We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Private paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved Otro Lado! We felt like we were in a different world after walking off the dirt road and up the drive. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, they make great suggestions on where to eat if you're planning to try different restaurants in town. The room was very clean and spacious. Having a pool out our front door was great in the heat. We would highly recommend it to everyone. If we travel back to Santa Teresa we would stay there.

Room Tip: Lodge 4 - it treated us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    10
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
86
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Great service, and amazing Italian breakfasts and food. We stayed at the villa next to the pool and our daughter enjoyed every second.

Owners are very friendly.

The only thing it needs is a parking place easier to find.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in April. Everything about the Lodge is great. The rooms, the food, the pool, the staff, the location. Highly recommended. If we come back to Costa Rica we'll be sure to visit Santa Teresa and stay at Otro Lado again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Beautiful and tranquil. Great hosts and amazing rooms. The private hammock outside the room was fantastic. Would recommend it and would love to go back. Great food too.

Free Wifi is great, although it gets a bit slow because the staff at the hotel use it quite heavily I think.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. We picked it up for opinions in this site and for the price (including breakfast). 
Selvaggia and Nico were really nice. Very helpful. Good attention anytime.
Food was really good: 5 options for breakfast, and they make fresh italian pasta with Italian ingredients, very delicious!
Rooms were very beautiful and clean for a beach hotel! Pool was always warm and clean. Hotel is 5 minute walking from the beach
Hotel has very nice gardens and a yoga platform were you can take classes twice a day ($10/class).
No wonder why it won Trip Advisor's 2013 travelers choice. We'll love to come back again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Please stop looking any further - seriously! Just spent a week at Otro Lado and it was a slice of heaven. We needed to spend one night at another place in Santa Teresa in the same price range so I can say with confidence this is 10x better than any other place.

The garden and pool are lush, there is a calm aesthetic about the entire place, it is pristinely clean and well maintained from bedroom to washrooms to main area (the photos on their website truly depict the place), the breakfasts are delicious (and included with your stay), the owners Baggi and Nico are helpful and just downright lovely. We stayed in both a room and a villa/lodge ... both are worthwhile it just depends if you want a little more space and a kitchenette which can be helpful.

Book here now!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just got back from a great stay at Otro Lado. I spent hours researching hotels before we went. Read all the reviews about this place and booked it. Don't read anymore reviews. Book now! This is the best place in town. I don't even want to write anymore so you don't waste time reading and just contact them now. It really is ALL true.

Room Tip: Every room here is great. The regular rooms are really nice and spacious and have balconies. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.