We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, very well located, excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Mt North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
San José, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy, very well located, excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is small and located in Santa Teresa, almost in front of one of the beach entrances. Stayed for 3 nights, arrived really late which was no problem as the night guard was expecting us and led us fast to our room. We stayed at room 6 which was clean and had a very comfy king bed an air conditioner and a ceiling fan. Bathroom and decor are all very zen and invite you to economize water which I found great. The room had a couple of chairs outside to chat and enjoy the ambiance. The included breakfast was simple but tasty and fresh. The whole hotel has a very calm spirit, is close enough to the beach and main street so you can walk there but not so close that you will hear the noise from cars. Parking is behind the hotel so you need to go back to the previous entrance if you go and try the signed entrance. I found it safe, and close enough to our room. Pool is great if you take into account the beach is more for surfing than swimming. The yoga room has a daily schedule and looked very nice although we did not use it. The hotel has some cats and a dog as pets that we found very amicable and enjoyable. We saw them only during the breakfast and were in no way a nuisance. They do no have TV on each room but with so much to see and do you won't miss it. They take credit cards as payment (something not so common in Santa Teresa).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved Otro Lado! We felt like we were in a different world after walking off the dirt road and up the drive. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, they make great suggestions on where to eat if you're planning to try different restaurants in town. The room was very clean and spacious. Having a pool out our front door was great in the heat. We would highly recommend it to everyone. If we travel back to Santa Teresa we would stay there.

Room Tip: Lodge 4 - it treated us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Great service, and amazing Italian breakfasts and food. We stayed at the villa next to the pool and our daughter enjoyed every second.

Owners are very friendly.

The only thing it needs is a parking place easier to find.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacobovillegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in April. Everything about the Lodge is great. The rooms, the food, the pool, the staff, the location. Highly recommended. If we come back to Costa Rica we'll be sure to visit Santa Teresa and stay at Otro Lado again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarebelle_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Beautiful and tranquil. Great hosts and amazing rooms. The private hammock outside the room was fantastic. Would recommend it and would love to go back. Great food too.

Free Wifi is great, although it gets a bit slow because the staff at the hotel use it quite heavily I think.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. We picked it up for opinions in this site and for the price (including breakfast). 
Selvaggia and Nico were really nice. Very helpful. Good attention anytime.
Food was really good: 5 options for breakfast, and they make fresh italian pasta with Italian ingredients, very delicious!
Rooms were very beautiful and clean for a beach hotel! Pool was always warm and clean. Hotel is 5 minute walking from the beach
Hotel has very nice gardens and a yoga platform were you can take classes twice a day ($10/class).
No wonder why it won Trip Advisor's 2013 travelers choice. We'll love to come back again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Please stop looking any further - seriously! Just spent a week at Otro Lado and it was a slice of heaven. We needed to spend one night at another place in Santa Teresa in the same price range so I can say with confidence this is 10x better than any other place.

The garden and pool are lush, there is a calm aesthetic about the entire place, it is pristinely clean and well maintained from bedroom to washrooms to main area (the photos on their website truly depict the place), the breakfasts are delicious (and included with your stay), the owners Baggi and Nico are helpful and just downright lovely. We stayed in both a room and a villa/lodge ... both are worthwhile it just depends if you want a little more space and a kitchenette which can be helpful.

Book here now!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bing375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#15 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villas Hermosas
Villas Hermosas
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 200 Mt North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing