We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quality/price in santa teresa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Calocita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Calocita
Save
You added Cabinas Calocita to your Saves list
Main Street | 100m north of Super Ronny 1, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Killarney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best quality/price in santa teresa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Rooms are really good quaility. The bathroom was really clean and the best quality I've seen in Central America for the price we payed. Everything from the comfort of the matress ,to the warm shower that was powerful , the High quality fan that is nearly silent, the security . The fact that it was so clean and A Friendly owner thats a good guy and knows the area. Even thought during my trip to santa teresa, I had a really bad ear infection the whole time and couldn't surf I still love everything about the area . We have stayed in three similar type accomadation in the area and this place bets them hands down. When I come back I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
17
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

First we stayed at Tranquilobackpackers and thought this place was great, but then there was no more space for us and we had to move... so we came to Chris' place and it's WAY better!!!!
Rooms are clean, big and with nice private bathrooms - and the beds are real beds - and very calm!
Located next to the supermarket, beach and restaurants - it's just perfect!
You can even rent surfboards and prepare your own food in the spacious kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Calocita was great! Chris the owner is very accomadating, laid back, and all around nice guy. The location is good, as its close to everything. I recomend renting a bike or ATV if you dont have a car or be prepaered to do a lot of walking. Everyone I met staying here was very nice and we all went out together and had a great time! The room is simple but everything you need is there. No AC, but not needed. Hot shower, kitchen were perfect. Surfboards for rent if needed. Santa Teresa is an amazing town. Surf is great, lots of good places to eat, cool vibes. Stay here is you are looking for simple room, cool people and a good price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I really enjoyed everything about these cabinas, stayed for nearly a couple weeks and will certainly come back. The owner Christian really makes the place run smoothly and has everything you need for a great trip. The rooms are clean and comfortable and are cleaned every two or three days. A shared kitchen has all the cooking tools to make your own food, plus communal things for all to use, such as coffee.

Other amenities include a surfboard shed with boards available for rent for very reasonable prices, including some for beginners. Everybody who stayed in the place was fun and friendly and Christian organized a cookout on Thursday with fresh fish.

I highly recommend Cabinas Colocita.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This place is GREAT. Christian is a fantastic host, and Calocita is a very nice, well-kept establishment situated perfectly between Playa Carmen and Playa Santa Teresa (closer to Playa Carmen). Beach access is a short 75m walk, the grocery store is just down the street, and the best restaurants in Santa Teresa are a short walk away.

I'd say that this is a great place for travelers on a budget (double rooms are as low as $35/night; that's $17.50/person/night!!), but considering the quality of this establishment, and the care that Christian takes to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, I'd say that Calocita is very hard to beat at any price.

Mind you, this IS NOT a place for the luxury traveler - there is no A/C, and the kitchen accommodations are shared. Having said that, it's easy to keep cool, and all of the other travelers I met there are very easy to get along with. For the way I like to travel, I give this place my highest reccomendation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The owner, Christian, was extremely helpful and friendly. He help me solve all my doubts, even the ones I had after I was going to leave the place. He recommended a surf teacher, told me everything I had to know about the village, gave me surfing tips,...

Also the environment in the place is really friendly and the rooms are very clean and confortable, with no unnecesary stuff you don't use. Very functional and smart, which is what you expect from a German owner, he he

Anyway, great experience, really good value for money, nothing bad about the place, which is really close to the beach (around 300m), the restaurants and the store.

Room Tip: Just order ahead of time if you're traveling in high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Location, security, and cleanliness are generally the biggest points to consider when booking a hotel, followed by cost and amenities. While this is always good advice, it is never truer than in Central America. Use this template to make your decision and you will find Calocita Cabinas perfect in every way.

First is location, Calocita Cabinas is a lovely seven room guest house that is located on a secluded strip of land just a mere 200 meters away from one of Costa Rica's premium surf spots. The location is central to everything you could hope to do in this small but bustling surf town. A short walk in either direction will yield restaurants and shopping, as well as easy to access the ATM. Best of all though, it is just 100 meters from the local grocery.

