We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice lodge, at a very good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Glasgow
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“very nice lodge, at a very good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

we stayed 5 nights at Otro Lado and we were very happy with our choice. in the first room first day water started to leak through the bathroom light, but we were moved quickly to a top floor room (which we preferred as it had a nice balcony & the door was much easier to open - the first room the patio doors were fiddly to open & close). the rooms are very nice & comfortable. good shower in the bathrooms. nice swimming pool and great food in the restaurant. good breakfasts included in the rate.

Room Tip: we liked the upstairs room, but they are all very similar, so it depends if you prefer a balcony or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    12
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
91
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I read all these tripadvisor reviews before we arrived and this place definitely lived up to the descriptions. We stayed an entire week and didn't want to leave. The beaches, surf and natural landscape of Santa Teresa were stunning and this place was the perfect complement--I wouldn't be surprised if it was designed by some kind of feng shui master. There is a different kind of light and mood depending on the time of day and I would recommend lounging around the pool when you can. The sounds of tropical bird calls, cicadas and howler monkeys along with the gorgeous landscaping were out of this world. It is owned and run by the kindest, coolest, stylish group of Italians you can imagine and they have nailed the sweet spot of professionalism and laidback mellowness. The standards for cleanliness in our lodge were above and beyond the highest standards we could expect, and we will definitely be coming back :-)

Room Tip: Dont' know about the other rooms but our lodge was phenomenal. Private, clean, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Our experience of our stay was best summed up by proprietor Nico when he said, "We tried to build the kind of place we'd want to stay at." It's a perfect little oasis among a stretch of backpacker hostels--which are fine if you're 22 but maybe not ideal if you're a grownup. The villas are a perfect blend of modern design using tropical elements like bamboo and indigenous foliage. It's nice to have a pool as well as the nearby beach. The breakfasts were lovingly prepared. The staff was amazingly friendly and remembered our names. And best of all it was wildly affordable. We're already recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at Orto Lado for 10 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nico and staff are extremely accommodating and able to assist you with anything you may need. Our villa was clean, comfortable and the outdoor area is a place of serenity. Wether lying by the pool, in your hammock or sitting in the lounge you always feel relaxed and at ease. The beach is just across the road and there are plenty of options to eat nearby or rent a bike/ATV. Breakfast options are fantastic and tasty. We would highly recommend staying at Orto Lado.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Otro Lado was the most spectacular place that we had stayed over our three weeks in Costa Rica. I cannot criticise anything about this place. It is superb and I recommend anyone to stay here! Perfect for singles, couples or families.
It has a beautiful pool with sunbeds to relax when you don't fancy a stroll to the beach, wonderfully kept tranquil gardens, fantastic lodges with such attention to detail - down to flowers and complimentary toiletries and a overhead rain shower with hot water in the bathroom and beach towels given specifically for the beach. The bed linen and towels were clean and fresh and rooms are cleaned every day and they have a safe. Each lodge had a good amount of privacy and street noise was not a problem here as it had been in other places we stayed in Santa Teresa. I liked that you left the keys at the desk as we didn't have to worry about them when we went to the beach or local restaurants.
The breakfast was included and there is a great variety of things to choose from on the menu. The food at the restaurant was absolutely amazing and service was great.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and kind, we felt really comfortable asking for directions and opinions for places to eat out and activities around the area. Baggi and Nico made us feel really at home and I wish I had booked all of our three weeks stay here!
The location is perfect, close to beach, supermarket, shops, surfboard hire and atvs.
I cannot fault it here it is just perfect. Don't bother looking anywhere else, you will regret it if you do not stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The room, the setting, the food, the service, the flexibility were all remarkable and made a destination wedding experience very memorable. There was a yoga area with mats and an adjacent room for massages. The beach was across the street, but the hotel was set back far enough so that street noise was not a problem.
The proprietors were very nice and the food was great. (Breakfast and lunch only.)

Room Tip: All the rooms were rented by the wedding party family and friends. Some rooms had more amenities tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This place like others have said, is a hidden jewel tucked behind a dusty road. It's like an oasis from a dream! Baggi and everybody that works there is so incredibly kind and wonderful.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable (luxuriously so), the pool is great with plenty of places to lounge around or swing in a hammock. They also have a yoga studio which is beautiful!
We stayed in a standard room and also in a two floor villa and were blown away by both.
Amazing!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.