We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best experience ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent a weekend there and we enjoy every minute. The first thing we felt was peace, people there was amazingly friendly... The food was very good!!! We actually liked the fact that the owners were italian. The pool was perfect not too cold,not too warm!! At night it was actually warmer ! :) the beach was very close !!! Our room had 2 beds everything was super clean...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    11
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
88
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very suave joint.
Most hospitable hosts.
Super cool and comfortable furnishings.
Very good breakfasts.
Tranquil atmosphere.
Opposite beach.

No disappointments whatsoever, each day was a pleasure.
Best place I saw in Santa Teresa and we stayed in three throughout our stay.

Do it.

Room Tip: The lodges are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Otro Lado is a beautifully laid out property. We stayed for 3 nights with our children & a family friend. Even though this is a yoga type retreat no one made us feel uncomfortable for having our children. Breakfast was great - the Nutella Crepes are amazing. We also enjoyed lunch - sandwiches prepared on homemade focaccia bread.

We got multiple rooms & they were all comfortable & clean. Pur only complaint is that it gets bright in the morning & the curtains were thin for people who might like to sleep in.

We would definitely recommend this hotel & hope to return.

Room Tip: The stand alone bungalows are equipped with a kitchenette & the Lodge above the Yoga platform is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Otro Lado.
The trip was booked for us by a third party, as we were contest winners and had no knowledge of where we would end up. The room was excellent as was the service and people. We had the most amazing time and want to go back to the same spot. The food, surfing, yoga, massages, beach, pool and other activities we participated in were unforgettable. The people here are as warm as the weather, both of us highly recommend this location, for fun, relaxation and enjoyment. Special thanks to Nathan Clarke for incredible massages, Francesca for the yoga classes and Mark for the surfing lessons.
To us, Otro Lado is the true meaning of 'Pura Vida' (Pure Life).
Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

There are a lot of options for lodging in Santa Teresa and one of the reasons I chose Otro Lado--in addiion to the amentities, great pix, and reasonable prices--was that they responded to every review on here, which I thought meant that they care about their guests and their business. I was right. The service was fantastic, the rooms were clean, well-equipped, and had nice furnishings, and each "lodge" had a great outdoor area with hammocks and chairs/a table, great for wine and cheese at night. The pool was well-kept and had comfy chaise lounges, the restaurant was comfortable and had good food, and the grounds were impeccably landscaped with greenery and beautiful flowers which produced an amazing aroma. If you are a family with kids, or friends who want a place with full kitchen, a lodge is a good option, with two twin day beds downstairs and a bathroom, and a double bed with bathroom (and great balcony) upstairs. Though note that there is not much privacy between the upstairs and downstairs beds. For the price (which includes daily breakfast) and the excellent location across the street from the beach, as well as close to the super market and good restaurants, it's a fab option. You won't regret it if you stay at Otro Lado!

Room Tip: A lodge is great for a family or a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent three nights at the Otro Lado on our trip to Costa Rica. The room/bed was comfortable and clean. The only thing that would have made it better was a coffee pot. That being said, when I teased to the owner that I was an early riser and would be happy to make the coffee prior to the 7:30 breakfast time, she made a point of having coffee ready for me when I was up and about. Each room has a private nook surrounded by vegetation, or a balcony. The beach is right across the road, the pool lovely, there were different choices for breakfast. When I inquired about a place to rent snorkel equipment, the owner produced snorkels for us to borrow and told us where/when the best snorkeling was. Santa Teresa/Mal Pais were not our favorite spots in Costa Rica, but Otro Lado is a good choice if that is your destination. I guess the only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is in the mornings there was loud LONG chanting carrying through the grounds. Now I'm a yoga practitioner/meditator and for the first half hour was fine, but it really started to get on my nerves. Had to hustle my husband so we could get going on our outting for the day. I know that sounds intolerant but seriously made it impossible for me to sit outside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I just returned from a weeks surfing vacation to Santa Teresa. I stayed at the Otro Lado Lodge with my 14 year old son. The lodge is like a small retreat from Santa Teresa. Inside it is green, lush, clean, and the pool refreshing. Our room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. The coffe was especially good. This time of year the dust from the main road is a problem and the Otro Lado is set back far enough from the road, that that the dust was forgotten. My son made friends with the 3 cats and Hata the dog. Nico gave us great advice on where to eat and what to do when we were not surfing. The lodge is located near a public access to the beach so it is a five minute walk to the ocean and the best located hotel for surfing Santa Teresa. We had a terrific week together in Sanat Teresa and look forward to staying at the Otro Lado Lodge, with the entire family, on our next surfing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.