We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Teresa Surf trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Limbo Villas

Save Saved
You added Gumbo Limbo Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gumbo Limbo Villas
400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
“Santa Teresa Surf trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

The Gumbo Limbo is place to stay in ST, CR. Great location with a killer view. It was pretty killer staying up on the hill where they are located. It's safe (less likely for thievery) with large rooms to spread out and relax after a long day of surfing in the sun and heat. Loved how it cools down at night thanks to a light breeze from the hills - no need to be locked inside a room with ac when you can sleep with open air rooms.
Best of all, its on top of great, uncrowded beach break and the staff can help get whatever you need (boards, directions, groceries, restaurants, transportation, etc.).

Had a great time and I can't wait to do it again!

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
41
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Gumbo Limbo is a perfect hotel for a couple. The atmophere is quiet, no noise, no dust of the road, and you can enjoy a magnificent view. I stayed with my husband in january, I found everything I wonted, above the kindness, but also good food, so I relaxed for a week between the forest and the swimming pool. Truly exceptional ...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Gumbo Limbo is a nice, friendly place with a very nice oceanview. 15-20 min walk from the beach takes you up to Gambo Limbo. Its a good excercise up to Gumbo Limbo but its worth it. Staff is very friendly and helped us to book daytrips and shuttle. And dont forget the food there, its really good.
We will recommened Gumbo Limbo.

Daniel & Lisa from Sweden

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The location and view do not disappoint. However, we just didn't get the service to rate this place as highly as others. It was bad luck for us - we stayed there when Sonny was away having a baby. The other owner had family staying with him. So, we were kinda on our own. Not sure why, but they didn't have maid service while we were there. I've stayed at less expensive places in Costa Rica, and had better service. The outdoor bathroom in our villa was quite dirty after a few days without maid service. My husband had to ask for a broom to sweep up the leaves. There was a guy there who swept the area for us, but the point is ... we had to ask to keep our bathroom tidy. We also had to ask for toilet paper, rather than having it restocked for us. We were actually quite angry when we read about others getting such a good breakfast. We got "buffet-style" fruit and toast with bad coffee. The location and villas are wonderful. We enjoyed the larger villa with the pool in front, which felt like our own private resort. They are perched high up a hill with a dirt road, so 4WD is a must (though I understand there was talk of paving a portion of the road). The hike on foot down to the beach was great exercise.

Living in Costa Rica and running a hotel is certainly a dream life for many. But, you're still running a service-based business. You shouldn't take your guests for granted. Next time we go to Santa Teresa, we'll be booking at Florablanca.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

....a rough road brings you to the town of Santa Teresa, there dust will cloud you view, restaurants, guesthouses, shops, housing and huts are mangled together, the whole town surrounded by forest lines up along one of the greatest tropical beaches and seems to be in disarray but soon you get to love that place because of its unconformity. You continue the road to turn right up the hill into nowhere to find Gumbo Limbo. There you are submerged in the jungle with a fantastic view, very comfortable bungalows and excellent restaurant. Congratulations to Michele and Sonny which have build a true relaxing and enjoyable place full of life ...monkeys, iguanas and lots of birds which wake you up early in the morning to take advantage of the day!
Wish the team good luck and happy guests

Donate and Heinrich Stillfried

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longmont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

This was a first-time trip to CR, and a small group of us were trying to stay just a bit off the beaten path, yet in accomodations that were clean & comfortable. We had little to go on, yet found Gumbo Limbo through their website. We stayed several nights, and we were all very happy with the choice. There are many options for lodging in Santa Teresa, but you never know what's a hit and what's a miss until you get there. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It is a wonderful hotel, only 4 rooms so very personal and quiet. Everything is very clean and well cared for, it is away from all teh dirt of the main street, the view is excellent. Mikaeli (sorry if I mispelled that man) and Sonny were awesome giving us surf lessons, sooking fabulous food, giving other travel suggestions, and booking tours. We could not have asked for a better stay, and will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gumbo Limbo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbo Limbo Villas

Address: 400 mtrs East and 200 mtrs South of Brunelas Hostel, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumbo Limbo Villas is a boutique bed & breakfast set atop the hills of beautiful Playa Santa Teresa on Costa Rica's lush Nicoya peninsula. Each luxurious accommodation overlooks the Pacific Ocean and possesses commanding panoramic ocean and jungle views. Relax and scan the horizon from this unique hillside hideaway for migrating sea life, feast your eyes on a magnificent sunset, check the surf conditions from the best perch on the Nicoya peninsula or simply enjoy a refreshing beverage in the resort's elegantly designed infinity pool and surrender to the beauty of the nature that surrounds you. Whatever your vacation interests are, be it catching the next pumping pacific swell, exploring the wonders of Cabo Blanco Absolute Reserve or just unwinding from the everyday stress of a busy lifestyle, Gumbo Limbo Villas is ideally situated and designed to ensure that you get the most out of your visit to Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gumbo Limbo Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumbo Limbo Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
Gumbo Limbo Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Limbo Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.