We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifica Surf Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pacifica Surf Studios to your Saves list
Pacifica Surf Studios
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the pacifica surf studios for 2 weeks and it was absolutely brilliant! Our room was very big, always clean, there was daily cleaning and the bed is super comfy. We had a ground floor room with a nice terrace with a hammock just steps away from the pool. The wonderful beach is within less than a minute by foot and the place is just in the center of the village. Bars, restaurants and a grocery store are within less than 200 meters. The staff is very helpful, always friendly and the athmosphere is laid back and familiar.
Whatever you want to do, they will help you to organize it. Rent a quad, organize a shuttle to the airport or plan daily trips... If you haven't been a surfer yet, you have to take surf lessons at pacifica. The instructors were very friendy and helpful as well, so we had a blast!
We enjoyed our two weeks in santa teresa as much as we could have and we will definetly stay at Pacifica the next time we will be in the area! Which is hopefully soon..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    20
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
16
48
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 6 nights at Pacifica, out of the two weeks and 4 different hostels this was by far the best. It was affordable, clean and right near the beach. The owner and his staff were very helpful and set us up with tours, transportation, surfing lessons and board rentals. The cleaning lady came through everyday and tidied up the place and gave us new towels. We are definitely planning on returning here sometime in the future. If your planning a trip to Santa Teresa, stay at Pacifica Studios. You will not regret it.

Pura Vida!

Room Tip: always start low :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Simon, the owner of Pacifica Surf Studios, did everything to make our week long surf trip amazing. The studios are less than a minutes walk away from the beautiful, clean, pristine beach. The water is sky blue and the sands are what you'd imagine when you think of a tropical paradise.
The studios themselves are very clean, modern, and have air-conditioning. Our unit had a refrigerator, kitchenette, and huge private deck that faced the pool and ocean. There was never an issue about safety but the room had a safe for our passports and cash.
The surf classes were great. Small, private and very effective. I learned the basics from waxing a board to how to get in line for the waves. Beginner to advanced riders would all benefit from the classes. They have all the equipment you will need to ride whatever kind of wave is out there. I have tons of video!
Santa Theresa is a quaint village. There are lots of great restaurants walking distance from the Studios. You will need a car or ATV if you want to explore farther out of town. Simon and the staff at Pacifica Surf Studios were very helpful with restaurant and trip recommendations.
Overall, I rate this place a 10 out of 10. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Amazing Studio with all we needed, great staff, peace and quiet. There is a nice clean pool and a great space outside surrounding by costarican nature!!
The surf break is really good and there is plenty of surf in the area for all levels. The beach is awesome and is only few seconds walking. We had a lot of fun and relax, good food and good people, specially all the staff always available for every our request. We suggest this place in Santa Teresa!! have fun

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My Husband and I picked PSS after looking at so many different places to stay. We weren't interested in Hostels and wasnted a little more freedom from an Inn with very few ammenities. We were so happy with PSS and we can't wait to go back next year. The rooms were clean and off the main road. We first thought the foot traffic to the beach would be invasive but it never was. We have a small but very workable kitchen and a pation to relax in. The manager was friendly and took care of getting us fantastic surf instructors. The pool was great and we had some great wildlife viewings. Coco the dog was so cute and frindly. The one thing we didn't realize is that the hotel is Cash Only - so that was a bit tricky since we were pretty much charging everything. The A/C unit worked well and we just had a lovely time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Simon was a truly great host. His dog Coco is one of the friendliest dobermans i have ever met. Coco is both friendly to and protective of all the hotel guests. The hotel is truly a lush paradise, the pictures on the website simply dont do the hotel justice. The staff are all friendly, there are enough staff that speak both spanish and english that even if you dont speak spanish there is someone there that will understand you. Chinos is located right in the hotel grounds its a nice little snack/food type little tienda. Chino himself is very friendly and more like a concierge than anything. Getting directions to places to eat, stores, anywhere you were trying to go was easily obtained from any staff member and simon gives personal surf lessons in addition to instructing yoga, and water pilates. And he rents surfboards. This wasn't my first trip to costa rica but definitly the best i've had. and pacifica surf studios made it great. After a long day in the heat having air conditioning is a must. The beds are huge and it just made the experience. I truly believe that anyone going to santa theresa needs to stay here rates are reasonable and theres no other place like it there!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Me and my girl stayed at Pacifica Surf Studios for 3 weeks last February (2011).

The studios are the perfect location to be for who's looking to surf at the beautiful Santa Teresa beach: just 30 meters from the sea, immersed in a beautiful tropical garden where you can spot birds, iguanas and monkeys, and out from the dust of the main unpaved road, this "tropical oasis" was for us an amazing place that will be hard to forget!

Boards and bikes can be rented directly at the studios, which have a surf school too. The staff (Simone and Peppe) has been really helpful and friendly, Simone (the owner) is a very good surfer living in Costa Rica since 10 years now.

We booked just one week out of three at first, as we usually prefer to try the places and not being bound to the first for the full vacation. After visiting other accommodations in Santa Teresa, we just spent our other two weeks there.

Pacifica is the place we'll go again if we'll be back to Santa Teresa. Really advised!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacifica Surf Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Surf Studios

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pacifica Surf Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Surf Studios Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacifica Surf Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.