We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaka Beach Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaka Beach Retreat
200 M Norte de Escuela | Village of Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Package Upgrade
Ranked #10 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Apen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pura Vida!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a week here with friends and family. The accomodations were modern and wonderful! This is a very laid back experience...just what we wanted! All the staff, from the cook to the surf instructors (Jerry you rock) were friendly and so accomodating! They really treated us like friends and family! The location could not have been better! AND I learned to surf (to my totaly amazement!)... Hard to come home...we could have just stayed....
One other plus...at this time of year there are virtually NO BUGS!! The flip side to that is that it is very dry and lots of dust...but that didnt bother us too much!
The only negative is the beds...the matresses are very uncomfortable...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
14
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Shaka is an awesome place not just because of the location on Hermosa beach, the amazing property and service but also because of the people we met there. First of all, the "ranch" as it is affectionately known, is a great home base for chilling, learning surfing and just generally hanging out. The short walk from the ranch to hermosa beach presents one of the most beautiful beach fronts in the area that isn't as busy as the main drag in santa teresa. Finally, meeting Jerry was a godsend as he had the inside track on all things santa teresa including restaurants, bars, and things to do (ATVing to Montezuma?!) and was more than willing to hang out with us and drive us around to the hot spots for the evening. Oh yeah, Jerry also happens to be an awesome surf instructor who has been riding waves for over 20 years! Overall - a great place to stay and great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've just spent two weeks at Shaka and it was very difficult to leave. I have fallin in LOVE and will be back soon! All of Shaka Camp's staff were friendly and helpful, the surf instructors are very skilled and patient.The accomodations provided a safe and comfortable stay, which allowed me to sleep like a baby every night. A short walk and you have arrived to Playa Hermosa. This beach has got to be one of the most spectacular in all of Costa Rica, amazing sunsets, long stretch of sandy beach, great surf and the backdrop of a beautiful rainforest. This is the pure life!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

In November of this year, my husband, myself and our two youngest daughters were blessed with the opportunity to stay at Shaka. We cannot say enough great things about Shaka. The staff was amazing, the food was great, the views breathtaking and the rooms were just wonderful. The rooms were so clean and one of the best parts, they were wheelchair accessible which was a big plus for us. From the surfing, ziplining and ATV rides with the kids, to the romantic strolls on the Beach with my husband, our experience at Shaka was one of the most incredibly spectacular vacations we have ever had. The staff, the beach and the accommodations left us feeling refreshed and renewed and we are forever grateful. Whether your looking for a family environment or a romantic one, Shaka should be your first choice. They made us feel like family. We will visit beautiful Costa Rica again soon and Shaka will be the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife, my son, and I spent seven days at Shaka. Absolutely the best place I've ever stayed. Great staff, clean rooms with every necessary amenity, and the perfect setting to be treated like you're on vacation, but still feel right at home. Next trip and every trip to Costa Rica will be at Shaka. No need for a pool the the ocean is just seconds away, and who needs a gym when theres surf. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My family and I spent one of the most amazing weeks of our lives at Shaka this month. The property is in a spectacular location. The facilities are extremely nice and clean, and the people and the food were fantastic. We felt right at home, and had so much fun we didn't want to return to our actual home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninadehart
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our stay at Shaka was our first time to Costa Rica. We fell in love with the Country and Shaka. The rooms are perfect, beds very comfortable. the staff is wonderful, they make you feel at home. Perfect location, the beach is beautiful! I have never surfed before, and was very scared actually. The instructor helped me get over my fear and got me up on the board. Never thought I would ever even try! The food was amazing! We would love to come back with our friends, but would also love to come back and bring our kids. They have the best for both worlds there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaka Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaka Beach Retreat

Address: 200 M Norte de Escuela | Village of Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes North of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, is the highly desirable upscale neighborhood of "Playa Hermosa." Shaka Beach Retreat is a private haven offering an alluring example of modern tropical architecture, nestled in the tropical jungle surroundings, home to monkeys, birds, and fruit trees. A short walk leads to one of the most beautiful quiet beaches the country has to offer. Perfect for swimming, relaxing on the sand, and all levels of surfers. Join us for our popular Surf and Yoga Retreats, offered year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaka Beach Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Shaka Surf Camp Hotel
Shaka Surf Camp Santa Teresa
Shaka Beach Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaka Beach Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shaka Beach Retreat to your Saves list