We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place...best spot to chill and surf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fuego Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fuego Lodge
Save Saved
You added Fuego Lodge to your Saves list
100 m North from the soccer field | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquidea Lodge)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love this place...best spot to chill and surf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The people and place are amazing. Its in an amazing location and well worth the price. Perfect spot to chill out for a month and surf. Everything is really clean and brand new and the people who own the place are really cool. They totally go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. Love it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
44
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

For those traveling to Santa Teresa, there are many housing options. I have done much research in my quest to find the ideal place to stay during my vacation there. My research paid off big dividends when I made the decision to stay at Orquidea Lodge. Located in the center of Santa, this magical lodge was amazing to say the least. The rooms are brand new and the pool area is just amazing. The Lodge is owned by a charming family that treats all guests as though they are just that – Family. The lady of the house is a young energetic lady that took care of everything for us from booking Yoga classes, massages, and surfing lesson. She also got us the best rates on the continuation of our travels in Costa Rica. I highly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

as a surfer the location was perfect, a short walk to a great santa teresa beach break, the room is big and comfortable and very clean, the pool was great, we hang out with the rest of the hotel guests and got to meet new people. Barbara and Itay the owners of this lovely hotel were magnificent, worm and friendly, Itay is a great surfer and gave us the local scoops about where and when to surf. Barbara knows everything about the area and was very helpful to us daily, she recommended the best restaurants, shopping, yoga and massages. I cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

From the minute we arrived we felt comfortable and relaxed. Barbara and Itay really went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Their Lodge is beautiful! Everything was spotless and well kept the entire time. They arranged our cab ride from the airport and this was so helpful. They even helped us buy fresh fish. Their kindness and generosity were amazing. We loved the monkeys we could see from the deck! Our trip to Santa Teresa is something we'll always remember and staying at the Orquidea was perfect. We highly recommend staying there!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We had a great time in Santa Teresa mostly due to the gracious hospitality of the Orquidea lodge owners/operators. Barbara and Itay made our stay very easy by giving us the information we needed to get around town. In town there are good restaurants and great atmosphere. There is yoga just up the street. Barbara arranged to have fresh fish for us to eat, and made sure that we had all of the comforts of home. The lodge has great views from the porch. The beds are comfortable and the bedrooms have air-conditioning, allowing for a great nights sleep after a day on the beach and surfing. The lodge has satellite TV and a full kitchen. These amenities and the exceptional hospitality of the owners guaranteed our return to Orquidea for our next visit to Santa Teresa. We are all looking forward to our next surf vacation!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Orquidea Lodge is a newer hacienda-style house with three apartments. The main bedroom is open, loft-style, so you don't have as much privacy as you might like. But the
house has every convenience and the owners, who live next door, are extremely affable and accommodating. Santa Theresa was a wonderful surprise. Gorgeous beach -- the best in the whole southern Nicoya, even if you are not into surfing. Very clean. Fabulous sunsets. From the house it is a short walk to the beach, to a number of good restaurants -- our favorite had the misleading name "Burger Rancho" -- there are hamburgers on the menu, but the fresh fish was out of this world -- two markets, and a place to rent scooters and ATVs. Orchidea Lodge would have been more than satisfactory at twice the price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

My wife and I came across the Orquidea Lodge while looking for a place to stay in Santa Teresa. We sent emails to several of the owners, but heard back from only a few. Of those, Barbara was the first to respond, as well as the most informative. In fact before we had decided to stay with her she had told us all about Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. She was kind of like our inside guide. As we kept asking questions and researching the Orquidea Lodge we found Barbara and Itai's hospitality was something that all of the other travelers had shared in their review. We decided to stay at the Orquidea Lodge and it far exceeded our expectations. The pictures on the website do not do justice to how beautiful and homey this place really is. After staying there for a few days, we found ourselves contemplating what life might be like living in Mal Pais. We had an amazing time in Mal Pais, and we credit Barbara and Itai for that. Barbara had a driver pick us up from the airport, and we were more than happy to see him. He was the kind face in a bunch of cab drivers. His name is Richard Mora, (ask Barbara to schedule him to pick you up.) Barbara and Itai also set us up with surf lessons from one of their friends, Amit, who used to be a professional surfer and rented us surf boards for cheaper than any of the other shops. Also Amit both delivered and picked up the boards right at our door. We also knew where to eat, and where to avoid and we had the freedom to drop in, hang out and ask as much about Mal Pais as we wanted to know. In trip costs, staying with Barbara and Itai saved us a lot of money. They helped direct us to the type of people you want to rent from who offered a lot cheaper prices. By the way, they don't mention on the website, but there is a maid that comes in everyday and cleans and brings fresh towels. That was a huge bonus, and something that wasn't common among the other places we looked. The hospitality that we received from Barbara and Itai made our trip to Santa Teresa one of the best trips we have ever taken. Highly recommend them and the Orquidea Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fuego Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuego Lodge

Address: 100 m North from the soccer field | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquidea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuego lodge, is a family-owned business.We offer 6 units, One and Two-bedroom apartments, a Penthouse or Honeymooners Suite, and 3 Pool Front Suites for up to 4 persons each.All have AC, private bathroom with hot water, free Wi-Fi, Fridge, safe & Coffee Maker. Some also have kitchen and Satellite TV, phone, and daily cleaning service and fresh towels are included in all arrangements.We are located in Santa Teresa, about 1.5 miles from Mal Pais’ main cross road, inside a gated property, on a private and quiet location, off the street yet in the middle of everything, 5 minutes walk from groceries stores, bakery, pizza places, 7-8 restaurants, yoga centers, and with beach access only 500ft from here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fuego Hotel Santa Teresa
Fuego Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuego Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.