We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wave Trotter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wave Trotter to your Saves list
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wavetrotter is a very special hostel, both because of the layout and the people. It's very spacious and open and you don't really feel like you are inside. There is a nice kitchen for communal use, and the bathrooms are nice and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful! I stayed in the dorm and the beds are nice and sturdy and the rooms are very airy and open. It's a short walk to the beach, and there's a couple of spots to choose from. This is really a great hostel, I would stay here if I go back to ST!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Wave trotter for a week end (2 nights) in dorms. It was fun as we met great people there, the beach nearby is very appealing and not overcrowded of tourists.

The hostel is fine, the dorms are clean, you get your fresh sheet when you check in. And there is a fan in each dorm to survive the heat. There are lockers as well in each dorm which is good to keep your valuables safe.

In terms of safety it was OK, but sometimes you wonder if a few random people could easily access the place without being noticed. So, just as a security measure, keep your valuables safe. By night there is a need of a code to enter the place, which we felt was a great measure.

Apart from that the staff is very helpful, you can rent a surf board directly at the hostel for a fair price. The staff is also happy to organize a taxi to go out at night, as the road is very dusty, and Santa Teresa being quite a spreaded place, you may need to walk a lot to reach the place you want.

Overall positive, it's a good value for money place and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Superfriendly staff who helps you with everything you ask for!
Always fresh and clean. Toilet and showers are nice!
I lived in both dorm, private room and the apartment and all rooms were good!!!
It's open and you feel very welcome. Like your own home.
I totally recommend this great hostel to everyone!
I know where to stay next time I go to Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best places i have stayed at! Absolutely the most "worth the money". Both private rooms and doorms are superclean, Giovanni the owner is so friendly and helpfull! the communal area and kitchen is very nice and clean! Feels like home when you enter the place in the first time and its like one big familly staying in the same place! Made some new friends here and Will definately stay here if i get back to CR!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Really friendly athmosphere and a nice welcoming from the owner. The house are really fresch and wellplaned. Nice and clean,open and lightly. Most of the people here do surfing and its a chill atmosphere.
We staid in one of the apparments for four persons with our own bathroom,the best place of all hostels we tryed in costa rica! Its close to the beach and the restaurants. The owner helps you with all your questions and so on. We really recomment this place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012 via mobile

Chill place. Even though is is a bit more expensive than most other places, it is worth it. Even, if you stay a week it is 10% off. Central, close enough to the beach and not too young ppl (25+). My space the next time too!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Wave Trotter is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The light space open plan layout makes it seem like more of a guest house, with the big high ceiling bedrooms roomy and airy, they could easily fit another bed in but they don't so that you have more space to relax. All the rooms have fans in to help keep you cool. To say the place is clean is an understatement, hot water showers (which for $12 in Costa Rica is not that common!) seperate female and male bathrooms which are done to such a high standard. The open plan living with the family also using the kitchen make it feel more like a guest house or a home then your run of the mill hostel, with tunes playing during the day (except in siasta time) and a laid back vibe. You can happily sit in a hammock or relax in the garden, for surfers and non surfers alike, if you surf there is space for your board, and loads of local knowledge like the best waves for the tides and times of day. They will even pick you up on a quad bike should you miss the turning!

Room Tip: most stunning place I've stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wave Trotter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Trotter

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Wave Trotter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wave Trotter Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wave Trotter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.