We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Bogota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We just arrived from Santa Teresa and can´t wait to go back! Part of our wonderful experience is thanks to otro lado lodge. It was the first time we got to a place that was actually better than the pictures, rooms are well kept and nicely decorated, our room was always nice and clean, the swimming pool is refreshing after a day by the sea, and the food is delicious. Its location is very convenient close to nice beaches but still far enough to have privacy. Nico and Vaggia We all hope to come back and spend more time in otro Lado!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    11
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
88
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This place is gorgeous! An oasis in every way. It's set back from the dusty road and is a comfortable spot of shade during the midday heat. Nestled amongst the lawn and gardens, the pool is clean and inviting. Our breakfasts were a delicious start to the day and we often lingered over another cup of coffee to share conversation with other guests as well as Nico and his sister-in-law, Silvie. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a second floor room on with a balcony overlooking the "center courtyard". But the icing on the cake was the hospitality! Nico was the sole leader while Baggi was out of the country, so we never met her. But he is the most wonderful, pleasant and accommodating host. He made things easy and comfortable and in addition, he was great to just talk with. The care that he and his staff provide make Otro Lado a place that we would return to.

Room Tip: The last upstairs room with a balcony, Room 10 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasper
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice quiet place. Really nice rooms that have lots of privacy. The pool is great. Breakfast can be included and is really good. All staff were excellent. Nice beach for surfing. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at Otro Lado Lodge in March this year and we truly had the best holiday we have ever had. Otro Lado is run by two amazing people who are helped by lovely, friendly staff who go out of their way to make sure that your holiday passes by without any problem. We thoroughly recommend staying here if you are visiting Santa Teresa as we did not pass any other hotel that appeared to be i the same eagle. We cannot wait to go back again next year. The Lodge itself is so clean, peaceful and tranquil. The pool was very clean and always very welcoming. The hammocks and sun beds are also very lovely touches and places where we would curl up in the sun and read our books listening to nothing other than the sound of the local wildlife. Honestly, we cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a beautiful place to spend your vacation days while in Santa Teresa. The accommodations were excellent (very comfortable bed, large room and bathroom, balcony); the food was phenomenal; and the customer service was great! The owners are very hospitable and treat you like family. They were both extremely helpful in their recommendations of places to eat, things to do, etc. They alone made my trip that much more memorable and I can't wait to go back. With restaurants and the beach all in walking distance, this place is an absolute gem! Don't look any further!

Thanks Nico and Baggi for being amazing hosts-- I'm missing Santa Teresa already!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Im not the type of person to right a review as its not my thing but i felt so taken back by this place i felt i would .I recently stayed at otro lado for 2 weeks and i can honestly say it was the best place i have ever stayed . firstly the rooms excellent decor and cleaned every day to a very high standard and im very messy !! . what struck me was the attention to detail in every aspect of the resort it is wonderfully designed and there is not a palm leaf out of place!! its lush as is the food i could advise what to try just but TRY everything its excellent real fresh really good food. do try the coffee I drank a lot its fantastic !! but what really makes this lodge is the people nico,baggi and slyvie ( i apologise if my spelling isnt great ) its them and all the staff at otro lado made me feel so welcome the made you feel like you were the most important guests, nothing and i mean nothing was to much trouble. they were really great when i left i was very sad i felt like i had been staying with family rather than a hotel it was very stange. i was truly touched buy this and would like to once again pass on my personal thanks to everyone at the lodge for a REALLY wonderful trip i know amanda my partner will right a review and im guessing with a little more poetic flare than mine!! and im sure it will shadow my feelings thanks again for everything from dave

so to anyone looking to stay in santa teresa you should stay here you would be mad not to !! ........oh yeah the surfs banging !!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My friend and I came to Santa Teresa for a surf trip feb 2012. We are both in our late 20's. We booked this place based on the reviews. After driving down the dusty road into town I could only imagine what our place would be like. I was pleasantly surprised!! The lodge is back off of the dusty noisy road and is very clean. Everything is so green compared to the main road. The rooms were nice and maid service was very attentive daily. AC and private baths with hot water. The pool is a must too since it is too hot in the middle of the day to lay on the beach. At night the security guard Rinaldo is there to give you piece of mind. Oh also when the power goes out in the town, Otro Lado was the only place I noticed that had a back up generator to power the flood lights outside your room. Also a good piece of mind.

The owners were great too. They were very helpful in contacting the airline about us bringing surfboards and arranging a taxi for our departure. Everything was very simple there which I loved. The food was great too, fresh fruit with every meal. A restaurant called Kica's was right up the street about a 1 min walk. Nico recommended to order Grandma's Pork from the menu there and he couldn't have been more right on. I'm not a big pork eater but I gave it a try and it was the best pork I ever had. We went back twice that week and ordered the same dinner. Also try their mojitios, yum. About 1 min walk south was Don Jon's which has awesome breakfast burritos. Highly recommend.

The beach is located right across the street about a two minute walk. The beach break here was the best we saw from there down to Mal Pais. We brought our own boards but next time I highly recommend just packing a backpack and renting boards when you get down there. You can rent a board for $10 USD a day and pretty much pick any style. I recommend a fat fish.

Renting a bicycle is a good inexpensive way of getting around but your butt will be sore in two days of riding on the bumpy roads. Rent from the place across from the school/ soccer field. the owner is cool, the bicycles are nicer and cheaper than the place that is closer to Otro Lado. Otherwise try and rent a quad for a few days.

Overall, very clean, comfortable and quiet. It is a little north of most of the hub-bub but i think that is a good thing. The only thing I would recommend would be a mini fridge in each room. We ended up drinking too much because we didn't want our beers to get warm that we brought back from the market. Thank you for having us. Hopefully see you again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a suite. They looked pretty cool from the outside also they might have mini frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.