We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation, family atmosphere, luxury view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cacique

Villa Cacique
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Villa Cacique
Save Saved
You added Villa Cacique to your Saves list
Main Street, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Soller, Spain
1 review
“Excellent accomodation, family atmosphere, luxury view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Enjoying the view of the pacific ocean as well as the whole bay of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa may be the greatest asset of this accomodation. Guided by a feeling of being welcome from the first moment the stay offers all opportunities from relaxing to adventure Holidays.
Accomodation and service on European standard in combination with the perfectly situated location lead to an excellent grading.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Santa Teresa's best kept secret is out... Villas Cacique is hands down THE BEST place to stay if you want amazing panoramic ocean views, immaculately cleaned rooms with the largest bed in town, a full kitchen, infinity pool (for use by guests), and the most incredible hosts ever, Patrick and Susana! I almost don't want anyone to know how incredible this place is for fear of it being fully booked next time we come down =(
It would be impossible to not be impressed with the view and the quality of the guest accomodations... but my husband and I are in the hospitality business and work for The Ritz Carlton, and we know that it is the HOSPITALITY that sets a place apart from the rest... Patrick and Susana were more like friends than hosts and we never wanted for anything! We have lived in the Santa Teresa/ Mal Pais area and know of nearly every hotel in town... and we can say without a doubt that this is THE place to stay. Be certain to book a horseback riding tour with their daughter, Sandra; she runs Sunrise Ranch and will take you on an incredible mountain or beach ride that you are sure not to forget! Oh... and by the way... you get all of these amazing amenities at an UNBEATABLE VALUE.

Oh... and QUAD or CAR RENTAL is essential unless you w
ant an awesome workout daily up the steep hill! If Maria, the houskeeper, can do it on foot daily... I suppose it is possible... but she is an extraordinary lady herself! They have quad rental on site if needed... so rent with them =)

We miss you already Patrick and family...can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in Villa Cacique end of April and had a great time. We actually only found this place by incident, as there is no large sign at the main street. Patrick and Susanna (from Austria) are really nice people and know the area very well! As this place only has very few rooms and the owner only recently started to receive guests you really get treated like friends or family. The place ticks all the boxes in terms of cleanness etc of course.

But there is more! The view from the balcony is breath taking and we really enjoyed cooking in the open (fully equipped) kitchen. It is also a very quite place, as you are up the hill and can escape the dusty main road of Santa Teresa. We are sure this place will be one of the top rated places in Santa Teresa, as it is also great value for money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

As usual in Costa Rica the road to the house is very steep but it is absolutely worth the effort. I loved the house as well as the German owners from the very first second. We have been ther twice – once for a Bavarian evening, and once we have been so lucky that they have done their fabulous pizza (they have an own pizza oven next to the pool !). The view is phantastic – you are looking down to Santa Teresa and the fabulous beach. The house, the rooms, the pool – everything is well kept and extremely inviting, the atmosphere is very cosy – you belong to the family. When we go to Costa Rica next year we will defintitely stay there for a couple of weeks, this place is too good to miss. Sorry for my enthusiasm but I have also seen other places there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stood in st. teresa for a week and we loved the stay in this guesthouse. the house is located on a hill with a magnificent view to the whole beaches of malpais and st. teresa. the rooms are very clean, the owner very nice and the pool is also great included the view to the coastline!
we highly recommend this house for a relaxing and quiet stay and we will be back for sure next year - pura vida!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I have been in St Teresa 3 times now and I always end up staying in this fantastic house on the hill, with the most amazing view over St Teresa. I just love the fresh air up there and Manfred and Albertine (who owns Villa Cacique and the guesthouse) are so genuine and friendly. They let you swim in their pool (if you are staying in the guesthouse), surprises you with home made pizza and always ask if you want a ride down the hill.

The kitchen is simple but have all the things you need and the terrace is nicely furnished with a large wooden table and hammocks. The bedrooms are bright, the bathrooms modern and clean.

The first year I stayed here with five of my friends and this time it was only me and my boyfriend. The house is perfect for any occasion and the price is very good. I really recommend this place and I am sure I will come back in the near future.

Pura vida!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provincetown
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I'm surprised this place doesn't have a bunch of great reviews already...people must be keeping it a secret, because it is a gorgeous place to stay. My girlfriend and I booked it for a week (and they asked for no deposit and gave us a great deal). We ended up staying longer. It has sweeping views of the Pacific, an incredible outdoor kitchen and shared veranda with an outdoor bed, hammocks and a picnic table. We felt there could be more privacy to one of the rooms by adding curtains that worked better, but we got along great with the people we shared the veranda with. It would be perfect for a group of 4 who want two rooms. The first night we got there we were invited up to the main house and we were fed pizza after pizza from an outdoor wood stove. It was so nice as we'd traveled all day to get there and we were really hungry. There is also an infinity pool at the main house that they let us swim in when they weren't there. The owners were helpful and kind and generous with there time and space.
I highly suggest renting an ATV or a car for the time you're there unless you love climbing. The hill up to the house is STEEP, but it makes it wonderfully close to the beach and you can watch the surfers from the comfort of the veranda. The ATV is also good for exploring other beaches and Montezuma.
Buy you're beer in Cobano, it's 1/3 of the price, though you can find just about anything you need in Santa Teresa. As much as we love to dine out, it was more enjoyable to cook in an outdoor, open kitchen and make stuff we liked. We did like Kika, though, right at the bottom of the hill.
Pia, an expert on the area, lives in the guest house (underneath the rentals) and gives wonderful advice and is lovely to talk to. We miss her--Hi Pia!--and think she is a great asset to Villa Cacique.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cacique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cacique

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa cacique is perched right above the surf beach of Playa Santa Teresa, offering panoramic views of the beaches as far as Mal Pais and Cabo Blanco.The guest house offers 4 bright and spacious rooms on two levels, equipped with a king size bed, fan and private bathroom. Guest can use the fully equipped communal kitchen and living area with hammocks, sofa and table on the large covered ocean view terace.Casa Cacique is very safe and tranquil, reached on a private concrete driveway up the hill. A caretaker looks over the property. Fast wireless internet, parking area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Cacique Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cacique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;