We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fuego Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Fuego Lodge to your Saves list
Fuego Lodge
100 m North from the soccer field | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquidea Lodge)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise found!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Santa Teresa is an absolute jewel for a holiday destination and we were so blessed to have stayed in one of the best hotels in the area.... We were very lucky to have come across Fuego lodge (a gem) as a recommendation from Horizon who were unable to accommodate us for the time we required - we had planned to stay for only 5 nights and ended up staying there for the entire holiday and cancelling plans for other activities due to the hospitality we received at Fuego Lodge. The owners Barbara and Etay are so lovely and laid back, it was like living at home with your family - they catered for every need with a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were extremely clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The pool was amazing !! I willl definately be coming back to Fuego Lodge purely p exceeded my expectations on both counts !! Barbara and Etay have truly created an exceptional place to stay in paradise :)

Hope to see you very soon!

Room Tip: Comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
43
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Recently my daughter and I spent eight days at the the Fuego and the experience was OUTSTANDING! The owners are fantastic, the place is clean, neat and the pool is prestine.
I short walk to the beach and far enough away from the main dirt road so dust was not an issue.

The water is soft from a well and our skin felt like silk, a great feeling after a day at the beach!

I wish I could keep this to ourselves for selfish reasons! FUEGO ROCKS! WE LOVED IT!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Penthouse Suite its a long hike up a winding staircase so if you are not in good sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Me and my friend had never been to Costa Rica and so after alot of research and deliberation, we opted for Santa Teresa as an area, and Fuego Lodge as our home. We originally only planned to stay 5 nights, but after such a warm welcome from Barbara and her husband Etay, and the beautiful energy of the lodge, we decided to stay there for our full vacation of 11 nights. The apartments are modern and clean, and serviced everyday by the lovely maid. The mattresses are the most comfortable I have slept on, being told they are better than most 5 star hotels in the area....I must agree. Barbara was always there when you needed advise or help booking anything like taxis etc. Hot water always available, pool very clean, gardens kept looking lush where the rest of the area looked dry. I would highly recommend Fuego Lodge for the best experience of Santa Teresa....so central to all amenities too, that you can walk everywhere easily too, supermarkets and restaurants on your doorstep, as is the beach, only 5 mins walk away. See you again soon!! Nayna and Pramilla - February 2013

Room Tip: We had the penthouse room, which had a nice view of the area, however, all the rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Fuego for 5 nights this February with our three children (10, 8 and 6 yrs old). It was the perfect place for us. Our room was clean and comfortable and we had plenty of room for all five of us. The property itself is a beautiful little oasis about 300 yards from the main road - which is key, because it is just far enough to be quiet and free of the ever present dust from the road - yet is is close enough to be convenient to be an easy walk to Playa Santa Teresa or a drive to Hermosa; both fantastic beaches. The property is beautiful - it felt really great to relax by the pool among the lush trees and plants after a long day on the beach.

Barbara was a wonderful hostess who took great care of us in a way that was more like we were friends than transient guests. She made us feel very welcome and helped us will all kinds of great local guidance and advice. It is easy to say that Barbara made our visit to Santa Teresa fantastic.

Thank you very much Barbara for making our visit to Santa Teresa so great!

John and Tracey Van Hooser - SF, USA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dear Barbara and Itay. It was great to stay as your guests in Fuego Lodge. Thanks for the worm hospitality and for being s wonderful people. Your place is the perfect place to chill out.
Itay, I miss our laughs and talks. From now on, I will use only led lights :-)
See you soon

Room Tip: we couldn't decide if to stay in the apartment our in the pool studio. so... we stayed in each o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This beautiful little apartment lodge is quietly situated a few minutes from the amazing beach Playa Santa Teresa. Location, freshness and the tastefulness of the wonderful lodge apartments is only exceeded by the warm caretaking of the owners Barbara and Etay. We came to stay for a few nights and ended up spending the better part of the month there.

The apartments are newly built, spacious and fully equipped meanwhile the smaller cabinas are the cozy alternative perfect for a couple or the smaller family. I was here with a friend and I'm pleased to say that it is perfect accommodation in all cases.

Fuego Lodge is a very good base camp for exploring the south!western Nicoya peninsula. Although it's walking distance to the beach and most amenities you will need means of transportation to get to and go about Santa Teresa since the whole town is built along one single dirt road and walking can set you back up to 40 minutes.

Be sure to enjoy the pool and just being taken care of!

Thank you Barbara and Etay, I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my 3rd time staying at the Fuego Lodge, it is like vintage wine, it taste better and better with time. the rooms are so beautiful and clean, always hot water and water pressure (not easy to find in CR) and strong AC (January:).
For us the most important part of the stay was the atmosphere and spirit of the place, Barbara and Itay, the owners are always available, always kind and extremely helpful in organizing and recommending the best activities and local places.
Thank you so much, you are a hard working family and it shows - you rock, I can't wait to stay at your Fuego home next time we are in Santa Teresa.
Hugs and kisses to the girls.
Albert Bitton

Room Tip: Great Value, great pool, real mattresses, Clean Clean Clean :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fuego Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuego Lodge

Address: 100 m North from the soccer field | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquidea Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuego lodge, is a family-owned business.We offer 6 units, One and Two-bedroom apartments, a Penthouse or Honeymooners Suite, and 3 Pool Front Suites for up to 4 persons each.All have AC, private bathroom with hot water, free Wi-Fi, Fridge, safe & Coffee Maker. Some also have kitchen and Satellite TV, phone, and daily cleaning service and fresh towels are included in all arrangements.We are located in Santa Teresa, about 1.5 miles from Mal Pais’ main cross road, inside a gated property, on a private and quiet location, off the street yet in the middle of everything, 5 minutes walk from groceries stores, bakery, pizza places, 7-8 restaurants, yoga centers, and with beach access only 500ft from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fuego Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuego Hotel Santa Teresa
Fuego Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuego Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;