We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good memories from cuesta arriba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cuesta Arriba Hotel to your Saves list
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
150 meters North From La Lora Amarilla, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good memories from cuesta arriba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at cuesta arriba. It was a true relief arriving a hostel where the rooms, sheets, bathrooms, kitchen and fridge were in spotless conditions. The owners take their job seriously, and really make an effort to keep the place immaculate. There are quite a few rules at the hostel, but i think all of them are reasonable. It might not be a party-hostel considering the 11pm quiet time, but we didn't really have a problem with that as we went to the bars down the street, or the beach after quiet time. But that makes this hostel perfect for people who like to get u p and do stuff in the morning, sharing travelling stories and advice, and who enjoy getting a good nights sleep when its needed.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, anything from borrowing dvds, bus schedules to ordering pizza delivery in spanish on the phone

If i could change something though, it would be making the tv lounge a bit more comfy

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    29
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
39
56
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed three nights here, in one of the private rooms with a/c. What we liked and didn't like:
Likes:
- clean, cute decor
- comfortable bed
- pool
- location - close to the beach
- kitchen was decent
- wifi was good, we could get it in our room

Dislikes
- in the TV room there is hardly any furniture to sit on
- there were signs EVERYWHERE telling you what to do, what not to do, in big capital letters; not very welcoming
- the "breakfast" -- they say breakfast is included and even call themselves a B&B - the breakfast consists of toast and coffee. that's it. i was really, really not impressed by that, especially after staying in other similarly priced hostels in costa rica who had breakfast included. see wide mouth frog in quepos for how to do one properly.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

this place is an absolute nightmare. perfect location. clean. safe. nice pool. almost makes you think youve found the best hostel ever. wrong. kind of reminded me of a bitter doorman, pissed off at the world that hes not quite good enough to be a policeman. i dont know what the owners of this hostel/school want but im pretty sure their in the wrong line of business. and to top it off their charging big rates. for me the owners of a hostel are what makes it, and these lot made it feel like we were all back at school. terribly unpersonnal, rude, not understanding to the travelers needs. and completley stupidly adherent to their own kitchen and noise rules which is all good if you want to rest and go to sleep early but if you want to have a few drinks at night and have a luagh, you will have to deal with many scowls and unwelcoming glances. one of those places that does what it says on the tin and little else. give me the money and leave. how people recommend this place ill never know. this is a business, not a hostal. or maybe people are just too used to this kind of treatment to bother noticing whats going on there but you certainly wont be leaving telling people what a great time you had. if i had to recommend this hostal to anyone it would be to retired folk who need a good nights sleep. if you want some fun then i suggest keeping your lonely planet closed and asking around. like i say, such a shame cos its got everything you need for a hostel bar the dobermen like owners. if anyone goes there and has fun or gets a smile out of either of les miserables do let me know. im sure youve succeeded where many of us have failed. if this lot could charge an additional fee for you to breathe on their land im sure they would. and theyd put a sign up telling you so. they love their signs there. dont do this dont do that. be out for this time or we will charge you out of your deposit. really, what a joke. the most fun people have their is laughing at the owners. free breakfast.... two bits of bread. nice one cheers



woof woof

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papadopulus, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Cuesta Arriba B&B. When guests check in we explain to them that quiet time starts at 11pm. At 11pm we very occasionally have to ask guests to turn off music and talk more quietly. However there are several bars in town, including one which is just 1 block down the road. During the high season there are also plenty of parties on the beach.

Cuesta Arriba B&B Hostel is a mellow sort of establishment and we attract a diverse and laidback crowd. Many of our guests are surfers, or learner surfers, because we are located right by the best surf break. After a long day of surfing many of our guests want to get a good night´s sleep. We also have to be respectful to our neighbours who live and work here year round.

As for ¨charging big rates¨ let us state the facts. During the high season we charge $15 a night in the dormitory rooms, and $50 a night for 2 people in a private room. The rooms are clean, safe and comfortable. Guests can have a free breakfast and free wifi use. Our facilities include a swimming pool, a big kitchen area and a comfortable tv lounge with hundreds of dvds to rent for free. We believe we provide excellent value at a very affordable rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

If you get to Santa Teresa then this is one of the hostels only 2 minutes from the beach.

