We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE PACIFIC DREAMS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Dreams

Pacific Dreams
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pacific Dreams
Save
You added Pacific Dreams to your Saves list
200 Oeste de Hermosa Valley School | Playa Hermosa, San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I LOVE PACIFIC DREAMS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Without a doubt one of my favorite places on this planet. I have spent much of my life hunting down surf and beautiful beaches and this makes the top 3 of my list. Couple that with an incredible, family like community at Pacific Dreams and you can expect to experience a vacation unlike any other.

Really cannot say enough about the location and the Meares family that owns the property.

Highly recommend. Just leave room for us to come back:)!!!

LOVE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in the almendro home right on the beach, my children learned to surf and all of us had an amazing time! the home was extremely comfortable, clean and spacious. The property was untouched and we felt as if we truly were on an island paradise. The beach was clean and safe and the surf was fantastic, especially for a 7 and 9 year old to learn in the beach break. I absolutely reccomend this property for anyone who wants to escape and have the sense of "living" in paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We arrived at Pacific Dreams (located near Mal Pais at Santa Teresa on the Nicoya Peninsula) after dark - as we stepped beyond the coconut treeline the moonlight shone on divine white sand making the clear night remarkably luminescent. Teeming with life we could hear and feel, the night beach at Pacific Dreams summoned awe - yet there remained the mystery of what we would see under the light of the sun.

The mountain crabs, out for their evening strolls, are the first wildlife to welcome us - their scurrying claws creating much of the wonder of what lies behind all the unseen signs and sounds of life. They are so abundant that one gets the sense that this is a place where the many living beings, where nature - is simply left alone, to live.
They in turn are anxious to give way.

In the days to come we met many of their cousins - the geckos, the squirrels, the howler and the white faced monkeys, the iguanas, the hummingbirds, turkey vultures, blue jays, pelicans, bats, blackbirds, toucans, herons...

The daytime at Pacific Dreams lived up to the anticipation.

We rose to the howls of the monkeys (sounding much larger than they are), and the rich red light - in anticipation and realisation that one has landed in the perfect place to unwind, to let go of preoccupations, to get immersed in the local elements - we simply had to see what was out there.
If you love animals, life, and nature this is the place for you.

A comfortable and deep heat and humidity that lends itself to being absorbed in the place, in the immediacy, becomes total in a sense.

Without undue complications - a place that feels peaceful - refreshingly and relatively absent is the seemingly global machismo, present are the layers and layers of life -
what a gift to see all kinds of different life-forms - being in the obvious presence of creation.
And to feel the happiness, the relief of the body - the easing into relaxation - that the warmth and the nature inspire - we felt 10 years younger and that translated into embodiment after returning home.

It becomes so simple, the positive 'mindlessness' that can so easily be surrendered to in a place like that.

It all integrated into a changing experience - watching monkeys eat mangos, drinking water out of coconuts, feeling heated to and from the core of the body as do the (populous) iguanas, watching lightning and listening to the humbling rainfall, the sheer and superlative colour of the place, we were literally transported.
Why a person would fall in love with the place is exceedingly evident. Despite it all, and the mindset that it inspires - pura vida - it is still a place with struggles, and politics, poverty and difficult matters to address. But it is all relative. This is a place where money is spent on education and health care instead of militarization, and feels like a country that, against the grain of global culture, consciously works to maintain its civility.

This particular place is one where monkeys come to eat mangos, where children come to play and learn, and where bigger kids come to ride waves and span the space between ocean and shore. We went to Pacific Dreams to develop our yoga practice - the conditions were perfect. The choice is yours - you can enjoy the solitude or engage in a warm community.

If you are looking for a five-star experience, beside a manicured pool, with room service and the laziness of luxury, this is probably not be the place for you. Make no mistake, the accommodations are beautiful - stunning hardwood houses that are too fine and impressive to be called rustic - they are simply tasteful and unpretentious, bordering on luxury - but perhaps better described as being literally made of luxury.

The local cuisine is cosmopolitan, with a surprising range of options...or you can take care of yourself in the beautiful kitchen facilities
in the home. Regardless, it all starts with Costa Rican coffee... Step outside and there are mango trees, coconut trees, almond trees, and often monkeys feasting on them.

And what about the people?
The people are as beautiful as the place.

A smile goes a long way in Costa Rica. And there are plenty of reasons to smile. It is no wonder that settlers and visitors have come to call this place the Rich Coast.

It was simply genuinely enriching and we feel blessed to have had the experience.

Thank you David, Lizbeth and Tom - thank you Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I was amazed at how wonderful the staff at Pacific Dreams was...everyone from the property manager to the cleaning staff. Smiles were on everyone's faces and I was able to relax and enjoy walks on the beach to town. There is even an outdoor fitness center and yoga platform that is on the beach. I would highly recommend Pacific Dreams to anyone wanting an authentic, but relaxing Costa Rican experience!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

My friends and I have been going to Costa Rica for years on surf trips and until recently we have moved from place to place. Last year we rented the Teak House and the Nazareno House. We have found our home in Costa Rica. This year, with the other two houses rented out, we moved to the bigger Almedro House. Fantastic. Right on the beach, we surfed uncrowded, glassy head high waves every morning. I am ready to book all three houses for next year as it would be a great place to bring several families. Thanks to Lisbeth for all of her help. I would recommend this vacation to anyone wanting comfort and solitude off the beaten path with all of the amenities of home.

Thanks. Bruce

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Dreams

Address: 200 Oeste de Hermosa Valley School | Playa Hermosa, San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a family vacation or a business retreat, Pacific Dreams offers peace, tranquility and abundant nature on one of Costa Ricas finest beaches renowned for its great surf.Located just 7 kilometers north of the costal village of Mal Pais, right between Santa Teresa and Manzanillo, Pacific Dreams features 4 beautiful hardwood homes and great recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacific Dreams Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Dreams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.