We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel in Santa Teresa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luz de Luna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Luna
600m North the Soccer Field | 600m North the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel in Santa Teresa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Luz de Luna, based on NY Magazine recommendation, for four nights. My two friends and I were given a lovely "cabina" with two rooms, kitchen, lovely mosaic tiled bathroom and porch, complete with hammock. Pretty standard for relatively budget CR hotels, but this place has the added benefit of being staffed by the lovely and hospitable Sylvia. Sylvia took great care of us, gave us recommendations and helped us set up surfing lessons and a trip to Tortuga Island. She was well connected in the community and helped us to immediately set up activities. We found Luz de Luna to be very pretty, peaceful, away from the noise of the main road, and convenient to the beach. The pool is nice for dips later in the evening post-beach. The place was very well maintained and clean. Sylvia is a healer and offers excellent massage as well, which we took advantage of - well worth it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are a good distance from the street and noise. Rooms/cabins are fairly close together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A very good place with a very reasonable price. They have a small, clean and very refreshing pool. Clean big rooms with mosquito nets and a fa.n. The owner (don't remember his name) was very helpful and laid back. After we moved in here I didn't want to go anywhere else even tough the beach is only 50 meters away. outside the cabins surrounding the pool is a very lush and beautiful garden with a green iguana (at least when i was there).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Havier, the amazing French man running the show while we where there was the kindest and most friendliest host one could ever want. Helping us find the best deals for transportation by spending hours on the phone and negotiating for us as my Spanish is horrible. The personal bungalows where super clean and airy that even though there was no AC you couldn't complain. The pool was super clean and refreshing and the hammocks on your front porch made the exotic experience worth every lil penny spent.
I would go back there in a second. It has been my favorite place to sleep since the beginning of my trip, being close to anything you may need, and a host with a huge heart.
Do your vacation a favor and enjoy the small town of Santa Teresa in this amazing lil location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

we've been really surprised by the quality of this place during our trip, we've been to 9 different place aroud Costa Rica, and this is our top 1 by far. The bingalowas are very clean, the bathroom is big and made with very good taste, all tropical wood made, 1 minute walking from the beach, wi-fi, swimming pool, you're in the jungle, you can see monkeys, iguanas, squerels it's really confortable and you can cook your own stuff in the bungalow kitchen. Really Strongly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canadá
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We found this hotel by chance and it actually saved our holidays.
Our experience was amazing, rooms are really clean and safe (digital locker), surrounded by trees and animals, 5min walk to paradise beach.
The last morning, I woke up early and I had the chance to see monkeys having their breakfast up in the trees... priceless.
A big thanks to Christophe, the owner for giving us good tips and best value for money.
Looking forward to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location is awesome, since the bungalows are surrounded by trees (at night you can hear the howler monkeys) and the beach (Santa Teresa) is located across the street (approximately 100 meters away). We rented a bungalow for 2 persons, and we got more than what we expected since it was pretty comfortable. The kitchen has everything and more than amateur cook needs, like for example we were able to cook fresh snapper fillets in here without problems :)
Christophe the manager was pretty helpful. He even gave us a few cool tips, like where to buy fresh fish (by fresh, I mean just out of the sea fresh!) at great prices, and also told us about a nice small calm beach in Santa Teresa that only locals know about. Loved the place, and we are expecting to come back anytime soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Totally loved this place it was so relaxing and very enjoyable. The bungalows were surrounded by a beautiful garden and mango trees. The monkeys came to visit daily so that was a great addition.The caretaker Oscar was very friendly and nice. Love Santa Teresa such a great easy going place. !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Address: 600m North the Soccer Field | 600m North the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 6 pilotis wooden bungalows situated in a beautiful tropical garden where you will meet simplicity, peace and calmness. It is at 5 min walking distance to the Santa Teresa main beach. Each cabin was carefully designed to provide the maximum in comfort and privacy for our guests. All rooms includes private bathroom with hot shower, large mosquito net, ceiling fan, private balcony with hammock in front of the garden. Some include a kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Luz de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luz De Luna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.