We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Rooms, Clean, Quiet, and Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Rooms, Clean, Quiet, and Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

At first, we booked for 2 days, but after spending our first night we decided to extend to 4 days to take full advantage of the great hotel and awesome location.

First off, Otro Lado is warm and inviting, and really quite tranquil. The bar/restaurant area is lush and well decorated, with enough seating and space for a crowd without being confining,

The room is very cute. Simple, but well aligned with the overall feel of a retreat/lodge style. The in-room safe is a nice feature, and so is the open tiled shower.

The pool is great too, nice loungers on the sides for relaxing post-beach or surfing. Overall, very comforting and relaxing.

Great location too, maybe a 5 minute walk to the beach and near all of the restaurants and supermarkets you'll ever need.

I'd recommend it as a great place to stay. Great management!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    10
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
86
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had this place recommended to us and it lived up to expectations. A beautiful airy courtyard surrounded by stylish rooms, huge beds, lovely bathrooms, spotlessly clean and great food served at lunch and breakfast - breakfast included in price. We didn't want to leave! Made a great upgrade from the super budget travelling we'd been doing on the rest of our trip.

Room Tip: No ocean views from this hotel but you don't really need them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

In Santa Teresa. Good location, close to the surf. Lovely ital. hosts, a familiar setting, excellent beds, very solid concrete buildings in a modern, tropical style. Good coffee and homemade cake and pasta. Had a Great time, mille grazie...
Titus & Kady

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed for a week in Otro Lado in November 2012 and I couldn't have been happier with my choice. The lodge is beautiful - as you will see, the owners (Baggia & Niko - great guys and extremely helpful, who are ably assisted by Isabella) have spent considerable time and effort in creating a comfortable and relaxing environment for guests. Indeed, they've spent 8 years working on the lodge! I would compare the lodge to boutique hotels that I've stayed in around the world. The guys organised a taxi to pick me up from Tambor which took approx. 45mins. I had thought about driving from San Jose, but was thankful I took the easy option, particularly when the flight on a 12 seater gave you an excellent glimpse of the beautiful scenery.

My bedroom was spacious with a nice balcony and thankfully, with good A/C. There's a really nice pool with a deck onsite that's great for chilling and cooling down. The food (breakfast and lunch) was always very good and the open dining area is pleasant; it's also a nice spot to chat and socialise with other guests. They also run regular yoga and other classes onsite. It's also possible to arrange a massage onsite (Nathan is excellent) and there's even a good chiropractor (Neil) down the alleyway. The beach is less than 5 minutes and for those cyclists, they have bikes onsite that you can use for free. I spent the week on and off the bikes getting around Santa Teresa. Plenty of surf shops within a stone's throw should you wish to hire boards or arrange lessons.

I really do hope I will be able to make it back at some stage in the near future! Recommended 100%.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Simply amazing. Every positive word about this hotel is true.
Clean, quiet and perfectly located about a 3 min walk to the beach.
All of the staff are friendly and helpful and the owners, Baggi and Nico show a care and warmth that's infectious.

Wouldn't stay or recommend anywhere else.
Simply perfect.

Don't miss out on the restaurant either! Amazing, fresh homemade pasta!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one week in Otro Lado, and found it to be a very relaxing lodge. The owners are very friendly & helpful, the rooms are clean and pleasant and the Italian food served during lunch was excellent, one would wish that they also served dinner there. They also created some wonderful lounge areas near the pool, where you can relax after a long day surfing. All in all a great place, we didn't regret our choice for a second.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, CR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is an excellent choice, or probably the best option in Santa Teresa. Everything, every single detail is perfect. The room is clean and spacious, really good beds, fans, A/C, nice smell, it’s like being home but better because you are near one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica.

The pool is very clean, the beach is crossing the road and the owners Baggie and Nico are very kind and helpful.

Words can’t describe how beautiful this place is, you would need to visit this hotel and see it for yourself, you won’t regret it, totally worth it, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.