We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Limbo Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gumbo Limbo Villas to your Saves list
Gumbo Limbo Villas
400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dream Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband booked our honeymoon at Gumbo Limbo. After all the wedding planning, it was nice to not have to worry about the honeymoon plans too. Since we honeymooned in May (Costa Rica low season) we had the whole place to ourselves. It was so peaceful and serene, away from the noisy cars on the street below. But the best part was the view and the constant ocean breeze.

Down in town it was so hot, but Gumbo Limbo's pool and the breeze was the perfect cool down. The view is nearly 180 degrees of ocean out front and behind the villas is a view of mountainous jungle. It was beautiful. And howler monkeys came right into our bathroom 3 out of 5 mornings!

It is a hike up and down the mountain to town, so we requested a four wheeler to get around and the care taker (Negrito) brought it to us! There is a small fridge to keep drinks in, and a tv with some movie selections for after dark if your not into clubbing or bar hopping.

All in all, it was a perfect ending to our wedding and we look forward to vacationing there again!

Room Tip: Go for a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wow! We could not have chosen a better place to stay while in Santa Teresa. We stayed in a small villa overlooking the gorgeous swimming pool; it was the most incredible view! Staying here is not like staying at a big traditional hotel, they only have a few rooms, which was perfect because it was so private. Beware if you want to be a part of all of the cars, four wheelers and other noise in the town below this place is not for you! From the main road of the town we take a long winding road up the mountain side to the hotel, you could walk, but you better be in shape! Once you’re up there if it wasn’t for the perfect beaches you would not want to leave. The owners are super cool guys, happy to lend a hand and get you pointed in the right direction; not only do they make a great concierge, (helping with surfboard rentals and fishing trips) but boy can the Italian owner cook! His name is Michele and he is so happy to share his grandmother’s recipes from Italy. I did not go to Costa Rica planning to have great Italian food but I am glad I did, he made us wonderful pasta and even cooked fresh fish we caught on the fishing trip the guys help us set up! Be sure to indulge, Sonny the other American owner and can make a mean Mojito! All in all I can’t wait to get back to surf, swim, eat drink and relax, and Gumbo Limbo is the perfect spot to do so!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We love this place - great waves, great time - looking forward to next year! Such nice folks around helping out, getting us into some great things and making sure we're all set after long beautiful sessions at the lovely beach too!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and loved the setup. The villa was super private with an amazing view of the ocean through the trees. It's close to the main road in Santa Teresa but the winding driveway gives you enough elevation to feel completely separate from the low-key beach town hustle on the streets below. When the sun sets, beer in hand in the infinity pool, surrounded by dense lush natural settings you will know you made the right choice. The owners are super friendly/helpful but also respect privacy. Recommended highly!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

So Me & Wife Spent our Honey Moon @ Gumbo Limbo, We Had the Time of Our Lives. It was amazing to Say the Least. We had the Place all to Ourselves Minus a Few Groups of Howler Monkeys Who Came Right Up to the Villa literally. Being Perched on the Hillside you not only get an Amazing View of the Surf but you also get the Constant Breeze & Sound of the Ocean. There was no need for Air the Open Air Concept was Perfect. Privacy Here is not anything to Worry about, You are Surrounded by Jungle on all sides & In My Mind There's Nothing More you Could Ask 4. The Security Dog Reef was amazing, We Are Dog Owners & his Presence was very Welcomed. Also the House Keeper Betty did an amazing Job not only cleaning but making us feel welcomed. This Was our 7th Trip to Costa Rica & We Have always tried new places to stay but i can honestly say we will Return here no Questions asked. Staying off the Main Road and Up on the Hillside may not be for Everyone But We have found our Utopia. Thanks Sonny, We Can't Wait to Return & Spend more Time @ your Property. Pura Vida

Room Tip: Treat Yourself and Get a Villa...... Don't Be Afraid to Try the Open Air Concept It soothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

My Girlfriend and I had the pleasure of residing in these hill side bungalows in the majestic town of Santa Teresa. Michele and his staff are very inviting, and went out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay. The property itself is truly beautiful, hidden in the jungle away from the hustle and bustle of main street. The room itself was comfortable with a modern, rustic european flare. If you're fortunate enough to stay here make sure you get Michele to cook for you. We ate at all the top rated restaurants in town, and they were fantastic, and full of flavor, but, none could hold a candle to Michele's meals. We will defiantly be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Gumbo Limbo was an amazing hideaway and one of the highlights of our trip. It is the perfect amount of rustic/jungle living but also completely comfortable, clean and with an amazing staff of lovely people (we considered kidnapping Michele and bringing him home with us). The vibe is great as you are cared for by a wonderful group of guys who will tell you all the best things to do in Santa Teresa, give you surfing lessons and cook you some of the best meals we had. You instantly feel like you are staying at a place with family or friends you've had for years. It is also completely gorgeous on the top of a massive hill with crazy views of the ocean! Also, Betty's Burrito's are the way to go for breakfast! So good! Enjoy!

Room Tip: villa indio is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumbo Limbo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbo Limbo Villas

Address: 400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumbo Limbo is a unique bed & breakfast located in the hills of Santa Teresa, just 2 minutes to Santa Teresa beach and town. Along with stunning ocean views, Gumbo Limbo's central, hilltop location provides seclusion- a nice break from the dust and bustle of town, while being only a 2 minute drive to the beach and main road. A 4x4 vehicle, which is generally better for Costa Rica roads, is recommended to reach our property. Each of our villas is surrounded by lush, tropical nature, giving total privacy, comfort, and a real feeling of being in the jungle. From every corner of our property, you can find amazing ocean and mountain views. Our beautiful infinity pool is the perfect spot to relax and watch the best sunsets Santa Teresa has to offer. A full breakfast is included in your stay. It is served each morning in our ocean view dining area. Some of our breakfast options include granola and yogurt with fresh fruits, eggs with gallo pinto, or pancakes, all served with fresh Costa Rican coffee. Our guests are our priority. It comes natural for us to host people and make new friends, so it is our pleasure to cover every small detail and accommodate our guests' needs so that they have the best time while staying with us. Many of our guests have told us that their experience visiting Gumbo Limbo felt more like staying with old friends, than staying at a hotel. Whether it's sharing a surf session or an Argentinean asado together, we look forward to having you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gumbo Limbo Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumbo Limbo Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
Gumbo Limbo Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Limbo Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.