We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yin yang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Vacation Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariposa Vacation Homes
1.3 Km North of the Soccer Field in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 6153, Costa Rica (Formerly Casas Pura Vida)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Yin yang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This house is beautifull. The heart of the house is Marta, the property manager, very nice person with lot of compromise in her work with us and very knowledgeable. She was kee to spend once of the best vacations with our big family (couple with 4 kids). She made everything easy to coordinate all the activities with the best knolwledge people in the aereas! Surf teachers, massages experts, riding horse, real fishing and snorkle expert.

Gracias Santa teresa! Gracias Mal País! Gracias Marta! Sumas mucho a este paraíso! Pura Vida.

Willy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you Willy for your visit from Argentina. We were delighted to share all our homes with your family and friends. I'm so glad it all worked out for you. Please come back & see us soon. Thanks again !!! All the best ! Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Casa Yin Yang is an awesome home right on the best part of the beach at Playa Santa Teresa. I've stayed there multiple times over the last few years with friend and family, and is the nicest place I have ever stayed. You can actually see the waves from the front porch in the morning while you are drinking your coffee! The layout of the place is phenomenal, with the comfortable outdoor living and dining room facing the beach next to the pool. Ana was our chef, and the gourmet meals she prepared for us daily were some of the best meals I have ever had. The owner and the rest of the staff took care of everything, I didn't even have to wash a dish the whole time I was there. I can't wait to go back there for my next vacation. I have lived in Costa Rica for 14 years, and I feel like Casa Yin Yang is expensive, but priced correctly. Bottom line you really do get what you pay for. This is truly a luxury villa right on the beach with an amazing staff and amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you Brat. It's always a pleasure to have return locals such as yourself who know the area & really truly appreciate all it takes to bring you this level of goods & services. Thanks so much for your visits & kind words. Best personal regards, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have been all over Costa Rica to all different rental homes ranging from Manuel Antonio, Pavones, Cabuya, Mal pais well you get the picture. The Mariposa in ST is so sweet tucked back away from the road right on the beach next to the best surf break that ST has to offer...umm could you get any better? Dont think so. pool is perfect with a great view of sunset and the house was beautiful and super nice. good ambiance to the whole place. The help was very gracious and helped me and my family with all our needs.The only thing I could really complain is......Why arent you available for next December! Killer time and one of the best stays yet in Costa Rica. Been coming here since 1996. Gracias y Pura Vida

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Ty Thanks so much for your review. Truly appreciated ! Please come back again soon ! All hte best. Sincerely, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a place! I recently stayed in the beach house at Mariposa Vacation Homes and had a wonderful time. It is located right in front of the best break in all of ST on the most pristine stretch of beach I have ever seen. The house is wonderful, comfortable and the outdoor/pool area is jaw dropping.

Marta, the property manager is a beautiful person, super welcoming and very knowledgeable. She was very helpful and helped make arrangements for activities to give us the best holiday experience imaginable!

Thank you Marta and Mariposa Vacation Homes for the best time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Ty, Thank you so much for your review ! I hope you can make it back again. Best regards, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The views, the tranquility, the food... everything was perfect!
Highly recommend this place for everyone. Steps away from the beach, yet private and safe.. doesn't get any better! Magical sunsets!
Anita's cooking exceeded our expectations, don't miss on this one!
I miss it already...

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Jorge a pleasure to have you ! Thanks so much for your review. Be well & please come back again soon ! Best personal regards, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

From the 1st day I arrived, I said I don't know how I could leave this place. The stay at Casa Ying Yang has been good for the soul. This oceanfront property is ABSOLUTELY amazing. Having seen some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, and oceanfront villas, it truly is paradise here. I had no complaints even about having to work - sitting at the dining table, with the ocean view, the wind chimes blowing - it's tranquil, relaxing, but yet you could still get a lot done if you want to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Carolyn, Thank you so much fro your visit & your kind words. I hope you are well & will come back to visit again soon. All the best ! Sincerely, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from touring Costa Rica. Santa Teresa is the most beautiful spot and Mariposa Vacation homes are the best way to enjoy all that Santa Teresa has to offer. We stayed at Casa Pelicano again (Third time this year) and had an excellent time. Marta the concierge went over and above organizing events from Yoga and Surf lessons to in house massage etc. The property is gated (Nice for security) and has an exit door to access the beach. Don`t miss the daily sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Three times this year ! Wow, I going to have to create a frequent flyer awards club in your honour, really. I can't tell you how much we truly appreciate your business and your positive reviews. It's people like you that make it all worth while at the end of a tough day ! Thanks so much. Sincerely, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariposa Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Vacation Homes

Address: 1.3 Km North of the Soccer Field in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 6153, Costa Rica (Formerly Casas Pura Vida)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariposa Private Beach homes began as little more than a dream and a vacant parcel of land in 2003. Our mission is to offer private, well built, clean and comfortable houses with everything necessary to enjoy quality vacation time with your family and friends. This is an ongoing project, and every year we continue to make improvements to our infrastructure, houses and gardens. We are committed to becoming as sustainable and community friendly as possible. Our employees are 100% local (born and raised) help and we use local products and suppliers whenever possible. We are also founding members of our neighborhood association, know as AVSTN for it’s Spanish acronym, volunteer at the local public school and have served on the board of directors of the local water board and AVSTN. Mariposa Private Beach Home’s commitment to improve the quality of life of our employees and growing town extends beyond our gates, as we are involved in various community projects as the recycle program, monthly beach clean-ups, education programs in the public school, public water, roads and security issues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mariposa Vacation Homes Hotel Santa Teresa
Mariposa Vacation Homes Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Vacation Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mariposa Vacation Homes to your Saves list