We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fuego Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fuego Lodge to your Saves list
Fuego Lodge
100 m North from the soccer field | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquidea Lodge)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed here for 2 weeks, and absolutely loved it. Very comfortable, spacious, and clean rooms. 2 steps from a gorgeous beach with amazing surf, and the absolute best hospitality we had in Costa Rica. Very highly recommended !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
44
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Staying at Orquidea felt like staying at the home of an old friend. Barbara and Itay were incredible hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. The room was nice, clean and faced a beautiful garden and pool. The lodge is within walking distance to the beach and many good restaurants. On my last day in Santa Teresa, I found out that the tour company would not be able to take me to Arenal Volcano, as I had planned. Barbara made some phone calls, went on the internet, and navigated the confusing Costa Rican bus schedules so that I would be able go on the next leg of my trip. I wouldn't have been able to do this on m own. Not only did she make sure that I had everything I needed while at her lodge, she made sure that I had a great time in Costa Rica! I highly recommend Orquidea. This is where I'll be staying the next time I'm in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

we are coming to Santa Teresa twice a year for few years now and without a doubt orquidea lodge is one of the safest and cleanest places out there, its a walking distance from the best surf point s and yet very quite, the management is great and the price is very reasonable. Can’t ask for more, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The place was nice and clean and very comfortable, it was a skip away from the beautiful beaches and other activities. We rented ATV's just next door and cruised around town. It is a great place for surfers and families!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The people and place are amazing. Its in an amazing location and well worth the price. Perfect spot to chill out for a month and surf. Everything is really clean and brand new and the people who own the place are really cool. They totally go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. Love it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

For those traveling to Santa Teresa, there are many housing options. I have done much research in my quest to find the ideal place to stay during my vacation there. My research paid off big dividends when I made the decision to stay at Orquidea Lodge. Located in the center of Santa, this magical lodge was amazing to say the least. The rooms are brand new and the pool area is just amazing. The Lodge is owned by a charming family that treats all guests as though they are just that – Family. The lady of the house is a young energetic lady that took care of everything for us from booking Yoga classes, massages, and surfing lesson. She also got us the best rates on the continuation of our travels in Costa Rica. I highly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

as a surfer the location was perfect, a short walk to a great santa teresa beach break, the room is big and comfortable and very clean, the pool was great, we hang out with the rest of the hotel guests and got to meet new people. Barbara and Itay the owners of this lovely hotel were magnificent, worm and friendly, Itay is a great surfer and gave us the local scoops about where and when to surf. Barbara knows everything about the area and was very helpful to us daily, she recommended the best restaurants, shopping, yoga and massages. I cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fuego Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuego Lodge

Address: 100 m North from the soccer field | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquidea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuego lodge, is a family-owned business.We offer 6 units, One and Two-bedroom apartments, a Penthouse or Honeymooners Suite, and 3 Pool Front Suites for up to 4 persons each.All have AC, private bathroom with hot water, free Wi-Fi, Fridge, safe & Coffee Maker. Some also have kitchen and Satellite TV, phone, and daily cleaning service and fresh towels are included in all arrangements.We are located in Santa Teresa, about 1.5 miles from Mal Pais’ main cross road, inside a gated property, on a private and quiet location, off the street yet in the middle of everything, 5 minutes walk from groceries stores, bakery, pizza places, 7-8 restaurants, yoga centers, and with beach access only 500ft from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fuego Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuego Hotel Santa Teresa
Fuego Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuego Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.