We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place and Lovely Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place and Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stay at Otro Lado was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is amazing, the rooms are cleaned everyday and smells so good. The pool is a mirage that I have enjoyed everyday! The food prepared by Baggi and Nico is delicious and very healthy. Everyday they have something very good to offer. Baggi and Nico are very welcome people and I will for sure be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    12
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
91
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Definitely a very pretty hotel. Nice pool, clean rooms and overall good vibes. However don't expect the best service in the world. If you don't want to be bothered and know the beach life in Costa Rica this could be perfect for you.

If you need a bit more service, guidance, and overall hospitality I would suggest you look into other spots in the area.

Like I mentioned this is a really pretty spot and everything is put together visually and cleanliness-wise ... But if Otro Lado wants to take it to the next level, they'll have to really start putting their guests top of mind, and not making them feel like they're on their own here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I am torn. The more people who know about this gem the harder it will be for me to get a room. But the place is immaculate, everyone is super friendly - yoga and flexibility classes are great (get a massage or the flexibility class from Nathan. Crazy knowledgable!)

Second time here and won't be my last. As long as you don't book up all the rooms people!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

our favourite place we stayed in all of Costa Rica. great staff, beautiful grounds, delicious and reasonably priced food, awesome location close to the best beach. rooms are clean and classic. Beds weren't the most comfortable, but they were clean which matters more! Felt like we were in a little tropical paradise away from the world, but if you just walk down to the street you are in the heart of a great area in Santa Teresa full of great restaurants and super markets and shops. You do not need to be a surfer to enjoy this town, although it doesn't hurt, the waves were perfect.
I suggest you get down to the beach every single day to see some of the best sunsets ever!. and eat the pasta at the restaurant, it is awesome!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Otro Lado is a small lodge very well located in Santa Teresa Playa. The venue is really very charming, with the trees and flowers surrounding the pool. The rooms a nice, cosy and clean. The owners, an italian couple, are very friendly and helpful. Price is more than affordable. We were at another place and changed when we saw this one.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I've never been to a place where everyone was so patient and kind; they treat both their guests and each other like one big family. The rooms and grounds are are altogether practical, peaceful, and stunning. The food is made and served with love and care. Laid back and easy going, even when I'd return from the beach, tracking in sand all over the immaculate common area(surfers, take note: this lodge is directly adjacent to the Del Soul Surf School, also highly recommended). Location couldn't be better- a two-minute walk from the beach, close to all the shops, amenities and restaurants, yet out of the way from the clattering nightlife. Got so much back, for what little I payed. To Nico, Baggi, and everyone at Otra Lado- thank you so much. Promise I'll be back. Pura Vida :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Otro Lado is just heavenly. Perfectly located, just off the main street of Santa Teresa, and a short 2min walk to the beach. Run by a super sweet Italian couple - Nico and Baggi - they are totally relaxed, helpful and very kind. The rooms are beautifully clean and spacious. The pool is great. There is a yoga room, and massage available as well. Breakfast is served under a big palapa, and you get an amazing list of choices + good Italian coffee as well. They also offer a lunch menu. I was lucky enough to meet some amazing people there during my stay - it was a really beautiful 8 days (i was only meant to stay for 3), and i didnt want to leave. I will be back for sure. Thank you so much for having me.

Room Tip: Room 9 was amazing. Upstairs, a huge king size bed, lovely bathroom, little balcony etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.