We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“A beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We came to Santa Teresa to celebrate the wedding of two friends. The lodge was recommended to us by the bride and groom. I don't know about the other places, but our stay was fantastic! the place was clean, simply and elegantly designed, the owners were extremely friendly and accommodating and the staff was friendly. Within a short walking distance to the beach and in the middle of all the great dining choices available, yet so far removed from the traffic and noise once you are inside the premises. We are already planning another trip next January or February with our two boys, and hopefully we'll find a room or two at the lodge.

Room Tip: There are many combinations of room arrangement, from regular one bed to a n apartment style to acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    15
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
94
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed at Otro Lado for 2 nights in Feb 2014. Enjoyed it very much. Nice rooms and a good breakfast in the morning. Close to the beach and places to eat all within an easy walk from the hotel. Owners from Italy were friendly and accommodating. Worth the money. Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

After reviewing several lodging choices we decided on the Otro Lado Lodge. We loved it! The property was amazing! It was clean, comfortable, and offered everything you need. We really liked having a fridge/kitchen for drinks and lunch. A bonus was the location. It was far enough from the road so you didn't hear ATV and motorcycle noise but it was a very close walk to the beach. Their is also a great surf shop nearby as well as many restaurant choices! Great spot!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We finally decided to go to Santa Teresa, and looked for and evaluated many options. Couldn't have made a better decision...Otro Lado Lodge is a great cozy place! Great location close to many restaurants, stores and BEACH! The owners are super friendly and helpful! Breakfast was delicious, you can choose from like 5 different options...all fresh and tasty! Also we considered this was a place with a great fair price! If your considering going to Santa Teresa...this is a great option!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stay at Otro Lado was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is amazing, the rooms are cleaned everyday and smells so good. The pool is a mirage that I have enjoyed everyday! The food prepared by Baggi and Nico is delicious and very healthy. Everyday they have something very good to offer. Baggi and Nico are very welcome people and I will for sure be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Definitely a very pretty hotel. Nice pool, clean rooms and overall good vibes. However don't expect the best service in the world. If you don't want to be bothered and know the beach life in Costa Rica this could be perfect for you.

If you need a bit more service, guidance, and overall hospitality I would suggest you look into other spots in the area.

Like I mentioned this is a really pretty spot and everything is put together visually and cleanliness-wise ... But if Otro Lado wants to take it to the next level, they'll have to really start putting their guests top of mind, and not making them feel like they're on their own here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I am torn. The more people who know about this gem the harder it will be for me to get a room. But the place is immaculate, everyone is super friendly - yoga and flexibility classes are great (get a massage or the flexibility class from Nathan. Crazy knowledgable!)

Second time here and won't be my last. As long as you don't book up all the rooms people!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.