We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It made me delay my return ticket” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifica Surf Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pacifica Surf Studios
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
1 review
“It made me delay my return ticket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had a wonderful time in Santa Teresa together with Simone and loads of new friends!
It's the best matching reality to a dream..
Pacifica Surf studios is sited with access through Santa's main road, close to a market and an amazing bar. It's far enough not to hear noises and parties from the more crowded area of the village but not too far to rich the banks and amenities within ten mins walk..
The direct access to the beach is extremely amazing and unique for those used to skyscrapers and fake beaches...
Enjoy it all!
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    20
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
46
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in June with our 11mth old son. The location is ideal as it is steps from the ocean, (especially nice on the early morning surf checks), it's off the main road so it is nice and quiet and it's close to the shops, restaurants and grocery stores,

The studio rooms are large! Lots of floor space and very very clean. Each room has A/C, hot water, a huge king size bed, small couch (that turns into a sleeper bed) and a single bed - the kitchen is equipped with everything you need. The pool (no shallow end) is right out front of the door and surrounded by trees and to our little ones delight, iguanas!

Simone is wonderful and very helpful making sure you are comfortable and have everything you need.

Also, nice that there is ATV rentals and a surf school right there.

The surf is beach break offering lots of options for everyone and the beach is very baby friendly.

We will definitely go here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you're coming to Santa Teresa to surf, you've found the right place! Pacifica Surf Studios are on the beach side of the road, nestled in the trees away from the road, and just a few dozen steps to the sand on the south end of Playa Santa Teresa. The lineups at the south end of the beach are mellower and less crowded, but if you want to strut your stuff at La Lora, it's just a few minutes' walk up the beach. ATV rentals are available onsite if you'd like to hit spots further afield. I rented one on a day when ST was closing out, and scored some perfect lefts at Los Cedros, down near Montezuma.

The rest my 9-day visit, I spent in a contented haze, surfing every day at Santa Teresa, and in between sessions, relaxing in my hammock or by the clean and inviting pool (there's also an outdoor shower by the pool, for rinsing off the salt and sand). I loved having the kitchenette and a supermarket nearby, so I didn't have to eat out for every meal, but there were a number of restaurants within easy walking distance whenever I felt like dining out. There are also several surf shops nearby for all of your equipment and apparel needs.

The property itself is top-notch. I had an upstairs studio that was clean and well-maintained, with high ceilings, A/C, a ceiling fan, and a big, comfy bed. The kitchenette was equipped with a hot plate, coffee maker, toaster oven, mini-fridge and a sink, as well as some dishes, utensils, pots and pans. My semi-private deck (separated by bamboo shades from my neighbors) had a hammock, and a nice table and chairs where I ate breakfast and lunch most days. The landscaping was attractive and well-kept. My room was cleaned every day, including fresh towels and sheets.

I highly recommend Pacifica Surf Studios for serious surfers who want a place with some style and comfort. Give my regards to Coco!

Room Tip: The upstairs (panorama) studios are worth a little extra for the high ceilings and extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed in Pacifica Surf Studios this Feb for a couple of weeks.
It is 100% the best place in Santa Teresa!
Simone the owner of the hotel was very kind and helped with everything from surfing lessons to restaurant recommendations .
The room was very clean and comfortable(with a good a/c) .
The hotel is located 2 minute from the beach which was very convenient. The best service, wonderful room, Everything was just perfect !
Can't wait to go back there next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Pacifica Surf Studios a couple of weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. The studios are in a perfect location for both beach and amenities and they are set around a lovely pool area, surrounded by trees. The studios are equipped with kitchens, hot water and A/C, they are cleaned daily and were a pleasure to stay in. Pacifica also offers a surf school and board hire (which we took advantage of) along with travel information and other services. The owner, Simone and the rest of the staff were all really friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
Pacifica surf studios was the last stop of our 2 month trip and the place we enjoyed staying the most. We absolutely loved Santa Teresa and will definitely be returning for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Pacific Surf Studios and won't be our last with a bit of luck! The studios are well styled, and give you a great place to relax after surf lessons - an activity that is both really rewarding and yet utterly frustrating at times. Availing yourself of an instructor makes all the difference

We loved having a place to consider home, with a proper kitchen and a nicely private outdoor area for meals and the odd snooze on the hammock

Our room was cleaned daily and the grounds staff actively tended to the pool area. There was ways someone one hand to sort surfboards and help with arrangements. Having used one of their discounted ATVs to explore a little of Santa Teresa and Pal Mai we're convinced we made an excellent choice.

We'll also miss Coco the Doberman! - great companion for our many trips to the beach and the local shops.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Pacifica a few years ago and enjoyed it so we booked our room there again,,,, we were very disappointed with how run down the place has become... the grounds, the pool, and the cleaning service. There was dog poo everywhere including a few feet from the pool which stayed there for a fews days before anyone decided to clean it up. There was an empty can of tuna fish (gross) on one of the table near the pool that remained there all week! We were unable to use outdoor shower because it was covered in bees. We actually bought our own cleaning supplies and cleaned our room just so we could feel comfortable. Again, such a difference in a few short years....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificasurfstudios, Owner at Pacifica Surf Studios, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are very diligent, especially during our peak months; and despite the challenges of studio living in a tropical environment, we ensure our property is maintained and manicured as best of possible. As a reminder, our studios are fully booked during the early year, and no other guests ever mentioned the issues you cited, nor have they in the past (please reference other reviews from the same period of your trip). I am on-site daily, living here during this very busy and full season, and would never allow nor tolerate the property to be in a condition you described (again, reference companion reviews for corroboration). Regarding one of your primary concerns: There is no way to have an outdoor rinsing shower near our pool, in the middle of a juggle, in the height of the dry season without attracting various wild life who themselves haven't access to fresh water as they do here near the beach. Santa Teresa is not an urban geography. There will be an interaction with wild life that is simply unavoidable - like seeing iguanas and birds sharing a drink in the puddles underneath the fresco shower spot. Withstanding, along with my staff, our primary objective is to consistently provide you with a beautifully memorable surfing experience, accommodation and holiday. We simply live among nature, and will not kill or destroy the environment which hosts us on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacifica Surf Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Surf Studios

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Also Known As:
Pacifica Surf Studios Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacifica Surf Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pacifica Surf Studios to your Saves list