The biggest advantage of Calocita Cabinas location though, is security. Despite being central to everything, the hotel is located on a secluded lot that has its own private entry. With only one avenue of arrival or departure, you won’t have to worry about people passing by. This seclusion offers both privacy and security, which are very important when visiting Central America. The property had its own 24-hour video surveillance system and the owner/caretaker lives on the property. With this kind of personal attention, you can be assured that you and your belongings are safe. Being a small hotel with an onsite caretaker, doesn’t just mean security though, it also means responsiveness. So if you need a extra towel or directions to the best nightclub, help is never far away.

One of the first things you notice about Calocita Cabinas is how clean and well maintained the property and rooms are. Christian, the owner is unmistakably German and maintains everything to the highest of standards and efficiency. Like most hotels in Santa Teresa, the rooms at Calocita Cabinas are simple and basic. Each room has its own private bathroom with walk-in shower. There is a large shared kitchen for guests who wish to prepare their own food and a wrap around veranda where guests can discuss the day’s waves or just lounge in a hammock and enjoy a drink.

Lodging in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica can range from less than $100 to several hundred per night. The major difference in price at the various hotels comes down to amenities and location. Calocita Cabinas is positioned as a budget hotel with rooms for less than $50 per night. Don’t let the affordable rates fool you though, you could spend much, much more and not get the quality of service or value that you can expect at Calocita Cabinas.

Santa Teresa is a small, secluded surf town in Costa Rica with limited resources. Just getting there can be an adventure unto itself; so don’t expect certain amenities such as air conditioning to be available without considerable cost. Being a budget hotel, Calocita Cabinas does not offer air conditioning or room services. It does however have all the important things that you could want like a premium location just opposite one of the best surf spots in all of Cost Rica, reliable WI-FI and a safe, clean environment.

Rooms at Calocita Cabinas do have huge windows, and are equipped with both ceiling and floor fans. With average daily highs of 78 degrees Fahrenheit, most people will not miss the air conditioning. For those who consider air conditioning a necessity though, you may wish to stay elsewhere. Calocita Cabinas will not appeal to everyone, but for the budget traveler on a limited budget, the lack of amenities is more than offset by its location, security, cleanliness and low cost.

While some would call Calocita Cabinas a hostel, it is actually just a small hotel with seven large guest rooms, each with its own private bath and a shared kitchen. The shared kitchen is an excellent resource for those wishing to prepare their own meals and save money. This is especially convenient when you consider that the grocery is only 100 meters away.

The kitchen though becomes the nightly gathering place for all the guests and a way to share a meal, drink or story with the other travelers. Periodically, Christian (the owner) hosts a barbeque for all the guests. Everyone contributes something and shares a beautiful meal. Because of these impromptu barbquaso you will meet friends that you would otherwise not have met if you stay in a traditional hotel.

The one thing though that makes Calocita Cabinas my first choice for lodging in Santa Teresa is the owner. Christian takes his job of hosting seriously and does everything he can to makes sure his guests are well provided for. With ten years living in Costa Rica, Christian can answer any question from where the best surf spots are to getting to and from the airport for the lowest fare. This level of care begins when booking and extends to planning your follow on travel. If you have any questions concerning what to bring, when to come or scheduling travel, just ask Christian via email when you reserve your room. He made our stay one of the most enjoyable trips ever and he can do the same for you.

In conclusion, if you are coming to Costa Rica to surf and enjoy the Pura Vida lifestyle, then look no further than Calocita Cabinas. It offers the best value that you will find anywhere.

Room Tip: Call or email the owner ahead of time for tips on what to bring, how to make travel arrangements, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cabinas Calocita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Calocita

Address: Main Street | 100m north of Super Ronny 1, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Calocita offers rooms with private bath and hot water. There are 5 double rooms, one triple room and one single room. We are a small quiet hotel which stands for quality even for the budget traveller. Modern, clean and comfortable beds are waiting for you here at Cabinas Calocita.Part of Cabinas Calocita is a nice common area and a well equipped shared kitchen. Precisely the shared kitchen is typical in Costa Rica for small hotels and the people love to be able to cook their own meals or just leave drinks in the fridge. The location couldn’t be better. Quiet and calm (secluded) but still central. Just 150m walking distance to the ocean and surf break, but still (50m) off the main road what helps you sleep better. And the grocery store is also just 100m away and several restaurants are in close walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Calocita Hotel Santa Teresa
Cabinas Calocita Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Calocita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.