We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Santa Teresa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Vacation Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariposa Vacation Homes
Save
You added Mariposa Vacation Homes to your Saves list
1.3 Km North of the Soccer Field in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 6153, Costa Rica (Formerly Casas Pura Vida)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Santa Teresa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

From the 1st day I arrived, I said I don't know how I could leave this place. The stay at Casa Ying Yang has been good for the soul. This oceanfront property is ABSOLUTELY amazing. Having seen some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, and oceanfront villas, it truly is paradise here. I had no complaints even about having to work - sitting at the dining table, with the ocean view, the wind chimes blowing - it's tranquil, relaxing, but yet you could still get a lot done if you want to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Carolyn, Thank you so much fro your visit & your kind words. I hope you are well & will come back to visit again soon. All the best ! Sincerely, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
24
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from touring Costa Rica. Santa Teresa is the most beautiful spot and Mariposa Vacation homes are the best way to enjoy all that Santa Teresa has to offer. We stayed at Casa Pelicano again (Third time this year) and had an excellent time. Marta the concierge went over and above organizing events from Yoga and Surf lessons to in house massage etc. The property is gated (Nice for security) and has an exit door to access the beach. Don`t miss the daily sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Three times this year ! Wow, I going to have to create a frequent flyer awards club in your honour, really. I can't tell you how much we truly appreciate your business and your positive reviews. It's people like you that make it all worth while at the end of a tough day ! Thanks so much. Sincerely, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Its was amazing ! The Case iguana was very good !
Casa iguana was the best in Santa Teresa that i had for a good price.
The property is realy good !
Marta was really nice with us and very helpful.
The Casa iguana is a very safe place, with the security box and alarm system.

Thank Marta for everything !

Jonathan and Julie

Room Tip: They have 3 A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you both for your stay ! Please come back soon ! Sincerely, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at Casa Ying Yang for an incredible week of relaxation and adventure. The property is absolutely gorgeous with beautiful ocean views from nearly all angles. Marta was unbelievable and went the extra distance to help us with everything we wanted to do while staying at the house. It was such an amazing place and location that we are going back in January!!! Pura Vida! Muchas Gracias!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi David Thanks again for your visit and kind review. We hope you'll come back again this summer to cool down in CR green season, from the FL heat. All the best thanks again. Best personal regards, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

INCREDIBLE VACATIONS with friends...!! Right next to the beach and an amazing place to visit! Santa Teresa is one of the most wonderful beach here in Costa Rica and I really didn't spect to find such good restaurants...! Mariposa homes are beautiful, very clean and confortable, next time choosing yin yan!! :) Thank very much Mariposa Homes for our short but wonderful vacations!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review ! We'll be delighted to set you up in Casa Yin yang next time, please come back soon ! We're looking forward to your next visit ! Thanks so much !!! Sincerely, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Pelicano. It was beautiful and immaculate. We saw butterflies, monkeys, and hummingbirds in our backyard! The surroundings were unreal and the walk to the beach was magnificent. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, Owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay ! It's a pretty quick & easy trip from Hollywood FL, so please don't hesitate to come back soon ! We look forward to taking great care of you and helping you make the most of your precious vacation time ! Thanks again. Sincerely, Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just got back from a week staying in the “Casa Tortuga” house. This home is perfect for families. This was a family surfing vacation for a family of four, Mom, Dad, teen daughter and twenty year old son.

This private cluster of residences has private entry with powered gates and there is covered carport in front of the house.

There are two separate bedrooms with king size beds (one down stairs and one up stairs) and an additional loft upstairs with a queen size bed. There are also two additional single beds downstairs, but we did not use them. The house has a full kitchen with eat-in bar, living room, two and half bathrooms, large lanai with table and outdoor living area, a separate gazebo area with sitting and hammocks by the pool. There are two safes in the house for valuables.

The beach is less than a two minute (I timed it) walk from another private security gate. The house is very clean and the only bug we saw inside was an occasional tiny ant that managed to find a crumb in the kitchen. We always felt very safe.

The wildlife outside is fascinating. The day we arrived there was a troop of monkeys in the tree in back. Sitting around the pool are in the backyard we frequently saw parrots, monkeys, large red tailed squirrels, iguanas, a caotimundi, humming birds, pacific land crabs, tinamou, etc.. The air is filled with the sounds of nature all day long.

The beach is absolutely beautiful and the waves out front were great. We caught great swell the entire time. It was overhead every day. On one of the larger days we took a short road trip to Cabuya to surf the point. One of the better waves I have ever surfed, 200+ yard right hander that was double overhead. The locals told us it was going off and we caught it good.

At lower tide the beach in front of the house has calmer areas for non-surfers to frolic and swim, Just a short walk down the beach to the right, there were tide pools to explore and swim in.

Nicole, who owns the house is a wonderful host and was on top of any need we had. She also employs a concierge who can help you with any adventures you wish to schedule.

Besides surfing we choose two other adventures, The Canopy Tour at the end of Mal Pais, and one day the girls went Horseback Riding on the beach and mountains. I highly recommend Canopy Tour. Adriane, who runs the tour is also very great to work with.

There are two things you need to be advised of before you come here.

1. If you drive, you need a 4 wheel drive vehicle, and preferably not the little cheap ones. Spend the extra $150 weekly rental fee and get a solid SUV.

2. Be prepared to “go off the grid”. Even though there is wi-fi and cell service, it’s not always great coverage. Don’t plan to live on facebook or twitter. Go offline and enjoy this place. That’s why you’re here in the first place right!

We will be coming back here to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Vacation Homes

Address: 1.3 Km North of the Soccer Field in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 6153, Costa Rica (Formerly Casas Pura Vida)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariposa Private Beach homes began as little more than a dream and a vacant parcel of land in 2003. Our mission is to offer private, well built, clean and comfortable houses with everything necessary to enjoy quality vacation time with your family and friends. This is an ongoing project, and every year we continue to make improvements to our infrastructure, houses and gardens. We are committed to becoming as sustainable and community friendly as possible. Our employees are 100% local (born and raised) help and we use local products and suppliers whenever possible. We are also founding members of our neighborhood association, know as AVSTN for it’s Spanish acronym, volunteer at the local public school and have served on the board of directors of the local water board and AVSTN. Mariposa Private Beach Home’s commitment to improve the quality of life of our employees and growing town extends beyond our gates, as we are involved in various community projects as the recycle program, monthly beach clean-ups, education programs in the public school, public water, roads and security issues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mariposa Vacation Homes Hotel Santa Teresa
Mariposa Vacation Homes Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Vacation Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.