We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenisimo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenisimo
Save
You added Hotel Buenisimo to your Saves list
100 mts south of the church, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pura Vida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Perfect vacation stay. Fantastic casita. Awesome location. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
39
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The location was perfect - close to all of the restaurants and walking distance to the most beautiful area of the string of beaches along this road. "Wave view" of the ocean. Casitas are an amazing value - you get a beautiful, private room with full cooking kitchen and huge balcony with comfy hammocks. Bathrooms are great size and beautiful. The two story casita has two bathrooms. The beautiful teak wood and well-designed windows make the rooms a joy to stay in. Charlie and Denise have obviously put a lot of thought into the design of these casitas, as they built them into the environment and did not cut down all the beautiful surroundings to create their hotel (which is why one reviewer might not have appreciated the ocean view - it's a gorgeous ocean view in my opinion, but they did build into the rainforest, so you are surrounded by the jungle, a huge plus in my opinion). Breakfast was top notch. Surfers will love this place. Couples will love this place. Adventurous families would do well in the two story casita. I loved the fact that taxes and breakfast was included, as you can expect a hefty additional charge to most of the quoted hotel prices in Costa Rica. Definitely best value, and I've stayed in the Mal Pais area before at top-rated hotels. I'll go back to Buenisimo in a heartbeat.

The best part about this hotel is that Charlie and Denise love Costa Rica and love running their hotel. Their positive attitude and enthusiasm about what they do is contagious.

The best part

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We spent 5 nights at Buenisimo during our honeymoon and loved every bit of it. The casita was very spacious with a nicely equipped efficiency kitchen and a relaxing patio with hammocks and Adirondack chairs. The interior was beautifully and naturally inspired with exposed logs/beams and wood shutters to open or close nearly all the way around the round, free-standing structure. The photos on the website are very well representative although it certainly looked nicer in person (which we didn't necessarily expect). Oh, and the outdoor shower was a pleasant surprise too.

The on-site surfboard rentals was very convenient and Charlie even let us hold on to them as we moved on to another hotel. Claudia also does a great job with a full breakfast in the mornings.

The location was great although admittedly we used out 4X4 to go everywhere so we didn't do much walking up the steep slope. There is a grocery just a few doors down and there are plenty of restaurants that are within walking and short driving distances. Charlie made good recommendations both for food and surf.

The only thing that I was somewhat disappointed about was that our casita had a fairly obscured ocean view (the 2 others seem to have a better view). I had hoped to lay in the hammock or sit in our chairs and watch the waves roll in, but there were only a couple spots from the fairly large patio from where you could see the shoreline. But still, the landscape is so beautiful that we still wanted to spend lots of time on the patio.

We had a great time, were more than comfortable and would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

This was our first time to visit the Mal Pais/Santa Teresa area and we were pleasantly surprised with Hotel Buenisimo. We really didn't know what to expect, before arriving we wondered if we would regret not staying somewhere right on the beach. We were so happy with our choice to stay at Hotel Buenisimo, especially once we started exploring the area. The casitas are clean, private, beautifully landscaped, breath taking ocean views, walking distance to the beach and the breakfast is unlike any other complimentary breakfast that I have ever received. The staff is extremely nice and very responsive to any requests that you have. Denise and Charlie, the owners of the Hotel, were extremely helpful with helping us decide what to do with our time in the area. They gave us some great tips of what to see and where to go which allowed us to have a wonderful vacation. They went out of their way to make sure everything was just right for us. Charlie was even nice enough to help us out the first day we were there when our rental car wasn't quite ready. He spent the afternoon helping us get our rental car and get to the bank. We travel quite a bit and there are very few places that I want to go back to, but Mal Pais/Santa Teresa is definitely an area we will be going back to and when we do we will stay at Hotel Buenisimo.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This is a great place to stay if you want to avoid the crowds and have tranquility. Charlie and his wife were great hosts. We stayed at one of the casitas for 4 days. If you book the Casitas, I suggest a 4x4 or ATV because the private road is rather steep. After 2 weeks of resorts and hotels, this was a nice change for us. Again, this is a place to go if you want privacy, quite and solemn tranquility.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

We were meant to stay a couple of days in a casita, but stayed a week and even then it was hard to leave!!! The casitas were perfect, with a view of sea but 5 min walk to beach, very private with kitchen, bathroom and spacious bedroom. The best part was the balcony with hammock overlooking sea and tropical garden ..we spent all our time here.
Every morning we were treated to a great breakfast and complete with great coffee, fruits (from the property), pinto, eggs and the best banana pancakes!

What really made the week so special was Charile and Denise. They were the perfect hosts, organising anything we needed (quad bike), new books to read, advice on surfing or local restaurants to eat.

After 4 months travelling, this was our favourite place. We want to go back and would definitely recommend anyone stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

exquisitely hand-crafted casitas;
magnificent ocean and sunset views;
surrounded by jungle flora and fauna;
close to all amenities;
highest possible calibre of hosts:
an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buenisimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenisimo

Address: 100 mts south of the church, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by surfers, Hotel Buenisimo is set in the low hills of Santa Teresa on the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica.We offer private casitas with beautiful white-water ocean vistas or rooms set in our lush gardens down below. All accommodations include complimentary breakfast. A short walk down the hill from Hotel Buenisimo takes you to the Pacific Ocean where you can still find secluded, pristine beaches with consistently first-rate surfing conditions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenisimo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buenisimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.