We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Limbo Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gumbo Limbo Villas to your Saves list
Gumbo Limbo Villas
400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Gumbo Limbo sits on top of a hill over looking the Pacific Ocean. Every day was a complete adventure. Breakfast was always perfect with coffee, fresh tropical fruits with granola and breakfast burritos. Sonny, Luli, and Michele were more than accommodating. We ate in about 5 different restaurants in Santa Teresa yet Gumbo Limbo's Cucina Italiana was the best food we had in town. I had a craving for seafood one night and Sonny picked up some fresh fish for us and Luli made the Best ceviche I have ever had! And the pizza she made was beyond delicious. I have been in Italy and her pizza is even better than the pizzas they make in Milano and Roma

Our room was cleaned every day and so was the infinity pool that was below our villa. The villa we stayed at was equipped with a small refrigerator (great for bringing back mangoes we picked from a tree nearby), a dining table set, and a hammock for outdoor naps.

We were sad to leave this place. We enjoyed every minute!

Room Tip: Any room should be fine as the place sits on a hil
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I loved staying at Gumbo Limbo. We stayed in the smaller villa which was quite spacious and very comfortable. Sonny could not have been nicer and more helpful with advice on where to eat, where to surf, what to see, etc. Also, he and his girlfriend prepared awesome meals for us - ceviche was the best I've ever had. You can lay in bed and hear the ocean below, as well as the monkeys and birds in the trees! It was awesome! Very quiet and beautiful. Would definitely go back - and hope to soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

high above the town and the dust, gumbo limo is a beautiful private
hotel with great views of the ocean and jungle. . the pool is a private oasis right in front of our room. sonny is a grat host and can help with all sorts of activities
yoga, surfing, eating, zipline, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: ask for the rooms near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

The Gumbo Limbo is place to stay in ST, CR. Great location with a killer view. It was pretty killer staying up on the hill where they are located. It's safe (less likely for thievery) with large rooms to spread out and relax after a long day of surfing in the sun and heat. Loved how it cools down at night thanks to a light breeze from the hills - no need to be locked inside a room with ac when you can sleep with open air rooms.
Best of all, its on top of great, uncrowded beach break and the staff can help get whatever you need (boards, directions, groceries, restaurants, transportation, etc.).

Had a great time and I can't wait to do it again!

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Gumbo Limbo is a perfect hotel for a couple. The atmophere is quiet, no noise, no dust of the road, and you can enjoy a magnificent view. I stayed with my husband in january, I found everything I wonted, above the kindness, but also good food, so I relaxed for a week between the forest and the swimming pool. Truly exceptional ...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Gumbo Limbo is a nice, friendly place with a very nice oceanview. 15-20 min walk from the beach takes you up to Gambo Limbo. Its a good excercise up to Gumbo Limbo but its worth it. Staff is very friendly and helped us to book daytrips and shuttle. And dont forget the food there, its really good.
We will recommened Gumbo Limbo.

Daniel & Lisa from Sweden

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The location and view do not disappoint. However, we just didn't get the service to rate this place as highly as others. It was bad luck for us - we stayed there when Sonny was away having a baby. The other owner had family staying with him. So, we were kinda on our own. Not sure why, but they didn't have maid service while we were there. I've stayed at less expensive places in Costa Rica, and had better service. The outdoor bathroom in our villa was quite dirty after a few days without maid service. My husband had to ask for a broom to sweep up the leaves. There was a guy there who swept the area for us, but the point is ... we had to ask to keep our bathroom tidy. We also had to ask for toilet paper, rather than having it restocked for us. We were actually quite angry when we read about others getting such a good breakfast. We got "buffet-style" fruit and toast with bad coffee. The location and villas are wonderful. We enjoyed the larger villa with the pool in front, which felt like our own private resort. They are perched high up a hill with a dirt road, so 4WD is a must (though I understand there was talk of paving a portion of the road). The hike on foot down to the beach was great exercise.

Living in Costa Rica and running a hotel is certainly a dream life for many. But, you're still running a service-based business. You shouldn't take your guests for granted. Next time we go to Santa Teresa, we'll be booking at Florablanca.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumbo Limbo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbo Limbo Villas

Address: 400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumbo Limbo is a unique bed & breakfast located in the hills of Santa Teresa, just 2 minutes to Santa Teresa beach and town. Along with stunning ocean views, Gumbo Limbo's central, hilltop location provides seclusion- a nice break from the dust and bustle of town, while being only a 2 minute drive to the beach and main road. A 4x4 vehicle, which is generally better for Costa Rica roads, is recommended to reach our property. Each of our villas is surrounded by lush, tropical nature, giving total privacy, comfort, and a real feeling of being in the jungle. From every corner of our property, you can find amazing ocean and mountain views. Our beautiful infinity pool is the perfect spot to relax and watch the best sunsets Santa Teresa has to offer. A full breakfast is included in your stay. It is served each morning in our ocean view dining area. Some of our breakfast options include granola and yogurt with fresh fruits, eggs with gallo pinto, or pancakes, all served with fresh Costa Rican coffee. Our guests are our priority. It comes natural for us to host people and make new friends, so it is our pleasure to cover every small detail and accommodate our guests' needs so that they have the best time while staying with us. Many of our guests have told us that their experience visiting Gumbo Limbo felt more like staying with old friends, than staying at a hotel. Whether it's sharing a surf session or an Argentinean asado together, we look forward to having you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gumbo Limbo Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumbo Limbo Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
Gumbo Limbo Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Limbo Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.