Great for backpackers, but $15 for a dormitory bed is the highest I've paid in Costa Rica! Our room had a horrendously squeaky fan too. The people staying there made it a great experience but the owner was rude and charged an extortionate exchange rate when I wanted to pay in the local currency rather than dollars. Be warned, take dollars!

She was abrupt not only to me and I got the sense that after they'd appeared in the Lonely Planet, they were rubbing their hands together with glee as they'd been full ever since. There is nowhere comfortable to sit - no hammocks or sofas - and the pool looked a little murky, although this didn't put others off.

Can't help but think they still need to offer a good service, even though they've got a stream of guests, it pays to be nice to them.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuestaarriba, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
We are very sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay at Cuesta Arriba. During the high season dormitory beds cost $15 a nightand we believe this is excellent value for what we offer. Our rooms are clean, spacious, safe, and well maintained. There is a free breakfast, a big kitchen area, a beautiful swimming pool, free wifi, and a comfortable tv lounge area with hundreds of dvds to hire for free. It is unfortunate that you didn't tell us about the problem with the fan because we could have fixed it straight away. We also work very hard to provide an excellent service and at reception we offer lots of advice and information to ensure that guests have a great time.
Our current exchange rate is $1 = 530 colones, this is approximately 20 colones (or 0.04 US cents) more than the exchange rate at the bank. It is therefore rather unfair to describe our exchange rate as“extortionate”.
We are recommended in the LP, but we are always striving to improve our services. Most of our guests visit us because of a personal recommendation from a friend, and this is much more important to us than a guide book recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We got into town late one night and where looking for a moderate priced hotel - everywhere in town was booked and when we got to Cuesta Arriba Martin and Barbara were so nice and helpful, they pointed us to their friends hotel for the night because Cuesta Arriba was full - we then made arrangements to stay at Cuesta Arriba the following 3 nights. What a good decision - we enjoyed our stay at their friends Hotel Raratonga it was a great place. When we came back to Cuesta Arriba the following day to get the room we reserved Martin was so helpful and set us up right away with surf board rentals, wax and a local instructor. We met so many cool people at Cuesta Arriba from all over the world and just hanging out at the pool was very nice, clean, and relaxing! They even have a yoga studio onsite. I can't say enough good things about Cuesta Arriba and the service they provide is excellent for the price! We had a great time at Cuesta Arriba and extended our stay here because we liked it so much. We definately will stay there again!

Room Tip: Get the private room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

As a frequent traveler I have come across many hostels, hotel rooms and apartments. Of this list, hostels have become my least favorite over the years as the beds were always crap, the showers were dirty, noisy roommates, small refrigerators, no swimming pool and actually this list can go on and on.

When I booked my flight to Costa Rica a friend of mine recommended me Cuesta Arriba as she had the most amazing time. Myself being a bit hesitant on the hostel-side, took the chance, trusted my friend and headed off to Cuesta Arriba.

Honestly I have never had a holiday where I have stayed in such a nice hostel and met so many amazing people. Every day has been a paradise, roommates were considerate and fun to hang out with, the yoga lessons were divine, the ocean is across the street, this hostel even has a swimming pool, the rooms were nice and broad, the shower and toilet were cleaned every day and even my bed got cleaned once every 3 days. Seriously I will be back. Additionally you have the best soda around the corner and a supermarket 200 meters away so yo can prepare your own dinner as well.

So I would not have wanted to stay anywhere else. I wanted a holiday with surf, yoga, surf, meeting nice people, enjoy the environment and have loads of fun...and I got it all.

Thanks Cuesta Arriba you will see me next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Just got back from yet another trip to Santa Teresa and can't say enough about Barbara and Martin at Cuesta. The rooms are clean and spacious for a hostel accommodation, had a good sized communal kitchen, a great common room where you can enjoy yoga in the morning with a great instructor or chill watching a movie in the evenings.
I've traveled a lot and stayed many places and I would not hesitate to go straight back here on my next trip in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cuesta Arriba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Address: 150 meters North From La Lora Amarilla, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style hotel surrounded by trees and tropical gardens with unique affordable rooms. The hotel features a communal kitchen,resting areas, hammocks and a sparkling pool in the landscaped garden. Complimentary coffee and toast served from 7AM till 9AM, free Wireless is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cuesta Arriba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuesta Arriba Bed And Breakfast Hostel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Santa Teresa
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuesta Arriba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.