We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant to your Saves list
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Nico and Selvaggia made us so very welcome, thank you.
We had great food and service throughout, the breakfast and lunches were so nice, and we always felt as though nothing was too much.
Really handy for all St. Teresa has to offer, loadsa restaurants and surf rent places within a 10 minute walk; we surf and were really glad we rented rather than risk dinging our boards getting them here.
Seriously guys, if you want a super nice place to stay, dont look any further.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    11
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
88
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

After booking a last minute villa at Otra Lado, we weren't entirely sure what to expect. Driving in through the dusty hodge podge of restaurants, surf shops and hotels that is Santa Teresa, we were a little uncertain of whether we wanted to stay in this touristy Surf Town.

Walking up the unassuming gravel lane and under the quaint tropical straw thatch of the main building revealed an oasis of simple elegance and charm. We were elated by the atmosphere and greenery of the gardens and buildings of Otro Lado.

Unfortunately, we weren't able to spend much time with Baggi who was away on her own vacation, but Nico was everything you could ask for in a host and more. Laid back, easy to talk to and a wealth of information. No mater how busy, Nico always had some time to chat and was always willing to offer words of wisdom. My favourite being "I work very hard at not working more than two hours a day. I'm a lazy Italian, what can i say!" with a grin on his face.

The Vila we stayed in was an astounding, two stories of minimalistic decor with a kitchen, fridge, two bathrooms and a semi outdoor shower with vines growing in through to the interior. The two hammocks and small patio set in a private garden made our stay absolutely blissful. I hate to admit it but we spent more time just relaxing in the grounds of Otro Lado than exploring Santa Teresa while we were here for 5 nights.

Something else to note! While we were there, we explored other higher end hotels just to see if we could find something better (Sorry Nico! but we had to lol). We could not!! I firmly believe this is the best of the best in Santa Teresa, and perhaps in Costa Rica. You will not be disapointed!

Room Tip: The Villas are amazing and worth every penny!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Otro Lado has everything you could need in Santa Teresa: walking distance to the beach, great surf shop (Del Soul) at the end of the driveway, clean rooms and great service.

We stayed only two nights, but next time we come back, we might just stay here the entire time.

The Rooms: We were "upgraded" to a Casita which was really nice and way more than the two of us needed. The inside of the rooms are nice, clean and simple. In the Casita, there are two twin beds taht are decorated as couches, a fridge and kitchen needs, a shower and bathroom. Upstairs (and by upstairs I mean up wood spiral staircase) there is a bed, some shelves and another bathroom. There is a deck upstairs with chairs to sit outside, and downstairs a table and chairs and a hammock if you want to relax in the shade.

The Property: I think the location was one of my favorite things about this place. It was on the dirt road, but tucked back enough that you didn't have any of the noise or dust bother you. There are other places in Santa Teresa that are "off" the dirt road, but that puts them up some hills you have to climb everyday. Not fun. It's also about 1/2 a block down the road from an entrance onto the beach. If you are coming to surf, this is the best beach of the the three. Playa Carmen is pretty rough and windy (you will see kitesurfers down there) and Playa Hermosa (which is WAY down the road) is rocky and tame. So you are essentially right int he heart of some really great breaks.

For restaurants, it's good to note that Santa Teresa is pretty spread out in my opinion. We wound up driving a lot - walking will take a while down the road but a lot of ppl do it. There are a few spots around Otro - Alma was my favorite, the Ginger cafe is next door (only for breakfast and lunch). We wound up driving a lot after walking around the 1st night.

For the price, you can't go wrong with Otro Lado. Everything you need, and you can save a few bucks to get in that extra surf lesson!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My friends and I spent a week at Otro Lado. You can't beat the quality of accommodation, food and location. Especially for the price!

Location: Otro Lado is located in Santa Teresa, just off the main drag (by main drag I mean dirt road). It's about a 5 minute walk to the beach. The beach access takes you to the best stretch of beach for surfing (we walked up and down the beach about half an hour in each direction and this spot is definitely the best). They have a yoga shala on the premises, but regular classes aren't held there. There are tons of yoga places within a few minuets drive from Otra Lado and I actually liked this better because it allowed us to try a bunch of different places.

Accommodations: The grounds are beautiful and the owners are super nice and helpful. The pool is small but beautifully maintained and I loved the lounge beds and hammock. The rooms themselves are basic but comfortable and clean. The shower is great.

Food: When we read reviews before going, we were confused by the mention of Italian food, but the owners are Italian and they make the BEST pasta and salads. We ended up having lunch there every single day.

Logistics: Making reservations were a breeze. Nico and Baggi helped us get transportation from Tambor. Everything was super easy.

I'm seriously considering renting a room here for a month and just hanging out...it's that awesome.

Tip: if your'e coming to Santa Teresa, either bring enough US dollars for your stay or get local currency at the airport. The one ATM is far away and few places take credit card.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We absolutely loved staying at Orto Lado Lodge. Nico and Baggi are the Italian owners and have a passion for their business. They remembered every guests name and were genuinely interested in getting to know each guest. There was a mix of guests, mostly couples, but families and groups of friends also stayed. The grounds are clean and the rooms are cleaned daily. It's cozy and beautiful. I loved how quiet it was, but I also loved how people were so friendly and we got to know other guests while having breakfast. There are hammocks everywhere and beautiful landscaping. The rooms were equipped with an air conditioner, but we found the breeze and the fan to be enough. The bed was firm and very comfortable. The food was great and there was always someone in the common area to answer questions or get you what you need. We are already planning to stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We just spent a week at Otro Lado. The beach at Santa Teresa is wonderful, and staying at Otro Lado significantly enhanced our experience. Every day was almost the same: waking up early for their delicious breakfast, take a walk on the beach to one of the convenient yoga studios, return in the early afternoon for home-made gnocchi with ragu bolognese, and hanging out in the heat of the afternoon before heading to the beach for a sunset swim. I cannot imagine a better place to spend a week. Nico and Selvaggia were perfect hosts, and the other guests were also pleasant company. Thanks so much Otro Lado!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Helped and comforted us in hard stressful times, recommended 100%, great staff and environment! Enjoyed my short stay, Great Job Otro Lado!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otro Lado Lodge is a small resort just a few steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Situated in a quiet tropical garden with a swimming pool, the lodge is comprised of four separate residences, each with two levels and can accommodate four people comfortably. The restaurant is open air concept with complimentary satellite television plus wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Santa Teresa
Otro Lado Lodge And Restaurant Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.