We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place with relaxt atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaima Chill House

Save Saved
You added Canaima Chill House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canaima Chill House
400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful place with relaxt atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

beautiful place with pool and style in the heart of santa teresa
nice appartments with big white beds very romantic for 2 people or cool and cosy place for 3 or 4 people / friends
quit and peaceful place
the price is also awesome. 100 dollar per night is nothing for such a cool place
very ambitious and funny owner
for us the best place to stay in santa teresa
10 POINTS

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    17
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
114
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

As a couple staying the entire week at the chill house we had, overall, an excellent stay. We arranged the adventure package ahead of time and it turned out great. Also it was lucky that we stayed an addtional two days to enjoy all the activities included with plenty of time to chill. Breakfast unfortunely wasn't available but was deducted from our package with no hassle and many apologies -- this actually turned out to be great because I prefer a big breakfast anyway and it was nice to cook up some eggs and bacon and sip coffee on our amazing private deck.

With the low season starting up there weren't that many people around most of the week and that made for great little parties we had around the pool all by ourselves. The rooms were great as well (we stayed in a smaller room): very spacious, beautiful decor and a complete kitchen. One small thing, we felt some shelves would have been nice to store clothes other than in the closet to have some air circulating. Most nights it was great to chill by the pool but the hot tub doesn't work which really sucked the last two nights the temperature dipped a little.

The woman who kept our room did a fantastic job and even did all of our messy breakfast dishes. Tip her well!

Like some other reviewers have noted, our kitchen knife was super dull, the shower head was half-clogged, and the soap was empty. We didn't complain about any of those things so I don't know what the response would have been. The service was what you would expect in general except for an off-putting comment about being a typical north american (from the desk staff, kids will be kids!). And like another reviewer mentioned it would be nice to have some water in the room daily (especially since we got a package-maybe for next time juan carlos?)

All that being said anything negative I've mentioned are just really small things compared to what a great time we had and how inspirational it was to get to know Juan Carlos a little and get to hear some of his great story and how the Chill House was created. He is a super nice guy who drove me back and forth a few times to town to sort out some banking and just generally hooked us up with great excursions and a wonderful Costa Rican experience. Nevermind the recommendation to take our fresh catch from sport fishing to Alma for easily one of the best meals I've had. I've never seen 4 otherwise sophisticated people reduced to ravenous savages over a gourmet meal.

My only regret of the whole trip was that I missed my last surf lesson due to exhaustion and weather.

Muchas Gracias

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our stay at Canaima Chill House was perfection in paradise! We were a group of 12 and Juan Carlos and Alex could not have been better hosts to us!

The hotel itself is amazing! The rooms are huge and the chill decks are amazing. It felt like sleeping in a luxury treehouse. The showers were great and after attracting all the dust from the town below, a welcomed treat upon return to the hotel.

They helped us organize our excursions, gave us surf lessons, and coordinated our ATV rentals. The location is perfect and we really enjoyed every minute there! :)

On behalf of all 12 of us, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.. small and big groups alike.

PURA VIDA!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Canaima Chill House is a beautiful boutique hotel with the atmosphere of an hostel (relaxed, friendly) and the amenities of an hotel (beautiful rooms, quiet, ipod music station, locker, breakfast possibilities).

The most friendly people at the receptiondesk will help you with everything and give very good suggestions for places to hang out on the beach or have drinks or dinner. Every lunch and dinner we tried a different place (following their suggestions) and we were pleasantly surprised every time.

Proper and fun surf lessons can be provided by the very kind owner (Juan Carlos).

A little away from the main road (steep walk) but definitely worth the walk (even better with a car). We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose one on the second floor (more secluded) and in the back of the building (away from the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Canaima Chill House for a week and we absolutely loved it!! It is a peaceful, quiet oasis located on top of the hill away from the busy road. Alex and Ana at the front desk are very helpful- anything you need just ask them!! We loved hearing all the wildlife and were not bothered by any bugs or critters. The mosquito net was helpful (mentally- knowing nothing was on us haha) but we didn't really need it as there weren't many mosquitos. The only time the mosquitos came out was the night that it rained (it usually doesn't rain this time of year though). We did not mind not having a vehicle (we are both in our early 20's- so we enjoyed the exercise and challenge of walking up the big hill!) but if you are not up for walking that much then you will need a SUV/4X4. We walked up/down the hill on average 3-4 times a day to go to the beach and to town. If you are going in the wet/rainy season, you will absolutely need a vehicle, as the hill is a dirt road, turning into a mud slide when it rains (trust me, we experienced this walking one night! haha). We rented an ATV for the day and travelled to Montezuma for the zipline tour which worked out well and was fun.We tried surfing with Juan Carlos and that was so much fun too. The local restaurants are excellent and have all kinds of food to choose from. Try Zwart- owned by a lady from Toronto, great burritos, coffee, and smoothies! We took a shuttle from San Jose to Santa Teresa, which took a very long time, but it was nice to see the surrounding area. I think from now on we will fly SANSA into tambor however, as it is a very long trek by shuttle now that we have experienced it once. I would highly recommend staying at the Canaima Chill House, we can't wait to get back!! Playa Santa Teresa is one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. We ran into a number of people from the US who yearly rent houses down there specifically for this beach!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel is just amazing. It is not costly but is perfectly decorated. Clean, quiet and really nice. Personnel treatment is wonderful. 100% recommended.

Tip: you need a 4x4 car to reach this hotel. Getting to Santa Teresa is pretty complicated, the road is on terrible shape and this hotel is located on 1the top of a hill, so is it even worse.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at Canaima recently for 5 nights. Juan Carlos was great upon check-in, although we didn't get to know him much since he was away on business for the rest of our stay. That being said Ana and Alex were both fantastic!! They were friendly, informative and very helpful in every way.

Overall we thought Canamia was great and while we have no complaints we do have some suggestions for Juan Carlos.

The Good:

The location is fantastic. Yes the hill is a bit of a trek on foot, but it is worth it to get off the dusty main road and off into the quiet of the hills. Expect the roosters, howlers and dogs to be your alarm clock. No problems though.

The staff are great. Very helpful and very friendly.

The rooms are very nice and a very good value.

The "Suggestions":

The rooms were clean, but the day to day cleaning was not what you would normally expect. Each room has a kitchenette. The second day we arrived back from the beach to find our room "cleaned", yet the 2 glasses we used the night before were not cleaned but placed in the sink for us to clean. The bathroom was fairly clean when we arrived but I don't think it was cleaned the entire time we were there (although it was "tideyed"). The soap dispenser in the shower was empty when we arrived and it took 2 days before it was refilled (after we asked Alex to handle it for us).

Having a full kitchen was fantastic. However the knifes in the rooms were very dull and made basic cooking a bit of a challenge. However, we asked Alex for a sharper knife and he found us one (great service once again).

It would be nice if Canaima supplied a bottle of water or two each day in the fridge.


We were very happy with our stay. Juan Carlos is a few small tweaks away from making this place REALLY spectacular.

Pura Vida!!

Room Tip: top rooms have a loft and higher ceilings but may cost slightly more
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "rustic boutique hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our “pillow swimming pool”.Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services- Cocktail and smoothie bar- Room service breakfast (optional) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaima Chill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.