We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY AMAZING & the BEST in SANTA TERESA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“SIMPLY AMAZING & the BEST in SANTA TERESA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I really can't say enough about this place! After staying there a week and checking out other places... I have to say... there is no other place than Otro Lado Lodge!

The Owners/Staff
The owners are a young and hip Italian couple who adore their guests and treat them like family. Baggi and Nico were simply amazing hosts and you can tell that they enjoy taking care of their guests. They are always willing to help you with any questions or suggestions for side trips and restaurants. AND they are always around...

The Grounds
Simply beautiful and lush and very well thought out. They have an amazing pool with an outdoor shower and hammocks. The centre of this lodge is a large outdoor communal area where we all eat, watch tv, play cards and chill. By the way, hope you love pets because their three cats and dog are super friendly!

The Room
My room was brand new. Very modern with a sleek bathroom and a fantastic shower. It was cleaned everyday! I really enjoyed the spacious balcony. It was a phenomenal homebase.

The Food/Restaurant
This was the highlight of staying there! They offer gourmet style breakfast and lunch. My breakfast always consisted of fresh coffee, freshly pressed OJ, a bowl of bountiful fresh local fruit with yogurt and granola. Eggs any way with either crepes or pancakes! A true breakfast of Champions!

Now lunch was a different story... SPECTACULAR homemade pastas and sauces to die for. Freshly made foccacia everyday. Local fresh fish and meats! I was in heaven! I looked forward to eating at Otro Lado every minute of the day!

The Location
The lodge is right across the street from the beach and short walk through a pathway. It would take you 5 minutes to walk it! That's it!

All in all, Otro Lado really made my vacation! I met so many great people at this Lodge. Even the owners can't believe how many amazing guests they attract.

Hoping to go back in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    10
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
78
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at Otro Lado...a very beautiful, relaxing and welcoming place. Niko & Baggia were so kind to me and looked out for me the whole time. Had such a fun time and met some great people! And the food is spectacular!!! Amazing trip and I highly recommend to anyone!! Very special place. Thank you!!! Melissa

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We got to Otro Lado at the bigenning of our vacation and we have been wellcome very nicely and friendly by nico and selvaggia, the owners, an italian couple who manage very well and with a lot of passion their self thought resort.
Resort is recent and very well thought: lodges are located around the pool, very well equipped, A/C, kitchen, porch, 2nd floor balcony, private garden and hammock!
Service is very well, always available, kindly and with the right touch of familiarity.
Food is delicious: you can find the best of mediterranean cusine and sometimes fusion specials!
Position: not on the beach, far from 100mt; We have personally very appreciated because it is not directly on the main road: silent and privacy are guaranteed! Very well sleep!!!
we loved so much our stay at otrolado that we came back at the end of our tour of Costa Rica; we wanted to feel like we were at home!
Bravi!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I have been at Otro Lado for a brief stay and it has been abslutely perfect: the cabinas, spotlessly clean, are simple but pleasant, small details like flowers and parfumed essence make the difference. The ambiance is relaxed and kids friendly.
We ate at Otro lado every single day, breakfast with delicious home made croissants and home made pie, and lunch with simple dishes italian inspired, with the freshest ingredients, either fish or mozzarella have been our favorite. Too bad they are not open for dinner anymore : but the owners are so incredibly nice that you if you asked to stay for dinner or you had a special occasion, they (or better she, Selvaggia, cause she is the chef!) would say "non c'e' problema!" (no problem!)...
Now, back in the States, I miss her "focaccia" which is truly the best I ever had outside of Italy: even if you are staying somewhere else, you must go and try it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

All the wonderful things already written about this place are true. It does feel like a home away from home. It is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were delicious, the landscaping was beautiful and the pool was a welcome oasis from the heat of the beach. We loved the walkable location to restaurants. We did need our car to get to the grocery store though. The free standing bungalows suit a family of 4 perfectly however my youngest daughter and mother were not comfortable using the staircase. No problem - there are 2 beds on the first floor as well as a full bathroom.

This place was perfect for our family. It's inviting, relaxing and I get the sense that it is a true labor of love from its owners. We have highly recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We can't compare Otro Lado to other places in Santa Teresa because we haven't stayed anywhere else there to offer up comparisons so this will be general commentary and feedback.

Our room was 2 story: 2 single beds downstairs with a kitchenette, bathroom and indoor/outdoor shower. Up a narrow, handmade spiral staircase is the master bedroom with a balcony overlooking the pool and a bath/shower. Outside, a porch with chairs, table and 2 hammocks. Very quite and friendly. Decor is sort of a blend between Sante Fe, NM, and Hawaii. Most of the interior was carefully handcrafted - from the sinks and showers to the stairs and bamboo bathroom doors. Subtle mystic (Hindu) undertones. Be forewarned: there's parking space for only 2 vehicles for the whole establishment so we were lucky only 2 of us guests had vehicles.

We only ate breakfast there once - need to work around the Yoga class schedule in the same space from 7-8am. It was on par with other places we ate. Other good eating establishments are within walking distance.

A 5 minute walk to the beach. You'll pass a place to rent boards if so inclined. Located on the far end of the drag through town so it's past most of the traffic area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

I just returned from spending 20 days at Otro Lado...It exceeded all my expectations. I traveled with a group of 12 women and thought it might be tricky to satisfy so many different people and tastes but everyone loved it there. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The food is amazing, always fresh, as good as any four star restaurant in NYC. (don't miss out on the croissants....we all wanted the recipe.) The houses are spacious, always kept clean, air conditioned, with fridge and kitchenette in case you want to prepare a snack for yourself. And one of my favorite parts was that each house had its own balcony, a sitting area outside and a couple of hammocks...some good naps were had on those. The beach is nearby, the pool was the cleanest pool I've seen without the overwhelming smell of chlorine. Really I just can't say enough good things about the service, accommodations and food. But best of all was the relaxed, welcoming atmosphere, the feeling of being home away from home and looking forward to returning there after each adventure on the beach or jungle. I plan on returning regularly.....I feel like i've found such a treasure.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.