We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with Gumbo Limbo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Limbo Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gumbo Limbo Villas to your Saves list
Gumbo Limbo Villas
400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
longmont
1 review
“Very happy with Gumbo Limbo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

This was a first-time trip to CR, and a small group of us were trying to stay just a bit off the beaten path, yet in accomodations that were clean & comfortable. We had little to go on, yet found Gumbo Limbo through their website. We stayed several nights, and we were all very happy with the choice. There are many options for lodging in Santa Teresa, but you never know what's a hit and what's a miss until you get there. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It is a wonderful hotel, only 4 rooms so very personal and quiet. Everything is very clean and well cared for, it is away from all teh dirt of the main street, the view is excellent. Mikaeli (sorry if I mispelled that man) and Sonny were awesome giving us surf lessons, sooking fabulous food, giving other travel suggestions, and booking tours. We could not have asked for a better stay, and will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stay there to celebrate my 24th birthday, we are costarricans so we went in the public bus, it took us more than 5 hours to get to Sta Teresa, the bus we'll leave you 500mts from the hotel, those 500mts are up hill, it was very inclined, it took us like 1 hour to go 500mts, so rent an ATV.
When we arrive to the villas, Sony, the owner, upgrade us, so we got a better room with the best view, a great bathroom with a magnificent view of the ocean, a nice bed and big deck with a hammock overlooking the ocean.
The place has a nice infinity pool, it is great for relaxing, the pool was a little dirty the second day, after a pool sunset party they had on the first day we stayed.
The breakfast is included and is very tasteful. I enjoyed very much my stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

My first trip/vacation without my kids in 8yrs, and I was so relaxed and well taken care of at Gumbo Limbo. Everyone was so nice and helpful. I would definately recommend to my friends and I will definately go back!! The food was amazing too!! Excellent place to get away!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We arrived in the evening so we where not able to see everything during that night... but as soon as we woke up we realized that litterly we where sleeping in paradise!!! There is no way you can get a better ocean view straight from your bed. The room was amazing beautifull!!! And enyoing the sun set from the pool ....we really have no words!!! Dont be surprised if you can see monkeys around there... because literally you are in the middle of pure nature and Santa Teresa is the perfect and the best surfing beach of Costa Rica. The staff gives you a real home feeling and the Italian dinner we enjoyed was delicius. We really had the honey moon of our dreams!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Gumbo Limbo was so amazing! I took a trip to Santa Teresa and stayed at Gumbo Limbo on a friend's recommendation. I really needed to get away from the fast-paced, corporate world and this ended up being the best place to get the job done. We arrived quite a bit on the late side of the evening and my friend's and I were starving from traveling 8 hours from the airport. Sonny and Michele (the owners/chef) had waited for us to arrive to make us an amazing, fresh, Italian dinner at the property's restaurant. We stayed in a beautiful cabana (the largest of the 4 on site) equipped with the best outdoor hammock ever! (1 of us slept outside in it every night to fall asleep with the stars) Sonny and Michele always gave us great tips of where to go and, most importantly, how to get around the area. Just ask them for anything and they will be sure to guide you in the best direction. Gumbo Limbo is great if you are looking for a completely relaxing and truly unique stay while in Costa Rica. I will be going back here every time I visit Costa Rica (which will be as much as possible).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

From the ratings given, you can see that I loved this place. I would change absolutely nothing about Gumbo Limbo, but there are some things that you should know!
It is on a HUGE hill! This is actually quite nice for getting up into the mountains while staying close to the ocean, but if you have any movement disabilities in your group you should plan accordingly (a 4W drive vehicle is a bare minimum for getting here, better by ATV)
Getting to Santa Teresa from San Jose Airport will eat up an entire day of your precious vacation if you take the bus. I would opt for a small charter plane from San Jose to the west coast to cut this time down. Sonny or Michele at Gumbo Limbo will happily give you the details.
Plan to rent an ATV if you don't have a vehicle already. The beaches are good nearby, but the country really begs to be explored more than just what you could reach on foot. You'll agree after you walk up and down that hill a few times too.
Plan to have a few dinners at Gumbo Limbo. Michele's cooking is NOT to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumbo Limbo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbo Limbo Villas

Address: 400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumbo Limbo is a unique bed & breakfast located in the hills of Santa Teresa, just 2 minutes to Santa Teresa beach and town. Along with stunning ocean views, Gumbo Limbo's central, hilltop location provides seclusion- a nice break from the dust and bustle of town, while being only a 2 minute drive to the beach and main road. A 4x4 vehicle, which is generally better for Costa Rica roads, is recommended to reach our property. Each of our villas is surrounded by lush, tropical nature, giving total privacy, comfort, and a real feeling of being in the jungle. From every corner of our property, you can find amazing ocean and mountain views. Our beautiful infinity pool is the perfect spot to relax and watch the best sunsets Santa Teresa has to offer. A full breakfast is included in your stay. It is served each morning in our ocean view dining area. Some of our breakfast options include granola and yogurt with fresh fruits, eggs with gallo pinto, or pancakes, all served with fresh Costa Rican coffee. Our guests are our priority. It comes natural for us to host people and make new friends, so it is our pleasure to cover every small detail and accommodate our guests' needs so that they have the best time while staying with us. Many of our guests have told us that their experience visiting Gumbo Limbo felt more like staying with old friends, than staying at a hotel. Whether it's sharing a surf session or an Argentinean asado together, we look forward to having you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gumbo Limbo Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumbo Limbo Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
Gumbo Limbo Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Limbo Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.