We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very difficult to avoid excess of compliments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Mt North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
milan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very difficult to avoid excess of compliments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The place is out of the crowd but close to anything you would ever need. Built around a nice living open area and pool, it is held by a group of friends who believe in zen, good food and surf. Their love for life is in everything around, from the fresh flowers in every bathroom, to the candles on every balcony to the hammocks and the atmosphere. Perfect for lonely travelers, surfers and cool people looking for quality time. 5 stars on everything and absolute reco!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    17
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
110
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing atmosphere with european neatness. The small hotel is hosted by a courteous Italian couple who is always willing for a nice chat or advise. Cleaner than most other places and with that special sense of comfort and convenience without abundant luxury.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was a bit disappointed by the size of the hotel. Very small with rooms everywhere. It felt odd to walk into this hotel. It is very well kept, but all the decor is about yoga, zen with buda statues etc. Great if you are into that. For me, it was a bit too much. Stayed in Santa Teresa because I booked this hotel. The beach is beautiful, but the hotel is not on the beach.
The town is great for surfers, other than that, I don't know who else would want to stay here when there are other beaches that are more accessible. There is a long stretch of a very bumpy road that is probably only accessible by 4 x 4 vehicles when it rains.
The owners seemed just ok. I thought they were very vigilant. Breakfast was good.
I would not come here for the hotel. For the price, there are hotels right on the beach.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I booked my stay at Otro Lado based solely on TripAdvisor reviews, and I wasn't let down. As others have said, the rooms are basic, but they're tastefully done and very clean. The only negative thing I can say is that the beds were a bit hard, but other than that the room was great. The shower was wonderful; great water pressure with plenty of hot water. It was very refreshing after a long day at the beach and in the sun. Breakfast was excellent and included. Whenever I've stayed at hotels with free breakfast, it tends to be standard without much variety. I wasn't expecting the breakfast options at Otro Lado (eggs, toast, fruit; nutella crepe; pancakes; etc.). The location of Otro Lado was great. I wasn't sure going into the trip how close it would be to restaurants, grocery stores, etc., but they're all within walking distance. Throughout our stay, we rented and ATV to drive around town and also between several beaches. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially Selvaggia and Mateo. Prior to our trip, I emailed the hotel with several questions, and Selvaggia always answered within just a few hours with helpful information. I will definitely stay at Otro Lado when I return to Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I booked my stay at Otro Lado based solely on TripAdvisor reviews, and I wasn't let down. As others have said, the rooms are basic, but they're tastefully done and very clean. The only negative thing I can say is that the beds were a bit hard, but other than that the room was great. The shower was wonderful; great water pressure with plenty of hot water. It was very refreshing after a long day at the beach and in the sun. Breakfast was excellent and included. Whenever I've stayed at hotels with free breakfast, it tends to be standard without much variety. I wasn't expecting the breakfast options at Otro Lado (eggs, toast, fruit; nutella crepe; pancakes; etc.). The location of Otro Lado was great. I wasn't sure going into the trip how close it would be to restaurants, grocery stores, etc., but they're all within walking distance. Throughout our stay, we rented and ATV to drive around town and also between several beaches. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially Selvaggia and Mateo. Prior to our trip, I emailed the hotel with several questions, and Selvaggia always answered within just a few hours with helpful information. I will definitely stay at Otro Lado when I return to Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Clean!! Beautiful!! Friendly!! Affordable!! I had no idea what to expect and this place exceeded my expectations! Located so close to beach and town. The owners are pleasant and super helpful! Décor is beautifully simple and tastefully done. The pool is pristine. Breakfast is included and is delicious! The bungalow had everything we needed and grocery was a short walk and bungalow was cleaned daily. Felt very safe with my children there. Santa Teresa is a beautiful place with beautiful people. Most of the other guests were return guests and I now know why. I highly recommend Otro Lado Lodge and would return in a heartbeat. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

Room Tip: bungalow upstairs had a/c, downstairs fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a week in Santa Teresa and want to go back! And we'd definitely stay at Otro Lado again! The rooms are great - we stayed in a villa, which was clean and spacious. Cooked some fresh caught red snapper there for dinner using our kitchen one night. The pool was perfect, and the greenery and flowers surrounding the pool and rooms is very well designed - it made us feel like we were in our own little tropical world. The staff were so helpful and friendly, from Selvaggia and Nicoletta to the ladies that kept our rooms clean and given fresh towels daily. It was great to see them all work happily together like a family and treat each other like so - made us feel even better to be there. We've stayed in several hotels during many trips to Costa Rica, and this one is at the top of our list!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 200 Mt North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.