We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look anywhere else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luz de Luna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Luna
600m North the Soccer Field | 600m North the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canadá
1 review
“Don't look anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We found this hotel by chance and it actually saved our holidays.
Our experience was amazing, rooms are really clean and safe (digital locker), surrounded by trees and animals, 5min walk to paradise beach.
The last morning, I woke up early and I had the chance to see monkeys having their breakfast up in the trees... priceless.
A big thanks to Christophe, the owner for giving us good tips and best value for money.
Looking forward to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location is awesome, since the bungalows are surrounded by trees (at night you can hear the howler monkeys) and the beach (Santa Teresa) is located across the street (approximately 100 meters away). We rented a bungalow for 2 persons, and we got more than what we expected since it was pretty comfortable. The kitchen has everything and more than amateur cook needs, like for example we were able to cook fresh snapper fillets in here without problems :)
Christophe the manager was pretty helpful. He even gave us a few cool tips, like where to buy fresh fish (by fresh, I mean just out of the sea fresh!) at great prices, and also told us about a nice small calm beach in Santa Teresa that only locals know about. Loved the place, and we are expecting to come back anytime soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Totally loved this place it was so relaxing and very enjoyable. The bungalows were surrounded by a beautiful garden and mango trees. The monkeys came to visit daily so that was a great addition.The caretaker Oscar was very friendly and nice. Love Santa Teresa such a great easy going place. !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We arrived and the accomodations were fine for $50 a night. We went to the beach and came back and noticed a lot of ants on the floor and in our suitcases. We followed them back to a bed frame where the was an infestation of large biting ants in the bed, an entire ant population. This is Costa Rica, in the jungle, but this was a mess. What followed was worse. We requested a change of rooms, but they were full. We stated we could not stay in this room and were told the only option was a different hotel. After we packed up and were leaving, the owners calls, yells at us and tells us we have to pay for at least three nights (the original reservation was 5 nights). We left almost in tears. Then we get an email saying we have to pay or the owner will submit our names to the police. We have traveled through Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Mexico and NEVER had anything like this happen. It was awful!! Never stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christophe32, Propriétaire at Hotel Luz de Luna, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are sorry that you did not like your stay at our hotel but let me explain my version as you exageretad what s really happened.
You reserved a wooden bungalow for 5 nights, the day you arrived unfortunately i wasn t here. Anyway the same day the manager call me at 6pm and told me that you didn t want to stay because you saw some hunts closed to one bed. The manager immediately changed the bed sheets and clean the room, but you just went away without paying which is not fair as I refused other guests for you. I m really sorry about that but people has to understand that we are living in Costa Rica, a tropical country and even our effort to take bugs out the rooms, sometimes bug are stronger than us and still coming !
You may did not like our place for any personal reason which I can understand, but leaving the place without paying at least your 1st night, it s not very fair....
Hope you find the right place and you enjoyed Santa Teresa...
Pura Vida
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was looking for a place where i can be able to relax, feel at home, feel and be safe (im traveling by my self) and be able to go walking to a good surf spot and food places any time during the day...Luz de Luna not only offers me that, but also a beautiful silent place, sorrounded by gardens, birds and monkeys... The best surf spot in San Teresa is couple of hundred meters from the cabinas, good restaurants of diferent budgets are not too far... The rooms make me feel in a jungle cocoon, they simply gorgeus!!! I highly recomend this beautiful place where you will find your self in the right place...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We totally loved this place!! great location, lovely pool noce rooms amazing experience all the way!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

It is close to the beach and has a tiny pool, which is nice. Part of the walls are not enclosed but have netting so it can be very noisy and you can hear your neighbors. It was only 70 a night and our room came with a queen and a single bed. It is a good value if you dont mind an open air room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Address: 600m North the Soccer Field | 600m North the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 6 pilotis wooden bungalows situated in a beautiful tropical garden where you will meet simplicity, peace and calmness. It is at 5 min walking distance to the Santa Teresa main beach. Each cabin was carefully designed to provide the maximum in comfort and privacy for our guests. All rooms includes private bathroom with hot shower, large mosquito net, ceiling fan, private balcony with hammock in front of the garden. Some include a kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Luz de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luz De Luna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.