We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ensure they are fully staffed before booking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Limbo Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gumbo Limbo Villas to your Saves list
Gumbo Limbo Villas
400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Orange, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ensure they are fully staffed before booking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The location and view do not disappoint. However, we just didn't get the service to rate this place as highly as others. It was bad luck for us - we stayed there when Sonny was away having a baby. The other owner had family staying with him. So, we were kinda on our own. Not sure why, but they didn't have maid service while we were there. I've stayed at less expensive places in Costa Rica, and had better service. The outdoor bathroom in our villa was quite dirty after a few days without maid service. My husband had to ask for a broom to sweep up the leaves. There was a guy there who swept the area for us, but the point is ... we had to ask to keep our bathroom tidy. We also had to ask for toilet paper, rather than having it restocked for us. We were actually quite angry when we read about others getting such a good breakfast. We got "buffet-style" fruit and toast with bad coffee. The location and villas are wonderful. We enjoyed the larger villa with the pool in front, which felt like our own private resort. They are perched high up a hill with a dirt road, so 4WD is a must (though I understand there was talk of paving a portion of the road). The hike on foot down to the beach was great exercise.

Living in Costa Rica and running a hotel is certainly a dream life for many. But, you're still running a service-based business. You shouldn't take your guests for granted. Next time we go to Santa Teresa, we'll be booking at Florablanca.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
45
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

....a rough road brings you to the town of Santa Teresa, there dust will cloud you view, restaurants, guesthouses, shops, housing and huts are mangled together, the whole town surrounded by forest lines up along one of the greatest tropical beaches and seems to be in disarray but soon you get to love that place because of its unconformity. You continue the road to turn right up the hill into nowhere to find Gumbo Limbo. There you are submerged in the jungle with a fantastic view, very comfortable bungalows and excellent restaurant. Congratulations to Michele and Sonny which have build a true relaxing and enjoyable place full of life ...monkeys, iguanas and lots of birds which wake you up early in the morning to take advantage of the day!
Wish the team good luck and happy guests

Donate and Heinrich Stillfried

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longmont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

This was a first-time trip to CR, and a small group of us were trying to stay just a bit off the beaten path, yet in accomodations that were clean & comfortable. We had little to go on, yet found Gumbo Limbo through their website. We stayed several nights, and we were all very happy with the choice. There are many options for lodging in Santa Teresa, but you never know what's a hit and what's a miss until you get there. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It is a wonderful hotel, only 4 rooms so very personal and quiet. Everything is very clean and well cared for, it is away from all teh dirt of the main street, the view is excellent. Mikaeli (sorry if I mispelled that man) and Sonny were awesome giving us surf lessons, sooking fabulous food, giving other travel suggestions, and booking tours. We could not have asked for a better stay, and will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stay there to celebrate my 24th birthday, we are costarricans so we went in the public bus, it took us more than 5 hours to get to Sta Teresa, the bus we'll leave you 500mts from the hotel, those 500mts are up hill, it was very inclined, it took us like 1 hour to go 500mts, so rent an ATV.
When we arrive to the villas, Sony, the owner, upgrade us, so we got a better room with the best view, a great bathroom with a magnificent view of the ocean, a nice bed and big deck with a hammock overlooking the ocean.
The place has a nice infinity pool, it is great for relaxing, the pool was a little dirty the second day, after a pool sunset party they had on the first day we stayed.
The breakfast is included and is very tasteful. I enjoyed very much my stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

My first trip/vacation without my kids in 8yrs, and I was so relaxed and well taken care of at Gumbo Limbo. Everyone was so nice and helpful. I would definately recommend to my friends and I will definately go back!! The food was amazing too!! Excellent place to get away!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We arrived in the evening so we where not able to see everything during that night... but as soon as we woke up we realized that litterly we where sleeping in paradise!!! There is no way you can get a better ocean view straight from your bed. The room was amazing beautifull!!! And enyoing the sun set from the pool ....we really have no words!!! Dont be surprised if you can see monkeys around there... because literally you are in the middle of pure nature and Santa Teresa is the perfect and the best surfing beach of Costa Rica. The staff gives you a real home feeling and the Italian dinner we enjoyed was delicius. We really had the honey moon of our dreams!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gumbo Limbo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbo Limbo Villas

Address: 400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumbo Limbo is a boutique bed & breakfast located in the hills of Santa Teresa, just 600 meters to Santa Teresa beach and town. Along with stunning ocean views, Gumbo Limbo's central, hilltop location provides seclusion- a nice break from the bustle of town, while being only a 2 minute drive to the beach and main road. A 4x4 vehicle, which is generally better for Costa Rica roads, is needed to reach our property. Each of our villas is surrounded by tropical lush nature, giving total privacy and a real feeling of being in the jungle, while still having complete comfort. From every corner of our property, you can find amazing ocean and mountain views. Our beautiful infinity pool is the perfect spot to relax and watch the best sunsets Santa Teresa has to offer. A full breakfast is included in your stay. It is served each morning in our ocean view dining area. Some of our breakfast options include granola and yogurt with fresh fruits, eggs with typical gallo pinto or pancakes, all served with fresh Costa Rican coffee. Our guests are our priority. It comes natural for us to host people and make new friends, so it is our pleasure to cover every small detail and accommodate our guests' needs so that they have the best time while staying with us. Many of our guests have told us that their experience visiting Gumbo Limbo felt more like staying with old friends, than staying at a hotel. Whether it's sharing a surf session or an Argentinean asado together, we look forward to having you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gumbo Limbo Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumbo Limbo Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
Gumbo Limbo Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Limbo Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.