We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Limbo Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gumbo Limbo Villas to your Saves list
Gumbo Limbo Villas
400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Isla Vista, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We love this place - great waves, great time - looking forward to next year! Such nice folks around helping out, getting us into some great things and making sure we're all set after long beautiful sessions at the lovely beach too!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
43
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and loved the setup. The villa was super private with an amazing view of the ocean through the trees. It's close to the main road in Santa Teresa but the winding driveway gives you enough elevation to feel completely separate from the low-key beach town hustle on the streets below. When the sun sets, beer in hand in the infinity pool, surrounded by dense lush natural settings you will know you made the right choice. The owners are super friendly/helpful but also respect privacy. Recommended highly!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

So Me & Wife Spent our Honey Moon @ Gumbo Limbo, We Had the Time of Our Lives. It was amazing to Say the Least. We had the Place all to Ourselves Minus a Few Groups of Howler Monkeys Who Came Right Up to the Villa literally. Being Perched on the Hillside you not only get an Amazing View of the Surf but you also get the Constant Breeze & Sound of the Ocean. There was no need for Air the Open Air Concept was Perfect. Privacy Here is not anything to Worry about, You are Surrounded by Jungle on all sides & In My Mind There's Nothing More you Could Ask 4. The Security Dog Reef was amazing, We Are Dog Owners & his Presence was very Welcomed. Also the House Keeper Betty did an amazing Job not only cleaning but making us feel welcomed. This Was our 7th Trip to Costa Rica & We Have always tried new places to stay but i can honestly say we will Return here no Questions asked. Staying off the Main Road and Up on the Hillside may not be for Everyone But We have found our Utopia. Thanks Sonny, We Can't Wait to Return & Spend more Time @ your Property. Pura Vida

Room Tip: Treat Yourself and Get a Villa...... Don't Be Afraid to Try the Open Air Concept It soothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

My Girlfriend and I had the pleasure of residing in these hill side bungalows in the majestic town of Santa Teresa. Michele and his staff are very inviting, and went out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay. The property itself is truly beautiful, hidden in the jungle away from the hustle and bustle of main street. The room itself was comfortable with a modern, rustic european flare. If you're fortunate enough to stay here make sure you get Michele to cook for you. We ate at all the top rated restaurants in town, and they were fantastic, and full of flavor, but, none could hold a candle to Michele's meals. We will defiantly be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Gumbo Limbo was an amazing hideaway and one of the highlights of our trip. It is the perfect amount of rustic/jungle living but also completely comfortable, clean and with an amazing staff of lovely people (we considered kidnapping Michele and bringing him home with us). The vibe is great as you are cared for by a wonderful group of guys who will tell you all the best things to do in Santa Teresa, give you surfing lessons and cook you some of the best meals we had. You instantly feel like you are staying at a place with family or friends you've had for years. It is also completely gorgeous on the top of a massive hill with crazy views of the ocean! Also, Betty's Burrito's are the way to go for breakfast! So good! Enjoy!

Room Tip: villa indio is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I went down for a quick surf and relaxation trip and found this a great spot to eat, relax and check the surf. Great food and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Villas are the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

An amazing place with special people who truly know how to live the Pura Vida!!! Felt like i was "coming home". Miki and Sonny are great hosts who are the heart of the place. I look forward to seeing them again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gumbo Limbo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbo Limbo Villas

Address: 400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumbo Limbo Villas is a boutique bed & breakfast nestled in the hills of Playa Santa Teresa on Costa Rica's lush Nicoya peninsula. We offer 2 villas and 2 private rooms, each of them with amazing ocean views. We also have a beautiful infinity pool from where you can watch the sun set into the Pacific. Santa Teresa is one of the best surf spots in Costa Rica. We offer surf instruction/lessons and can provide surfboard rental. We are two childhood friends in our thirties from Buenos Aires, Argentina. Growing up our passions included travelling, surfing and making new friends. Hosting people comes naturally to us. Our main goal is to create a space where you can have fun and relax while surrounded by natural beauty. A place where you will be treated like a guest, not a client, and have the best possible time ever in Santa Teresa. To accomplish that we will provide you with the personal attention that you deserve and the comforts that you need. We want you to feel at home here in paradise... Come and join us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gumbo Limbo Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumbo Limbo Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
Gumbo Limbo Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Limbo Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.