the most beautifull of the country

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    17
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
114
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I celebrate my birthday with friends And family. I will never forget this increible hotel and vacations.
Location close to nature and the beach.
Confortable and clean room and bathroom.
Incredible the nights and the Jacuzzi :-)
Hope I can be back Soon.

Awesome! Thank again Canaima!
Samuel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were excited to stay here because of the TA ratings and the lovely pictures. The sad truth of this place is that, while it still looks very nice, it is waaayyyyy up the mountain. The climb is extremely steep which isnt that bad if you're up for a big workout every time you go back to your place but it is extremely inconvenient. Packing a full day bag every time you leave is not very fun...especially since it means that someone has to watch it while you're in the water. Furthermore, the sound proofing in the hotel is awful. We could hear people's conversations even if they were talking softly... not the right place if you want romantic privacy... or any privacy for that matter. Most of the time we had to whisper so not to disturb our neighbors... or let them in on our conversations.

We elected to leave after 2 days of this torture... and the owner would not refund any money even though it was peak season and lots of people were around looking for rooms.. all in all it was a terrible experience and i would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canaimachillhouse, Owner at Canaima Chill House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, we are very sorry to hear that your stay didn't go as good as you planned it. We apologise for the inconveniences.

I just wanted to suggest that when you are travelling and booking a hotel, you should get informed about where exactly the place is located. We do give precise directions on our website and acknowledge our future clients about the hill recommending them to rent all track vehicle. And if indeed you read our reviews on Trip Advisor, as you mentioned it, many of our guests talk about the hill and give their own recommendations. So it shouldn't have been a surprise.

About the noises and privacy, it is the location up the hill that keeps us away from the main noisy dusty road and town, making Canaima Chill House a magical place where outside the rooms the sounds of the nature and our sounds travel easily. The building of the hotel itself was built with anti-seismic walls, which are thick and resistant, which also make them soundproof. The outdoor decks are indeed outside, open to the jungle, and only a bamboo curtain separate one deck to the other - just like shown in our pictures.

About not returning your deposit, if you read our cancellation policy, we should have charged you the amount of your entire reserved stay, BUT we only charged you the days you stayed with us no more.

Once again, we want to apologise for not making your stay as you expected.

Pura Vida

Juan Carlos Lascaray
Owner and manager of Canaima Chill House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have been there in September 2012 for 5 nights. The hotel is not directly on the beach but a little bit up the hill (5 min. walk to the beach). The owner, a spanish guy who moved to Costa Rica to fulfill his dream of his own hotel was very helpful and was very keen on his guests to feel comfortable. You can feel the passion that has been put in the hotel when being built. Unfortunately some things should be fixed or renewed again.
The rooms with a nice atmosphere are quite big and have private bathroom, shower, fully equiped kitchen, iPod-docking-station, private terasse with table, chairs and a bed hanging down from the ceiling. It so is the perfect place to relax yourself (that's what the name says). There is no AC, but under the mosquito-nets over the bed there is a fan for a cool night. There are several geckos taking care about the insects, yelling from time to time. If you want to have breakfast you have to tell them the afternoon before, it will cost you $ 10 (we never had breakfast, but bought something for ourselves at the supermarket). Otherwise there a several Supermarkets, Cafés and Restaurants in walking distance (The manager has some good advices where to go).
We have arrived one day after a bigger earthquake (7.6 on Richter scale), which was the reason why it was not possible to use the pool - we though could use the hot-tub. Due to the damages from the quake the road was affected, especially on the day after arrival when it was raining for 16 hours. We were a little worried that there could be a landslide because of the loose ground due to the main earthquake and the multiple daily occuring aftershocks, especially then when there was no electricity one night. The manager was reassuring himself that night, that we feel comfortable, he came to our room asking us if we needed anything, before he again took care about the hotel (draining the water around it).
All in all we enjoyed our stay, still our room could have been a little bit cleaner, we also did not like the real low water pressure when taking a shower and the blocked sink of the shower. While my girlfriend enjoyed the presence of the two german shepard-dogs, I kind of did not really like those smelly but well-tempered dogs (if you don't want to have them around, just tell them to leave).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here two nights (kicking ourselves for not staying longer) and could not have been more pleased. AMAZING rooms with a huge front porch area (including a hanging bed), you can make it as open-air a possible. Could not believe how the place looked...it was like something out of dream. Absolutely gorgeous bungalows on top of a hill. Yes, it is a little bit of a hike, but my fiance and I managed to hike up and down on foot many times. Lord knows we could use the exercise! If a hike isn't your thing, get the atv. You'll need it to explore/get the most out of your trip anyway!

Another thing...the customer service is absolutely top-notch. Super attentive and friendly staff, not to mention Juan is such an amazing host. He gave us so many spot-on, fantastic recommendations for dinner/things to do. Even suggested a quick trail/hike up the mountain, that my fiance proposed to me on!

Can't thank this place enough for showing us such an amazing experience. Completely out of this world. There are a few great places to stay in the area, make this your #1 to check out!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have to say that this would not have been on my list when I visited Costa Rica recently. However a friend of a friend insisted we go there and I am glad we listened and made the reservation ahead of time. Santa Teresa is a surf town with beaches and is on the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula about 5 hours from San Jose by car and ferry. It is not the easiest place to find or to get to but once we were there, we didn't want to leave. Juan Carlos has created a haven that would be enjoyable anywhere but here it is 1st class. The road is bumpy and I'm not sure I even wanted to go there but now I am trying to figure out a way to create a hanging bed where I live. The have one on the open deck overlooking the pool and as I was swinging back and forth reading and relaxing, I found myself wanting to move there. It is clean, Juan Carlos and staff provide 5 star service and will help in any way possible. Using the enormous shower with a view of the jungle surrounding was heaven. I wanted to have one of these at my house. It is open air if you choose and I realized as I was there why they call it the Chill House. I was more relaxed than I had been in years. A little out of the way but well worth it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are similar.......there isn't a workout facility but if you walk into town for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just completed 4 months of travelling around the world including South America, Costa Rica, California and Hawaii. The Canaima Chill House is the only place I stayed at where I have been motivated enough to write a review.

From the moment we walked in the door we had a truly amazing experience. Juan(owner), Lexi and their staff drop everything and go out of their way to make sure that you have a great time. On the first afternoon they even invited us down to a local bar to meet some of their friends, which really set the tone of how our stay was going to be like. As soon as you asked any of the staff a question, they would pick up the phone and get you what you needed.

Juan is also a fantastic surf instructor, super patient with my girlfriend who was learning for the first time and taught me a lot handy new tips even though I have surfed for quite some time.

The other thing I have to mention is the design, which is a real little paradise. What I love is that Juan designed the place from scratch from top to bottom. The rooms are amazing, it was so nice relaxing on the day bed or swimming in the pool.

We were so sad to leave, but will definitely be going back.

Justin Stafford

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "rustic boutique hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our “pillow swimming pool”.Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services- Cocktail and smoothie bar- Room service breakfast (optional) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaima Chill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.