We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and relaxing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Mt North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for one week in Otro Lado, and found it to be a very relaxing lodge. The owners are very friendly & helpful, the rooms are clean and pleasant and the Italian food served during lunch was excellent, one would wish that they also served dinner there. They also created some wonderful lounge areas near the pool, where you can relax after a long day surfing. All in all a great place, we didn't regret our choice for a second.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    17
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
113
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San José, CR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is an excellent choice, or probably the best option in Santa Teresa. Everything, every single detail is perfect. The room is clean and spacious, really good beds, fans, A/C, nice smell, it’s like being home but better because you are near one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica.

The pool is very clean, the beach is crossing the road and the owners Baggie and Nico are very kind and helpful.

Words can’t describe how beautiful this place is, you would need to visit this hotel and see it for yourself, you won’t regret it, totally worth it, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place is by far the most comfortable and luxurious hotel we have stayed at during our road trip through Costa Rica. We booked it, because it looked great in the pictures and had very positive reviews. However, the hotel even exceeded our expectations. The rooms are designed nicely and laid-back, the property is very spacious and has a great atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We even extended our stay for one night because we liked it so much. Great for those who are looking for a little bit of comfort for a great price in this lovely hippie-town.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor have an amazing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is better than all of the pictures and perfect reviews. I have never stayed at a place that exceeded any of my expectations. That being said, I have worked in the hospitality industry for over 15 years.

The owners of Otro Lado have created a peaceful oasis in the middle of Santa Teresa. Their kind energy can be felt from every corner of their beautiful property. From the immaculate gardens to the cozy open air lobby - Otro Lado is the best choice in Santa Teresa. My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and are already planning to return as soon as possible. Thank you for an incredible experience Baggi and Nico!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at Otro Lado Lodge and they were amazing! The hotel is very well located in the quiet area of Santa Teresa. The beach access is across the street, and a very nice supermarket is located walking distance. The hotel is immaculate, clean-clean-clean! You can really feel how the owners care for their property, the landscaping is amazing. All the staff is extremely friendly and efficient. A great breakfast was included throughout the stay. All the common areas are cozy and comfortable. The pool is beautiful and clean. We stayed in the bungalow which has 2 floors, full kitchen, wifi and a private patio. It was so comfortable and we really felt at home. I will definitely go back to Otro Lado lodge, Thank you Baggie and Nico for your amazing hospitality!

Room Tip: Bungalow #3 is a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I were on our honey moon in Costa Rica, and we decided to stay at Otro Lado since it was close to the surf, and the reviews sounded great. When we arrived we were not disappointed! The couple who run the lodge are so nice and we felt right at home. The room we were in was spotless, and was so unique with a spiral staircase that caught our attention right away.

They were unable to provide us with an official honeymoon suite, however, the room they gave us was amazing! They also said they would throw in a free breakfast every morning which thy did not have to do. We were grateful, because the breakfast was great, and the coffee is the best! The pool was always super clean and the entire grounds were maintained beautifully every day. What a great place to stay.

STAY AWAY FROM THE SURF SHOP DOWN THE LANE....
Completely unrelated to the lodge was the surf shop down the lane... My wife and I surf which is why we stayed here, so we decided to rent our boards from this shop... What a mistake. They rented my wife a board which looked to be very warn with the stomp pad falling off. After going in the surf my 110 lb wife somehow cracked the board (and she is a beginner) so we returned the board and apologized, accepting full responsibility. We were told the board could be fixed but were then later told it would cost us $400 to replace it with a brand new surfboard which was a huge shock... The employees are amazing, but the owners are extremely aggressive and unfriendly people, arguing with us every step of the way, even bringing my wife to tears. After giving them there $400, and dealing with their rude behavior, we said thank you for everything and were told not to thank them unless we meant it... It was awkward, and completely unnecessary. For your own sake, rent your surf boards somewhere else! there is a great place about 100 meters down the road that also rents ATVs. We wish we would have gone there from the start!

We love Otro Lado and would love to back someday in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were really grateful for how much the couple that owns Otro Lado helped us arrive safely and quickly and orient ourselves. We sent them a few questions via email before arriving and they responded within a few hours. They organized a taxi for us and over and over gave us great tips about things to do and how to do them. Plus they make an epic Bruschetta! MUST TRY :-P It was a honeymoon without worry... perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 200 Mt North of Soccer Field Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.