We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again For Another Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Limbo Villas

Save Saved
You added Gumbo Limbo Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gumbo Limbo Villas
400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Clemente, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Back Again For Another Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Just returned from another stay at Gumbo Limbo Villas in Santa Teresa. Made the annual pilgrimage to Costa Rica's fun zone, this time with the boys. Booked out the hotel and scored South Swells in Mal Pais and Santa Teresa for ten days straight. Surf was anywhere from chest-high to double-overhead and absolutely pumping, which is par for the course during May-July.

Staying with Sonny and Michele(sp?) is always a good time and the services keep improving each year that I return. The food at the restaurant is always spot-on, with yummy after-surf breakfasts and a dinner menu that, although consistently influenced by Michele's Italian heritage, is constantly evolving and never ceases to amaze the palette.

Guest services have definitely improved, as well. I think that this is partly due to customer feedback and part of it is just the learning curve of running a boutique hotel. Maid service has stepped up a notch, the rooms have a bit more personality with some art on the walls and the addition of air conditioning is a bonus, although not entirely necessary in my opinion. (Gumbo Limbo is on top of the hill overlooking town, so the dry, dusty air that that can be almost suffocating at the street level is cool and refreshing after making its way up the foliage-covered hillside).

Ten days of surfing, eating, sleep and repeat at Gumbo Limbo is a recipe for rebooting. The friendly and accommodating atmosphere enhance the Pura Vida vibe that embodies the Costa Rican experience. At 41, I want it served up on a silver platter, and Gumbo Limbo consistently performs. Do yourself a favor and book a stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
41
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Gumbo Limbo sits on top of a hill over looking the Pacific Ocean. Every day was a complete adventure. Breakfast was always perfect with coffee, fresh tropical fruits with granola and breakfast burritos. Sonny, Luli, and Michele were more than accommodating. We ate in about 5 different restaurants in Santa Teresa yet Gumbo Limbo's Cucina Italiana was the best food we had in town. I had a craving for seafood one night and Sonny picked up some fresh fish for us and Luli made the Best ceviche I have ever had! And the pizza she made was beyond delicious. I have been in Italy and her pizza is even better than the pizzas they make in Milano and Roma

Our room was cleaned every day and so was the infinity pool that was below our villa. The villa we stayed at was equipped with a small refrigerator (great for bringing back mangoes we picked from a tree nearby), a dining table set, and a hammock for outdoor naps.

We were sad to leave this place. We enjoyed every minute!

Room Tip: Any room should be fine as the place sits on a hil
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I loved staying at Gumbo Limbo. We stayed in the smaller villa which was quite spacious and very comfortable. Sonny could not have been nicer and more helpful with advice on where to eat, where to surf, what to see, etc. Also, he and his girlfriend prepared awesome meals for us - ceviche was the best I've ever had. You can lay in bed and hear the ocean below, as well as the monkeys and birds in the trees! It was awesome! Very quiet and beautiful. Would definitely go back - and hope to soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

high above the town and the dust, gumbo limo is a beautiful private
hotel with great views of the ocean and jungle. . the pool is a private oasis right in front of our room. sonny is a grat host and can help with all sorts of activities
yoga, surfing, eating, zipline, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: ask for the rooms near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

The Gumbo Limbo is place to stay in ST, CR. Great location with a killer view. It was pretty killer staying up on the hill where they are located. It's safe (less likely for thievery) with large rooms to spread out and relax after a long day of surfing in the sun and heat. Loved how it cools down at night thanks to a light breeze from the hills - no need to be locked inside a room with ac when you can sleep with open air rooms.
Best of all, its on top of great, uncrowded beach break and the staff can help get whatever you need (boards, directions, groceries, restaurants, transportation, etc.).

Had a great time and I can't wait to do it again!

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Gumbo Limbo is a perfect hotel for a couple. The atmophere is quiet, no noise, no dust of the road, and you can enjoy a magnificent view. I stayed with my husband in january, I found everything I wonted, above the kindness, but also good food, so I relaxed for a week between the forest and the swimming pool. Truly exceptional ...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Gumbo Limbo is a nice, friendly place with a very nice oceanview. 15-20 min walk from the beach takes you up to Gambo Limbo. Its a good excercise up to Gumbo Limbo but its worth it. Staff is very friendly and helped us to book daytrips and shuttle. And dont forget the food there, its really good.
We will recommened Gumbo Limbo.

Daniel & Lisa from Sweden

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gumbo Limbo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbo Limbo Villas

Address: 400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Specialty lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumbo Limbo Villas is a boutique bed & breakfast nestled in the hills of Playa Santa Teresa on Costa Rica's lush Nicoya peninsula. We offer 2 villas and 2 private rooms, each of them with amazing ocean views. We also have a beautiful infinity pool from where you can watch the sun set into the Pacific. Santa Teresa is one of the best surf spots in Costa Rica. We offer surf instruction/lessons and can provide surfboard rental. We are two childhood friends in our thirties from Buenos Aires, Argentina. Growing up our passions included travelling, surfing and making new friends. Hosting people comes naturally to us. Our main goal is to create a space where you can have fun and relax while surrounded by natural beauty. A place where you will be treated like a guest, not a client, and have the best possible time ever in Santa Teresa. To accomplish that we will provide you with the personal attention that you deserve and the comforts that you need. We want you to feel at home here in paradise... Come and join us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gumbo Limbo Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumbo Limbo Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
Gumbo Limbo Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Limbo Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.