We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Santa Teresa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canaima Chill House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canaima Chill House to your Saves list
Canaima Chill House
400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in Santa Teresa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Canaima Chill House was a great place to stay our entire 10 days in Costa Rica. It was luxurious and peaceful, yet still social when I wanted it to be. I traveled with my best friend and we are in our early thirties--too old to party all night but too young to not want some social interactions. The Canaima was perfect for this because you can hang out on your own private deck if you want some privacy (even pull the curtains yet still feel the breeze) or go out on the public deck with the pool to meet some people or have a beer. It gets quiet around 9pm there, so its easy to get up early and have a surf session just down the road. The kitchens are perfect, because we saved a lot of money cooking some of our own meals, but were close enough to go out to eat as well. The staff are amazing...they help you out in planning a day, giving restaurant advice or telling you where to go have fun. The pool is the best when you walk up the dusty hill to get to the Canaima--so relaxing and cool! The jungle atmosphere is perfect when wanting to get off the strip of Santa Teresa and into some shade and comfort. The hill up to the hotel is steep, so if you aren't ready for that, rent a 4-Wheeler. We didn't have the breakfast that is optional and served by the hotel, but friends we meet said it was great! Also, I took surf lessons from Juan Carlos and he is fantastic--whether you are a beginner or more advanced, he can help. In general, I can't say enough good things about this place...I will be coming again and again because it really is the best place in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    19
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
126
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Every detail of this hotel is beautiful and well tended to... the solid wood floors and beams, the gauzy curtains, the amazing new pool, the uber friendly and helpful staff and management... we spent two wonderful weeks at Canaima Chill House and definitely would recommend it!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stared our Costa Rica adventure in Santa Teresa - definitely the right decision. The Canaima Chill House more than exceeded our expectations, it was beautifully designed and very in keeping with the environment - a real luxury retreat. The staff are very helpful and Juan Carlos is clearly passionate about what he has created. Yes there is a hill and yes you do have to walk up it (or get a taxi) but it really isn´t a problem. The breakfast is lovely and delivered to your patio area which has a very relaxing ´hanging bed´. Santa Teresa itself is a relaxed surfers place but the beach is beautiful also to non-surfers. Juan Carlos is also a surf instructor and we sampled a lesson - great fun. We would certainly recommend the Zwart Cafe for breakfast and lunch it´s very close to the hotel.
Finally, if you´re looking for a late night party this is not the place to go. It´s all about surfing, beach life and healthy eating (although you can of course get a delicous pizza!).

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Canaima Chill House is a beautiful tropical hideaway and a wonderful Costa Rica experience. Beautiful rooms and each with a big outdoor porch/patio that's great for "chilling." Juan Carlos and Carolina are delightful hosts and most helpful. The hotel is located up a steep, bumpy road -- definitely need a 4-wheel-drive -- but being off the main road means less noise and dust. And bring your own provisions -- no breakfast is served but there is a kitchenette in each room with fridge and coffeemaker.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

The rooms and grounds of this place are really incredible—spotless, stylish, luxurious, integrated into the jungle environment yet sufficiently bug-proof. For the price you can't beat it. It is somewhat of a laborious uphill walk to the place, especially at night. Bring a flashlight and enjoy the mountain breeze at night. The $7 continental breakfast, brought to your room, is great (yogurt, fruit, toast, coffee, fresh squeezed juice). Owner Juan Carlos is awesome—I took a $35 introductory private surf lesson from him and he is a superb teacher. A five minute walk up the hill from here is Gumbo Limbo, an incredible Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

You hear a lot of stigmas about Central America, about Costa Rica, about having, as a tourist, to remain vigilant and keep an eye on your stuff. All these stigmas tend to take away from your expectations as it did mine. When I got to the Canaima Chill House, I was completely put at ease. The house is a bungalow in the jungle with communal hot tub and Juan Carlos and staff run the place like the Hyatt in Paris (where he used to work according to the 'about the house' book at the foot of the bed). You want an ATV? they'll arrange it for you. Restaurant recommendations? You got it. How about a surf lesson? Juan Carlos can hook you up, maybe even teach you one himself. Eventhough you're not separated by much more than a wall of bamboo and a roll down blanket, the place remains fairly quiet and does the trick for that jungle getaway.

Some folks may not dig the uphill climb it takes to get to the house, but its totally walkable to and from the beach/town/restaurants, etc. Just be sure to do it before or a bit after noon as not to catch the sneaky harsh sun.

PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Canaima Chill House is a hidden Costa Rican treasure. Fantastic owners and excellent service. We stayed for 5 days, and it was the most relaxing vacation of our life. We plan to go back this year, Canaima Chill House will be our choice once again! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#3 of 30 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "rustic boutique hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our "pillow swimming pool".Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 Suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services- Cocktail and smoothie bar- Room service breakfast (optional) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaima Chill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.