We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST STAY!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Fishkill, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MUST STAY!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Clean!! Beautiful!! Friendly!! Affordable!! I had no idea what to expect and this place exceeded my expectations! Located so close to beach and town. The owners are pleasant and super helpful! Décor is beautifully simple and tastefully done. The pool is pristine. Breakfast is included and is delicious! The bungalow had everything we needed and grocery was a short walk and bungalow was cleaned daily. Felt very safe with my children there. Santa Teresa is a beautiful place with beautiful people. Most of the other guests were return guests and I now know why. I highly recommend Otro Lado Lodge and would return in a heartbeat. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

Room Tip: bungalow upstairs had a/c, downstairs fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    12
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
91
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a week in Santa Teresa and want to go back! And we'd definitely stay at Otro Lado again! The rooms are great - we stayed in a villa, which was clean and spacious. Cooked some fresh caught red snapper there for dinner using our kitchen one night. The pool was perfect, and the greenery and flowers surrounding the pool and rooms is very well designed - it made us feel like we were in our own little tropical world. The staff were so helpful and friendly, from Selvaggia and Nicoletta to the ladies that kept our rooms clean and given fresh towels daily. It was great to see them all work happily together like a family and treat each other like so - made us feel even better to be there. We've stayed in several hotels during many trips to Costa Rica, and this one is at the top of our list!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Every person we interacted with at Otro Lado was extremely kind, fun, and helpful. The food was very yummy and the breakfast options (lots to choose from!) we're always fresh and tasty.
The rooms are spacious and clean. Right by beach access

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

we stayed 5 nights at Otro Lado and we were very happy with our choice. in the first room first day water started to leak through the bathroom light, but we were moved quickly to a top floor room (which we preferred as it had a nice balcony & the door was much easier to open - the first room the patio doors were fiddly to open & close). the rooms are very nice & comfortable. good shower in the bathrooms. nice swimming pool and great food in the restaurant. good breakfasts included in the rate.

Room Tip: we liked the upstairs room, but they are all very similar, so it depends if you prefer a balcony or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I read all these tripadvisor reviews before we arrived and this place definitely lived up to the descriptions. We stayed an entire week and didn't want to leave. The beaches, surf and natural landscape of Santa Teresa were stunning and this place was the perfect complement--I wouldn't be surprised if it was designed by some kind of feng shui master. There is a different kind of light and mood depending on the time of day and I would recommend lounging around the pool when you can. The sounds of tropical bird calls, cicadas and howler monkeys along with the gorgeous landscaping were out of this world. It is owned and run by the kindest, coolest, stylish group of Italians you can imagine and they have nailed the sweet spot of professionalism and laidback mellowness. The standards for cleanliness in our lodge were above and beyond the highest standards we could expect, and we will definitely be coming back :-)

Room Tip: Dont' know about the other rooms but our lodge was phenomenal. Private, clean, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Our experience of our stay was best summed up by proprietor Nico when he said, "We tried to build the kind of place we'd want to stay at." It's a perfect little oasis among a stretch of backpacker hostels--which are fine if you're 22 but maybe not ideal if you're a grownup. The villas are a perfect blend of modern design using tropical elements like bamboo and indigenous foliage. It's nice to have a pool as well as the nearby beach. The breakfasts were lovingly prepared. The staff was amazingly friendly and remembered our names. And best of all it was wildly affordable. We're already recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at Orto Lado for 10 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nico and staff are extremely accommodating and able to assist you with anything you may need. Our villa was clean, comfortable and the outdoor area is a place of serenity. Wether lying by the pool, in your hammock or sitting in the lounge you always feel relaxed and at ease. The beach is just across the road and there are plenty of options to eat nearby or rent a bike/ATV. Breakfast options are fantastic and tasty. We would highly recommend staying at Orto Lado.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.